Homegrown Audio Pure Silver Braided Interconnect Interconnect Cables

Pure Silver Braided Interconnect

User Reviews (51)

Showing 1-10 of 51  
afan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2005]
Strength:

Almost very Acceptable price.

I just want to offer a couple of notes to improve the silver cable. 1. the cable does not shield well. I cut my kids swimming noodle and place the cable through the hole. It makes big difference. According to stereophile, All power and signal cables shall be 4 inches apart. 2. The New WBT connectors shows a better connectivity over screw-tight then Soldering. There is a replica on audiogon called Johnson Audio. It is good and easy to use.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bryanthesailor   AudioPhile [Oct 08, 2004]
Strength:

neutral, very musical sounding. Probably the biggest bang for the buck in high end audio.

Weakness:

none except these guys might do a better job with marketing . I just stumbled upon them in an Audiogon thread.

I usually don’t write reviews, but given a great recent upgrade to my system, I’d like to pass along the experience. I purchased two pairs of HGA Silver Lace interconnects and a pair of their solid silver speaker cables about a month ago. Wow, what a difference these have made. They are articulate, focused, and without question the most life-like sounding cables I have ever had in my system. And I’ve tried everything from multi- thousand dollar Kimber Selects to 15 years worth of homebrew designs. Here’s the real kicker – the factory direct price runs about 1/4 the price of other cables I’d group them with. Like most things hi-fi, cables are very system dependent. They’ve worked extremely well with both the Rowland gear I have in my system as well as some Cary tube gear I’ve auditioned them with. Your mileage may vary. One thing I will point out is that HGA sells their stuff assembled, as kits, and as ala carte parts. I guess they’re trying to capture several ends of the market. The assembled cables are beautifully terminated, come in an attractive carrying case and IMHO well worth the extra 40 or 50 bucks they charge for the service.

Similar Products Used: Recently: Kimber Select, Silver Audio Appasionata, Nordost, Acoustic Zen, and most of the diy "recipes" on the web.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trumpetbri   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 26, 2003]
Strength:

Soundstage, depth, sweetness (Yes it's silver...really!)and phenomenal timbral accuracy/transparency.

Weakness:

None I can hear, and having Maggie speakers I'd know!

This is a review of the Silver Lace Speaker cable by Homegrown. After being a Cardas freak for ages, I decided to give this company a try hearing from others that silver has a magical transparency if done right. Well these are more than done right! Some worry about silver cables being harsh or edgy. Not so at all with these! Very sweet and MUCH MUCH better clearer imaging and soundstaging than with Cardas Cross. It sounds much more expensive than what I paid for my demo's. Incredible 3D details...most lifelike I've heard. At this price you'd be foolish not to give them a try. Especially considering a risk free 30 day in home trial. They know you'll be hooked, and I am. Now off to purchase the Silver lace Balanced interconnect! These have gotten reviewed as beating Kimber KCAG in performance for half the price!

Similar Products Used: Cardas, Transparent Audio, FMS. System:Audio Research LS-12 Pre amp, Bryston 4B-ST amp, Xindak SCD-2 CD player, Music Hall turntable, and Magnepan MG 12 speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Huff   AudioPhile [Jul 25, 2003]
Strength:

build quality Looks Easy to work with Soundstage is huge Detail is superb

Weakness:

A LITTLE bright

let me start by saying that I have a pretty good stereo setup. It cost me about $25k to set up. It consists of a mcintosh 2200 tube preamp, Mcintosh 602 amp, Sony SCD-1 CDP, Audiomeca DAC, Sonus faber Guarneri and Cremona speakers, and various tweaks. I was using tara labs ref gen II IC's and their middle of the line speaker cable. I ordered some IC's from TMC after reading their rave reviews on their web site. BUT after 2 weeks with them I realized they were making my speakers MUFFLED and messed up. Plus they were as stiff as a coat hanger! i decided to give Homegrown a try and ordered IC's and Speaker cable - ALL Silver Lace. 1st 2 days were OK. lifeless, cold sounding. I let my system play for a week while I wa sout of town and I just returned. the sound has opened up dramatically. Soundstage is HUGE. Detail is incredible. BUT they are a LITTLE bright. Where the TMC mufled my speakers and made them sound super warm with no detail, the Silver lace gives me almost too much detail. BUT they sound sooo good. For the price, these can not be beat. Ive tried Acoustic Zen Silver ref II, Nordost SPM, Tara Labs Air 1 and various others. Those all cost me nearly $1k a pair. For under $200 you can get a pair of Silver lace IC's and have not only a great sounding IC, but one that is easy to manage and beautiful to lok at. Great quality. TMC IC's were cheaply made, cheap connecters, etc. Homegrown has impressed me and I LOVE their speaker cable. So much better than the garden hose stuff, and sounds superb. if these were just maybe 5% more warmer I would say I found my perfect cables.

