Rega P25/Planar 25 TurnTables

P25/Planar 25

The minimised high performance plinth derived from the P3 carries a sophisticated electronically controlled ultra low vibration motor assembly. With this design our skilled production technicians can "trim" the vibrations from the motor. The platter is from the same hand crafted float plate glass design as used on the famous P3.

The P25 carries a high performance version of the legendary RB300 tonearm. The RB600 is lovingly constructed to extremely high tolerances by a dedicated team of production technicians. To further improve musical detail the RB600 carries an extremely high performance Rega designed Phono cable assembly with state of the art neutrik connectors.

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
sporty   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2009]

J ' ai été désappointé avec la rega p25. Les basses n' ont pas de définition , pas boucoup de dinamique..
Le médium était convenable . Seul les aigues et les extreme aigues étaient sans reproche . Pourtant, les
bras rega sont si bons . Dommage que leur Tables tournantes ne tiennes pas la route.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
pierre   AudioPhile [Dec 19, 2006]
Strength:

estétique
facile a revendre.

Weakness:

sonorité médiocre.
Le bras qui ne s`ajuste pas en hauteur.

J`ai eu plusieur tables tournantes, une rega 3, rega 2, THORENS TD126, Linn Axis,
Aiston RD40 et ensuite la Rega 25. Je m`étais fié a sa bonne réputation pour faire mon choix. j`ai regretté l` achat de cette platine. Bien sure elle était belle. Mais je trouvais le son trop mince et tres ennuyant, et des basse tres quelquonques. Mon lecteur cd
Micromega solo est boucoup plus convainquant ; plus dinamique, plus doux, meilleur image,etc
Mes haut parleur étaient des Eminent technology LFT8.

Customer Service

Assez bien.

Similar Products Used: Linn axis, Thorens TD126 ( la regretté ) .
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
John Thomas   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2006]
Strength:

Looks. Real wood trim. Made in England not China or Check Republic.
Solid feel and solid sound. Great tonearm.

Weakness:

There is a slight hum when the arm is on the post that I understand is common to Regas especially with a high output cartridge like the Exact.

I purchased the Rega P25 after some positive research regarding turntables in this range. Considering the $275 price with the Rega Exact cartridge, I think it was a steal. Replaced a Music Hall MMF5 with Goldring 1012GX. The Rega is a much higher quality table with better looks and feel. Comes with high quality cables and gold plated Neutrik RCA conectors. The sound with the Exact is punchy, tight, with crisp highs and alot of base slam. I am very satisfied. I think the only step up in this range would be the VPI Scout. If you are using a low end table and can afford $300-$1000 on the used market, like Audiogon, then the P25 would be a very satisfying upgrade.

Similar Products Used: Music Hall MMF5.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
RobN   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2006]
Strength:

WIth modifications described: great details, transparency, fast and extended bass, imagery, dynamics, timbre, rhythm, fluidity

Weakness:

Without modifications a little lean in the bass, makes me want to replace my old Audiolab 8000S amp!

I bought this after 20 years of using Rega 3's - the first with the old arm was stolen - to convert vinyl to music. It helped that as it was the end of the 25 line it was discounted and I used the saving to buy a Dynavector DV10X5 MC high output cartridge.

At first it sounded a little lean but with increased bass and treble extension than I was accustomed to from eitehr the Rega 3 or my Marantz CD63 KI CD source. It felt as though there was more space separating instruments and that the details were portrayed at a finer resolution. It retained the toe tapping aspect of the presentation that I had always enjoyed with the Rega 3. At this point I was aware that the deck was a great improvement on the 3 but was still a little lean in the bass.

Next step was to buy an Origin strutural modification kit for the arm, this gave the sound more weight at the bottom end and I preferred this sound though I felt it was at the expense of some fluidity. I then bought a rega kit off e-bay, changed the platter for acrylic, motor bearing, oil and fitted some damping 'elastic bands' around sources of vibration. I was rewarded with a quieter background, greater dynamic range, more precise imagery and excellent porayal of the timbre of each and every instrument. I'm really happy with this sound and it in some ways prefer it to the LP12 sound and certainly to the sound of CDs. I have of course been digging into my vinyl and appreciating fine details of recordings that for years have passed me by, and of course I'm still tapping my toes!

