Kimber Kable KCAG Interconnect Cables

Kimber Kable KCAG Interconnect Cables 

DESCRIPTION

  • Tri-braid field geometry
  • Hyper-pure silver
  • Varistrandâ„¢
  • Teflonâ„¢ dielectric
  • Terminated with WBTâ RCA or “studio grade” XLR type with silver plated contacts

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 26  
    [Apr 15, 2015]
    Julian Stevens
    AudioPhile

    I'm still using them after 25 years, now in balanced mode (for which the three conductors are just right), currently between my crossover and low bass amplifier and between my D:AC and pre-amp, from which duties they've displaced my Van Damme StarQuad interconnects. They're clean, clear and musical. I really can't understand how anyone could find their bass anything other than excellent ~ maybe just a system mismatch.

    Whether or not I'll splash out on a further two pairs (pre-amp to crossover and crossover to main amplifiers) remains to be seen, as they're not cheap (£295/pair here in the UK), but they are wonderful interconnects, not absurdly expensive and they've certainly stood the test of time.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Sep 26, 2003]
    kevin
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Open unrestricted presentation, cool silver look with wbt connectors, great overall performer.

    Weakness:

    None at this price point.

    I've been a kimber fan for over a decade. Had the 4TC speaker wires back in highschool and since upgraded to the fantastic monocle. Tried other interconnects over the years but have always come back to kimber kcag. Excellent sound from top to bottom. Tried dh labs new silver interconnect (excellent holographic presentation, but sounded veiled compared to the kcag). The bass doesn't have as much weight as the dh labs but much more defined. The midrange is good, but the highs are simply delightful. Haven't upgraded from kcag to Kimber's Select 1030 interconnect yet, but why?

    Similar Products Used:

    DH labs

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 10, 2003]
    gianluca pieri
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Kimber è sempre Kimber, ma questo è veramente un gran Kimber:vale quello che costa, e non è poco!

    Weakness:

    necessita molta cura quando si stacca e si attacca, ma....una volta attaccato, è un delitto staccarlo!!!

    cavo analogico kimberkable kcag 0,5 mt. Il mio impianto è cosi'composto: lettore cd: rotel rcd 991 pre:rotel rc 1070 finale:rotel rb 1070 diffusori:proac studio 125 cavi: diffusori:ab cable energy 2;pre-finale:audioquest phyton 1 mt. lettore cd-pre:kimber kcag. Dopo aver usato per due anni come cavo di connessione tra pre e cd l'audioquest phyton e tra pre e finale un kimber kable hero,devo dire con grande soddisfazione, ho deciso di acquistare il kcag per migliorare l'immagine sonora, che a mio parere, rimaneva poco profonda. all'inizio ho usato il kcag tra pre e finale, ottenendo un miglioramento sensibile di tutti i parametri sonori, ma poi, inserendolo tra cd e pre, ho ottenuto un suono veramente da primato: assolutamente naturale e nello stesso tempo molto preciso e cristallino; l'immagine è molto più profonda di prima, ma anche più larga e alta: mai avrei creduto di riuscire ad ottenere un tale miglioramento da un impianto che pensavo di avere già sviluppato abbastanza: anche se la spesa non è da poco, la resa del mio cd player ora è doppia rispetto a prima: cambiando il mio cd player ed avendo aggiunto 370 euro, non avrei acquistato un cd player con queste stupende caratteristiche. Consiglio questo cavo a chiunque abbia un impianto che lo meriti.

    Similar Products Used:

    audioquest coral, audioquest phyton, kimberkable hero

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 07, 2003]
    hartl
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Construction is like jewelery--great, transparent sound.

    Weakness:

    A little bit on the crappy side in the soundstage department, but fine otherwise.

    Brake-in period is over...I must admit that comparing it to my Monster's reveal quite a difference. I don't know if that difference is worth $300, but I would suppose so. Actually, in direct comparison, the Monster's had a bigger soundstage, and the KCAG's sounded somewhat flat and 2D in comparison. But you gain some/loose some--everything is coherent, beautifully presented. Many veils have been removed from the music. Liquid, detailed yet not harsh highs, deep and tight bass--nice cable.

    Similar Products Used:

    Monster

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Mar 26, 2003]
    hartl
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Transparent, liquid, smooth. Very present vocals and shimmering cymbals. Beautiful construction, but fragile--like a piece of jewelery.

    Weakness:

    I paid $300 for a .5m length, and the difference from my old, $20 cable is minimal. I haven't broken it in yet though, so I realize my initial reaction aren't fair.