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Zen, Nordost, Monster, Tara Labs, TMC, Better Cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rainy   AudioPhile [Apr 19, 2003]

I have ordered Silver Lace wire(not the terminated one) from Homegrown Audio, terminated it with Eichmann silver bullet plug, then burned it in for more than 200 hours. This cable is smooth, good soundstage, not bright at all, but, compare it to my another DIY silver IC( braided with four 24AWG .999 Oxygen free silver wire), silver lace showed it weakness, not enough detail, lack of bass and smaller soundstage, especially the center sstage focusing is poor, it seemed performer was singing in the forest. Then, I used two RS magnet wire braided them with cotton thread first, then braided with SL, one for +, one for -, soldered them to center pin and return, burned it in once again. The result? It souded much better! better focusing, better bass, I should say much, much better bass!! But the detail and soundstage still not as good as my DIY silver IC.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Denis Sureau   AudioPhile [Mar 29, 2003]
Strength:

About everything, especially detail, refinement, neutrality, bass extension and control, performance/price ratio

Weakness:

None

This is the review of the latest version of the Homegrown Silver Lace with silver plated connectors. Until now, it is the most satisfying interconnect i have had in my system. It is very detailed and refined and among the most neutral interconnect i have heard. Frequency range is wide. It is also suprising clean sounding for an unsheiled interconnect. Bass performance is amazing. Bass is tight, full and extented with good weight. Overall, a very natural and refined interconnect.

Similar Products Used: Dh labs Bl1 series II, Kimber pbj/hero/kcag, audioquest turquoise/ruby/quartz/emerald, Pure Silver Sound Quartet, Silver Audio Silver Bullet 4.0, Qued incon P1 gold, Isoda top of the line, Harmonic Te
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kotpet   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 13, 2003]
Strength:

Price/ performance balance.

Weakness:

Can be overly bright.

This Review is for Homegrown Audio DIY Silver Interconnects Kit. 0.5 M pair These are good cables. In my sytem they are a bit too bright, but this is system specific. Can be very reviling of equipment and recording, but one must have a) good speakers; b) good ear, to realize this. I felt a little tired listening to this cables, and switched back to Ixos silver- a vry nice interconnect cable. I would advice people to try HG cables, especially considering thier price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Corvusian   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2002]
Strength:

Based on my system . . . Jolida 302B NAD Cd-541i B&W 604's (3) Homegrown Silver Lace speaker cables (bi-wired) Probably the best value in pure silver interconnects! Super deep sound stage and wonderful treble and low end . . . makes Euro music shine and Jazz life like!

Weakness:

Be careful with them . . . these are not the type of interconnects you jerk around . . . if your the moving type wait until you won't have to move your system around before you purchase these.

-Silver Lace- Hands down the best interconnect vs price on the market today. Replaced my BetterCables Silver Serpent with the Homegrownaudio.com Silver lace interconnect and even with out burn in slayed the serpent interms of highs and lows . . . plus gave much more depth to the sound stage . . . I can't wait until the interconnects are burned in!

Similar Products Used: BetterCables Silver Serpent Various Monster Interconnects
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Q-surf   AudioPhile [Jul 19, 2002]
Strength:

A sound for C pricing. Nice company.

Weakness:

um, uh, I dunno any.

Replaced all my interconnects with SilverLace balanced and unbalanced. Sound improvements across the board from my replaced AudioQuests - that is once they finally broke in! DIY kits were simple to do. Nice to have the peace of mind NOT to cable shop anymore. Maybe the least expensive reference level cables???

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joseph Humphrey   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2001]
Strength:

smooth, detailed, cheap

Weakness:

none

First of all, I'd like to say it seems that everyone @ this site gives pretty favorable reviews to most everything. Maybe people just want to like the thing, on which they spent their hard earned money.

That being said...I love these cables! I honestly can't believe a few pieces of wire could so drastically change my system. Better detail, smoother, more air. I can now actually tolerate my crappy Adcom amp for a little while longer.

I replaced Straightwire IC, (original model from early 80s) I have not heard any of the big dollar brand name cables. Did not hear nearly the difference when I replaced Straightwire speaker cable w/ Kimber 8TC (fairly well regarded)

Read that silver ICs can sound overly bright, but this was not my experience, though the bottom end did fill out as they broke in.

System: AH!Tjoe Joeb CD>HG IC>Conrad-Johnson PV-3 pre>HG IC>Adcom GFA555>Kimber 8TC>modified Magnepan 2cs. (MonsterPower AC/ DIY "flexi-rack")

Placebo effect? Maybe, but when I put the old ICs back in I looked for the nearest window from which to toss the Adcom!

Similar Products Used: Straightwire
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com