Monster Cable I300MKII2M Audio Interconnect Interconnect Cables

I300MKII2M Audio Interconnect

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
amperidian   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2004]
Strength:

not a bad cable for $20, definite improvement over the freebies that come with most equipment.

Weakness:

I've never had the chance to compare it against the StraightWire cables in its class, however compared to the Audioquest Corals which cost about 3 times more, this cable performed well enough for the money, it was not exceptionally fast nor revealing, but it had enough detail for me via TV and was not as bright as the Corals which I found pleasing.

I see many people here either trash or glorify Monster products. I'm somewhat inbetween owning a number of their products, with but a very few impressing me. This interconnect does a decent job on low-end equipment, say like from TV to receiver, or from DVD player to TV if that's what you use. But don't use it in a high fidelity sytem. I mean "what are you thinking?", spending all this money on high fidelity equipment in the mid to high end audio and then scampering a couple of dollars on interconnects and expecting your system to turn into a Phoenix bird? No way ... use some common sense. For this price, I think this cable offers decent returns. It absolutely trashed the prism 2200 interconnects from Tara Labs that cost more (now that's a bad product indeed ... boomy bass, muddy midrange, probably best used to connect speaker phones - that's how they sound). For the advocates of Audioquest, I own a few of those as well (Corals, King Cobras, I've auditioned the Jaguars, I also own the VDM-5 silver coax and their NRG-2/3/5 powercords) and I have to say that comparing this Monster cable to the Corals from Audioquest revealed slightly less dynamic range, the highs diminished a little, less resolution, but who cares ... it's just TV signal anyway. Why would I use this cable on my $1000 CD player beats me. There I use Monster's Sigma Retro Gold interconnects which may easily be described as Monster's best and probably ONLY audiophile-grade component (along with the speaker cable in the series). Now that's an excellent interconnect but it doesn't come cheap. But then again, I don't connect my TV through it. Get the idea? Anyway's see if you can audition one before you buy it on impulse. That way you'll see if it fits your system. My rating: Value: 4 (great deal for $20) Overall: 4 (very good product in this price range)

Similar Products Used: many many cables from Tara Labs/Audioquest/Acoustic Zen/Acoustic Research/Monster/Transparent/Nordost. Of these I have to say that Acoustic Research and Tara Labs should only be sold on Mars ... maybe they sound better in those atmospheric conditions.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bill   AudioPhile [Jun 29, 2002]
Strength:

Nice-looking; pretty good sound at a sensible price; good shielding.

Weakness:

Lacks some coherence in bass; resolution of very fine detail slightly lacking.

Not a bad cable at a sensible price. Highs, like cymbals, had a little more "shimmer" than in-the-box stuff. Also a little warmer through the mids and slightly fuller sounding over all, but perhaps a little less articulate and fast in the bass than the in-the-box stuff. Nothing special in terms of imaging or resolution of very fine detail. Very well shielded, and decent overall construction. I also own the mkI version of these cable (purchased nearly ten years ago!). The new version's "turbine" conductor is much better designed to provide a firm grip without grabbing the jack. However, I slightly prefer the mkI version's sound -- its a little more coherent and natural sounding to me. The soldering on the mkI version is also much cleaner. For my serious listening (i.e., connecting my CD player to pre-amp, and pre to power amp) I use WireWorld Equinox III+. Its no match; the WireWorld trounces the Monster 300. However, you can buy five (!) pairs of 1 meter length Monster 300 (and still have change left over) for the price of one 1 meter length of the Equinox III+. For my system, the difference was worth it. For playing CDs on a DVD player through an AV receiver hooked up to a sub-sat system? Maybe not.

Similar Products Used: Monster M850, Monster ILCD, WireWorld Oasis III+, Wireworld Equinox III+, some of Audioquest's older line (non-snake names)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Phil   [May 15, 2000]
Strength:

Smooth, clean, extended sound.

Weakness:

none

Replaced the manufacturer supplied cables for my DVD player with the Monster Interlink 300 MKII 1M, and man what a difference. Noticed much more detail in the high end. The low end already deeper and tighter due to the HTS-2000 line conditioner. With the combination of the two, the sound stage is extended and extremely smooth and satisifying. Well worth the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marcel   Audiophile [Nov 14, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent clear highs and smooth lows

i use this cable to carry audio signals from my
recording studio computer to my amp and they sound
great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephen Hicks   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2001]
Strength:

Durability, Increased Soundstage, Clearity

Weakness:

Price

I was looking to get a great analog connection to an HK 8380 CD player. These cables did the trick. I was not getting the sound I was looking for from the original cables that came with the CD player. The highs are much more accurate and the bass a lot smoother. I recommend a picking up a good sub cable as well. The Monster sub cable made the biggest improvement in the sound of the sub. It was hard to belive I had not done this a year ago.

Similar Products Used: OEM interconnects
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Yosef Asseo   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2001]
Strength:

Pretty looks

Weakness:

No midrange, overemphasis of bass and treble.

After using RS Gold for a year. I let myself get talked into buying these cables with nice packaging and impressive feature diagrams. What a mistake. Listening to 2 Mahler symphonies (2nd and 6th) my system lost soundstage and clarity. The brass blare, and the bass and tympany thunder and everything else is veiled behind the bass and the treble. I can't hear half of the instruments I used to hear using the RS Gold which cost half the price. My two bits: don't spend more than $12 on interconects. Too much hype and the stuff that they do to justify the hype is actually counterproductive. It hurts the sound rather than help it.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack Gold
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
ghimbi   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2001]
Strength:

solid construction, transparent sound, worth the price

Weakness:

none

Since I had been using Radio Shack gold cables for years, I wanted to try something new. My system would be considered mid-fi (Denon AVR w/HK external amp) so I didn't want to spend alot of money. I have found the Monster Interlink 300 cables to be more transparent than the RS cables, with more musical detail and tighter bass. Some may say that all cables sound the same, I do not believe this to be true. Like I said, I have been using RS cables for many years, and know what they sound like in my system. The Monster cable made quite a dramatic change. The RS cables gave the music a warmer sound, and although they are a good value, they hide some of the detail. The RS cables could possibly be used to tame a bright sounding system, but the Denon/HK combo I am using does not benefit from such a cable.

Don't ask me what characteristics of a cable make it sound bright, warm, tranparent, etc. All I know now is that cables do make a difference. For those who say there is no scientific evidence to back this up, let them think what they want. I will trust my ears. At $29.95 for a 1 meter pair, the Monster Interlink 300 is a good value. I don't think I would invest in their higher priced cables.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack gold series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Casual Listener [Aug 04, 2001]
Strength:

Much improved sound, Good price, Well made.

Weakness:

None yet for the price.

Used these cables to replace all the free,lame, out of the box cables. Huge improvement! I'm getting much better sound from my Denon, NAD, and Acoustic Energy components. The cables imroved the detail, clarity and bass. A good buy. I will now invest even more in quality cales.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Glenn   Audiophile [Jul 28, 2001]
Strength:

Well made, good quality.

Recently rated as a good buy by What HiFi magazine so I thought I would give it a try. Nice soundstage, easy to
listen to. Seems like a very good buy at this price. You really have to take these home and listen for some time to judge the sound. I am sure there are better cables but would the difference be worth a lot more money?

Similar Products Used: Various cheaper cables.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com