Kimber Kable Silver Streak Interconnect Cables

Silver Streak

Silver/Copper Braided Interconnect

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Posterone   Casual Listener [Aug 08, 2008]
Strength:

non fatiging

Weakness:

bass shy just a little

sweet highs full mids

Similar Products Used: Transparent mlplus 2 me better
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sergio   Casual Listener [Aug 08, 2008]
Strength:

sweet highs

Weakness:

could have more detail n bass

nice n sweet

Similar Products Used: Transparent music link plus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
posterone   Casual Listener [May 30, 2008]
Strength:

very sweet good looking, high quilty, clear tight sound

Weakness:

a tiny tthin not as full in mids lots of det.

fast, smooth, tight bass clear highs first int. with siver good build

Similar Products Used: transparent music plus older ver. has all what silver has but alot better in the mids and stronger bass
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
oldschoolADS   AudioPhile [Feb 28, 2008]

Just stunning is all i can say...I didnt expect to hear much of a difference over my Kimber Heros. Amazing. As another reviewer put it:

"The SilverStreak is a lot better that Hero, a lot. I found Hero adding more "brass" and mids boosting than SilverStreak (isn't it strange ?). I found SilverStreak smoother, with more and easy detail unlocking than Hero plus a warmth that is really a must when found in Silver cables. Better 3D soundstage, better and natural mid-range and clarity."

This is exactly right on...mid bass got dialed back a bit but the soundstage just blooms. Very Neutral and the highs are just so much more detailed. Just makes me want to scream at the detractors who say cables are a waste of money. I'm listening to Girl in the Other Room by Dianne Krall over and over just because its now so vivid. I also couldnt get Mozart's Marriage of Figaro. Female vocals connoisseur here.

Now here's a surprise...this is all on my car system. Trust me I dont do my critical listening on the freeway, but it wouldnt matter. My car system would embarass many home systems being the SQ freak that I am. Its all old school Alpine and ADS. Alpine 7909 head unit, Alpine 5959s 20 bit burr brown Changer, ADS 325is separates and two ADS PQ20 old school pure SQ amps. Dynamat'd floor, ceiling and doors. I ran the Silver Streaks from the 5959s Changer to the head unit and have Kimber Heros running from the head unit to the two amps.

Similar Products Used: Kimber Hero, numerous monster cable products
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
uback007   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2007]
Strength:

Clarity, Soundstage depth, overall presentation.

Weakness:

none

All I can say is, WOW! I have a modest system, consisting of Cambridge Audio components: 640A integrated amp - 540D Universal Player- Shunyata Venon Power Cables and by upgrading to the Silver Streaks from Nordost Blue Heavens, I must say its the single most noticeable tweak I have ever heard. Crystal clear presentation, sparkle treble and huge change to the soundstage. I'm hooked! The 540D player I got off of Audiogon awhile back has blossomed from adding these interconnects that cost what I paid for this player. Yes, that sounds crazy but it sounds incredible. Highly recommended and very much worth shelling out the extra dough for.

Similar Products Used: Kimber Hero
Signal Cable Analog 2's
Nordost Blue Heaven
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
garyfran   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 14, 2006]
Strength:

honest transparancy

Weakness:

be prepared to look into your set up not components i had to upgrade power my amp costly considering the previous one was £1000.00 but now everthing is just so alive

I can only give a slighty right wing veiw having mostly kimber throughout but what i do have to say is if you use this product throughout your system is is true it will higlight the weaknesses in your system be it bad or good but they tell the truth

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
paulthompson   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2005]
Strength:

Great soundstage and clarity, excellent construction featuring WBT connectors. Outstanding detail.

Weakness:

A tad light on bass compared with its more expensive siblings, but well worth the saving as a result.

This is an excellent interconnect well worth an audition at this price ($300 NZD). Rated consistently amongst Stereophiles Top 500 recommended components (October 2005). Most notably this has been included for the last 3 years amongst only 20 or so nominations. I opted for this over Kimbers KS 1011 select series at $637 NZD. I felt it was significantly better all round during the audition although a touch leaner in the base department. An excellent buy for the money. I would highly recommend this.

Similar Products Used: Plinius 9200 amp, Quad CDP 2 Cd Player, Kimber 8TC speaker cable, Mission Speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
cteffner   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2005]
Strength:

After a good 40 hours of burn-in you have an excellent set of cables. At first maybe a bit bass shy and strident, but don't worry, it all dissappears. Then you are one happy camper!

Weakness:

Not a one.

The Silver Streak cables are fantastic. They don't impart much of anything but goodness. My entire system is wired with these. I'm hooked.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
zuper   AudioPhile [Nov 24, 2004]
Strength:

Almost everything. Voices, detail, tonal balance, value. Fine soundstage.

Weakness:

Try to find one but I cant.

This is one of the best interconnects at any price. Two silver conductors for the signal and one copper for ground, exactly the same silver used for KCAG and KCTG for signal. I compare it directly with the silver/copper Kimber Select line. It excels any and all of the similar and about 200-300 more priced interconnects of any other brand. I own also the Kimber Hero. The SilverStreak is a lot better that Hero, a lot. I found Hero adding more "brass" and mids boosting than SilverStreak (isn't it strange ?). I found SilverStreak smoother, with more and easy detail unlocking than Hero plus a warmth that is really a must when found in Silver cables. Better 3D soundstage, better and natural mid-range and clarity. I strongly believe that Kimber Silver Streak is by far the best cable on the market and one of the very best at any price. The two best cables in this price category are Kimber's SilverStreak and Van Den Hul The First Ultimate. You may find VDH too relaxed, lean sounding but it takes the soundstage to another level. VDH is killing all the edge and harshness in expence of a more relaxed and laid-back presentation - but you may find it boring after some weeks. SilverStreak comes and gives a sparkling, non-fatiguing, smooth and natural presentation plus a realistic soundstage, more bass control than VDH and life-like organs presentation. Also voices. drums and guitars but also piano are the synonimous of this cable's world. Again, if your system needs something against overbrightness or unreal mids-highs try VDH and SilverStreak (strange again for a silver cable to react SO good).

Similar Products Used: Van Den Hul, other Kimber cables.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rarbanas   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2003]
Strength:

Details, sometimes reproduces sounds that you can feel rather then hear (highs), precise reproduction of highs - never loses control, defined bass (quite surprised)

Weakness:

None whatsoever

Great cable! I have used Kimber PBJ and was not happy with the performance (esp. highs were a bit ‘uncontrolled’ – harsh), so I’ve decided to take Kimber HERO, Silver Streak and KCAG on test. Kimber HERO is an improvement over PBJ, very refined, controlled and warm, but I had a feeling that some details were missing in high and low end of the spectrum. Then I’ve connected Silver Streak and voila! I do not know if it is the perfect balance between the rest of my system (Harman Kardon based), but the result was crystal clear music over entire range, very detailed and exciting. My set of referent CD’s include solo instruments (Paganini – Regis Pasquier : solo violin, Pepe Romero – solo guitar), some basic orchestra work (Mozart – Violin Concertos 1,2,3) and some jazz (Benny Waters – Live at the Pawnshop) and Cuba stuff (Compay Segundo works). I must say that I enjoy every bit of music coming through Silver Streak – precise, holographic display, and surprisingly for this cable class (read: price) rather deep sound stage (can see people back there…). At the end I’ve connected KCAG and have found very little added value over Silver Streak –not worth the price difference. Silver Streak overall rating -> +5.

Similar Products Used: Kimber PBJ, Kimber HERO, Kimber KCAG
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com