    I literally just got this cable home and gave it a brief listening session (the salesman reccomended 200-500 hours of break-in time for silver cables, and I've given it about 15 minutes, so I will post a follow up review after that period). Before buying this cable I owned cheap Monster cabling, and was as much of a skeptic as one can be concerning the difference cabling makes. When I got these babies home, I was immediatley stunned at the cosmetics--I opened up the freakin' jewelery box case, and was amazed; the gold, locking connectors. The braided silver cable strands--this is a true work of art. So I plugged them in, AND...a ridiculously small improvement. Granted, I will write another review after hundreds of hours of music has been ran through them, but I was at least expecting a minimal improvement over my Monsters to make me excited. What I did notice was that the cymbals sounded more brassy and shimmering, and that the vocals were slightly more present and less cloudy. The bass was the same as before, but the highs were slightly more detailed, yet rolled off at the top--smooth and liquid sounding, and not as harsh. But seriously, these differences are not blaring at all--they are so minimal that I may even be imagining it, desperately trying to convince myself that I didn't just flush hundreds of dollars down the drain. Just to be fair I'll give them plenty of break-in and listen again, but how much of a difference could breaking in make? A $300 difference? I am glad that I now have the peace-of-mind that my components have the highest-quality signal transfer, and once I get the Kimber 8TC biwire cabling, I'm sure the enhancements the pair makes will become more clear. I currently have Harman Kardon components, but I am in the process (and very close) to buying an Arcam set-up. I'm sure once these higher-quality components are set up, everything will start to make sense, and I won't feel ripped off.

    Similar Products Used:

    Monster

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Mar 08, 2003]
    diky
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Too many

    Weakness:

    system dependant!!must try it before buy it.

    fabolous wire! transparent,emotionaly seductive,liquid(in my system)with great speed & midrange. this wire will shine in good SET system with Full range speakers!(45 or 2A3 tube)

    Similar Products Used:

    long list-----............

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 15, 2003]
    PAT-A
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    listed above

    Weakness:

    none i could hear.

    i purchased these interconnects from audio connection in verona new jersey 973 239-1799 from a man named john rutan the owner who told me if i put these wires on my system it would come alive. behold he was right the man had turned me onto a great cable. my system opened up with air,detail and more depth. imagine that

    Similar Products Used:

    just kmber kcag cable all around/ kimber seclect 3035's and 3038's speaker cables.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Dec 12, 2002]
    audio_equipment_lover
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    good mids

    Weakness:

    Lean highs and mushy bass

    Well, on my quest for the best silver interconnects I made a brief stop at Kimber's dorr step. What a mistake. Luckily Audioadvisor has a good return policy. $460 for these cables. Now normally i will say a cable doesn't sound good in MY system but may in some one elses's. Case in point, I didn;t like the HT Pro-Silways in my rig, but I gave them to my brother-in-law and he is happy with them. The KCAG were not the worst I have heard, they are ok in fact, but $460?! No way. The highs were too lean and the bass sounded mushy. I know my system doesn't sound this way because the Silver Audio and Pure Silver Sound cables sounded much better over all. The Silver Audio didn't have the week highs and the bass was better, not as good as the Pure Silver sound's but good none the less. save yourself some huge bucks and look elsewhere. you can get 2 interconnects of god quality for this price.

    Similar Products Used:

    Harmonic Technology Pro-Silway MKII Silver Audio - Silver Bullet 4.0's Pure Silver Sound - Quartet's

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Jan 30, 2002]
    Scott
    Audiophile

    Strength:

    Did not even try to use the cable - I was afraid it was going to fall apart in my hands.

    Weakness:

    Workmanship (on XLR's)

    Have a few pairs of Kimber Kables BiFocal-XL's and was impressed with the workmanship and performance so I decided to upgrade my signal level cables. Bought may first pair of 1M KCAG's with XLR terminations. Let me tell you that the poor soldering (possible cold solder joints and left over flux) and almost non existent strain relief was something to be desired (or maybe I should say - not to be desired). I was afraid the cable was going to fall apart in my hands. I was very disappointed in the workmanship and never got a change to even listen to the cable. I am going to try another manufacturer for my signal level cable, but will stick with Kimber on my speaker cables.

    Similar Products Used:

    Staright Wire Rhapsody II, Analysis Plus and Monster M1000

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Jan 22, 2000]
    Max Wickham
    Audiophile

    Strength:

    While can see why some would not favor this cable, it does have some wonderful traits in my system. Have Thiel 2 2 speakers, Hafler 9505 amp and kimber in other places. This KCAG replaced PBJ in my system recently.

    Weakness:

    Well, when I first heard it in there, I thought it sounded like stereo under a microscope, and too BRIGHT.

    not been in the set up long, so cannot say what long term reaction will, be, but i think it is only going to get better with time.
    LOTTA detail. Great 3D image. No need to listen loudly to get the whole message. These things happen to be very important to me personally, and are part of what I am looking for.

    Right now....out of possible 5, would say 7 stars, but as said above I think it will be closer to 10 in time.

    On the very 1st day was sure would they would soon be going back to Audio Advisor. They sounded bright, too close, edgy, and couldn't find a CD that it flattered. Then I found one later that day, and 2 cuts that sounded great. Then another CD by Cowboy Junkys that ALL sounded excellent, well it has just kept going that way. Now I am pulling the recordings I know are poor, obscured, edgy, etc, and having a hard time identifying problems, and hearing lots of new stuff on each disc. So..... either I am adjusting to the cables sound (I would prefer this option, as am an engineer, and do not believe cables burn in) or something else is going on here, but meantime, I like what its doing to my collection. PS the KCAG goes between my CD player and the Preamp. If you can explain this phenomenon, let me know

    Similar Products Used:

    SEE ABOVE

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 26  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com