AudioQuest Diamondback Interconnect Interconnect Cables

Available At:

AudioQuest Diamondback Interconnect Interconnect Cables 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Aug 19, 2007]
yiun
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound (balanced full sound), stylish look and excellent connectors

Weakness:

No

It smoothes the sound and provides a clear soundstage. I am quite satisfied with the overall performacne.

Similar Products Used:

Kimber Kable PBJ

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2007]
nottipiglet
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Detailed, balanced, high quality.

Weakness:

Connectors a bit loose.

I replaced my Daiyo Digital interconnects with these Diamondbacks because I wanted more detail in the bass. I listen to a lot of classical, and I like to hear all the instruments in their full glory.

The Diamondbacks made quite a difference. It is far more balanced, cleaner and more detailed compared the Daiyo cables. In fact, so much bass came through that I had to plug 2 bass ports of my speakers.

They are very cheap for me because I bought them from a parallel importer who does not have a shopfront. At US$67 a pair, I'm not complaining.

I'm listening too all my CDs over again because they sound much better now.

One drawback of these cables (the newer version) is that the RCA connection is a bit loose when attached to my Marantz amp and CD player.

Similar Products Used:

Cheap Daiyo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2005]
Levike
AudioPhile

Strength:

Excellent Highs Excellent Mids Excellent Lows Amazing cable for any use

Weakness:

None

I just received my Diamond Back Interconnects and all I can say is Outstanding. I use Audioquest for my stereo system but these babies changed my music all over again. It seems like the more you spend on cables the better it becomes. Now my Denon DCM-380 CD player is sounding like a $1000 player. I love these cables

Similar Products Used:

AQ Sidewinder Analog Cable AQ Copperhead Analog Cable AQ Component Cable AQ Copperhead Subwoofer Cable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2005]
A-Audiophile
AudioPhile

Strength:

Clarity-cost

Weakness:

low-end weight...but they keep it real not bloated so its not really a weakness. If your track reaches down to 30Hz, 30Hz will come through as music not over exagerated boom...I just want a tad more punch

My system is Aragon 8008BB amp AQ Gibraltar speaker cables, AQ Diamonds IC's Amthem Pre2L pre-amp multiple sources...I will compare these to Kimber all of which I have listened to in my system. Diamonds are a mix between Kimber Hero and Kimber Select..everything comes though but slightly lean on the bottom end its full but not bloated, mids are perfect clarity voices can be heard with ease (no blurr) highs are just a tad sharp even with tubes but not glaring. Soundstage...Hummmm, well I must say Kimber has AQ beat because AQ soundstage is on the flat side 2D as supposed to 3D. Audio is a hard thing to nail down its always give and take until you find a synergy that works. I like the overall sound of Diamonds better than most every cable I have tried so I will stick with them and play with toe-in and speaker placement. One thing for sure Dyn's dont lie, so my Dynaudio's will tell me the truth about everything up stream...AQ is a winner, Perfect Surface Copper works so I am sure a few minor tweaks will do the trick. IMO, Kimber Selects are great but way, way to much...1m of wire should not cost as much as a whole piece of gear...lets put some perspective on this...Radio Shack Fusion cables will take you up into the Kimber $250+ range and beat PBJ hands down.

Similar Products Used:

Everything in the metro area...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 25, 2004]
kode3
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Looks, Sound Quality, Price.

Good cable, I use them from my Denon DVD-1600 to my Denon AVR-3805. I have 3 pairs used for DVD-A.

Similar Products Used:

AudioQuest King Cobra, MIT AVT-3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 16, 2004]
Marcos
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great hi-end sound

Weakness:

None. They cost the same as the pretenders.

Let me just say this. I did an A/B test shootout between the Diamondbacks and Cobalt cables interconnects (about $65/meter) and there was a big difference in the sonics. The DBs were more open and more extended in the frequency extremes and generally just much better sounding. It was as if I spend $1000 more on my CD player. This is THE interconnect for moderately-priced systems. IMO, of course :)

Similar Products Used:

Arcam CD73 Arcam A75+/P75+ amps Spendor S5e speakers Cobalt Cable ultimate speaker wire (bass) Mapleshade Golden Helix wires (treble)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2004]
A-Audiophile
AudioPhile

Strength:

Total package, cost, sound, imaging, quiet...very good

Weakness:

none

I purchased these cables last weekend after looking and borrowing many high end cables to replace my Kimber wire...I wanted to make a LAST purchase so I took my time almost a year and listened to as many cables as I could even bought and returned cables making many agree dealers in the process [who just want a sell]. I can honestly say these cables are by far GIANT KILLERS, clean highs, sweet mids with REAL vocals and nice bottom end very real and musical. Compare these cables to Kimber Selects and you will buy these every time at a fraction of the cost. No faults what so ever, I could not be happier with my purchase and know for a fact that I will be happy for a very very long time, no need to ever buy cables again because nothing under $500 for a 1 meter pair can beat them, so I'd rather buy more music than waist money on more wire. My system Adcom CD player, Anthem Pre2L pre-amp tubed, and Aragon 8008BB amp with Dynaudio speakers Audience 80.

Similar Products Used:

everything, Kimber, Cardas, Monster, Radio Shack, XLO, Wireworld seriously everything I could get my hands on, but for the price nothing came close

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2004]
jbenjamin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Design, Connectors (Firm and easy to remove from RCA I/O), Build quality, and the fact that they have made an improvement in my system's sound!

Weakness:

None that I can think of (or at least that the lifetime warranty couldn't cover)

I am using these cables between my NAD C521i to NAD 317 Ampllifier. I must say that these cables made in improvement in detail, clarity, and less harshness with certain instruments. I put on my old Apature cables for an A/B test and realized what I was missing! I am afraid now to even try another cable for my CD to Amp because I am just that satisfied. Definetly recommended; I own a 0.5 meter pair. On another note I also use Kimber Tonik's for my Pre-Amp/Main-in and like them as well!

Similar Products Used:

Kimber Tonik, Apature 1 meter ??, Monster.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 21, 2003]
Soldier
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid build, resonable price

Weakness:

None

Currently using these cables with my analog equipment. Increased the audio performance of my pro casette deck. Very similar sound to COPPERHEAD interconnect.

Similar Products Used:

Audioquest Sidewinder,Copperhead and Diamondback

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 16, 2003]
DSB
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

fast musical pretty deep

Weakness:

audioquest cables are BRUTAL to work with

i am using this as a subwoofer cable hooked up between my PARADIGM pw2200 and my DENON 3802. I was using a LINN interconnect before and the diamond back is far better. The LINN really sucked for a subwoofer cable but it is solid as an interconnect betweeen my DENON 2800mk2 dvd player and my receiver. But i now wonder if a set of diamond backs would be better? Bottem line the DIAMOND BACK is a fast and musical interconnect for what im using it for.

Similar Products Used:

LINN G-SNAKE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com