Similar Products Used: Rega 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Juggernaut   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 29, 2004]
Strength:

Beautiful looks, gorgeous sounds and easy to operate

Weakness:

Weight of the table is unevenly distributed. If you for example want to use Vibrapods to shield the table against vibrations you have to remember that the back of the table where the motor is much heavier than the front of the table.

I am the proud owner of a Rega P25 / Sumiko Blue Point Special turntable-combination and I must say that I am very pleased with the way it sounds. The Rega is a beautiful table to look at but even more important is that it sounds just as good. In combination with the Sumiko BPS the sound is fresh, lively, natural and engaging. It's a turntable which invites you to start tapping your feet or start dancing when listening to your favourite music. The music simply sounds right and OK, if you know what I mean? Another good thing is that this table is very easy to operate: there is just one knob/button on the whole table and that is the way I like it. The P25 is a beautiful and simple (but in the positive meaning) music instrument and that is in my opinion the best compliment an audio component can receive. The P25 does not reproduce music; instead it makes music. It is as simple as that.

Similar Products Used: Thorens TD 318 MKII
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bubbles   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2004]
Strength:

Musical,involving,smooth,great PRaT.great arm,great look easy to set up and reliable.

Weakness:

bass could be a tad more powerful,poor paint finnish on RB600

I previously owned a Rega planner 3 RB200 with a goldring 1042,and was never 100% convinced with it,yes it was great for the money,but never quite hit the spot.So Imset out to change it,and try to find something better,for a reasonable price,there are many Linn LP12 going for this sort of price in the UK,but for me in Spain it was harder or impossible to find.I had in mind to try the Project6 as it looked stunning,so I set off to the dealers and came home with the P25,but why?.... I was expecting to much over the planner 3..wrong! it was a great improvement,all aspects of the performance improved.The treble was far cleaner and much more focused,there seemed less crackles and pops making through to the speakers. Midrange was well textured and was smooth,voices were natural and there was no hardness or harshness to be found.Moving on to the bass,which was maybe a slight critisim could appear is that it was maybe a touch on the lean side,it certainly timed well,but i felt lacked some authority and power,which were traded off for a quicker snapier presentation. But the best was still to come,I had been using a Goldring 1042 and a shure MX97e,but I thought the deck had more to give,and i wasn't hearing it at its best. So what could I do? Firstly i lokked at the arm,it was the exellent RB600,a improved arm over the classic RB300,with better tolerances,which come with better interconnects which are fitted with some rather classy neutric plugs,which give a firm tight connection.The end stub comes with a tungston counterweight,I read good things about the Origin Live arm mod,so for £75 thought I would add it to the RB600,the work was easy to do,a 5 minute job,the weight was reset,and the stylus hit the groove,I was blown away,the bass was the greatest improvement,at last some of the authority was there,it had far greater definition,and timing,I also felt the soundstage widened,and the sound had gained a degree of more resolution. The next change was to the stylus,I was using the MM pkono stage of a Copland Valve amp,so I decided to try the Shure V15mkIII,I found one going for a good price,put it on the arm,reset again the pressure lowered the needle and I was not prepared for what I was about the hear,want to know why so many people prefer vinyl? well here is the answer,this combo rocked,I just coudn't believe what I was hearing,it blew CD into the weeds,and really showed just how cgood the P25 really is,and just what the deck is really capable of,the sound soars free of the speakers,taps you on the shoulders and says "hey listen to this!" and draws you into the listenig experience,the sound is so clean, natura,it gets you foot tapping and put a grin so wide on you face,you'll love it,midrange keeps that smoothness,nothing is forced upon,as you are transfixed by the sound your getting,timing is good, bass at last has the authority to get thoes speakers pounding,the Shure really suits this deck to a tea. All in all i delighted with the P25,for a reasonable price,it will easily see of high end cd players,It will play 33 and 45,it's a simple set up and go,no fiddling around with a suspension system,wondering if it set up right or not a la Linn,just give it a nice supprt,rack to sit it on,to get it play its best. It looks far better than the planner and has a choice of picture frame surronds that can be changed,I chose the cherry finish and it looks lovely. The interconnects are classy,there is no hum anywhere and mine plays at the correct speed.the deck is manual so if your lazy forget it,bit you don't know what you'll be missing. A slight dissapointment i fopund is the paintwork on the arm is poor,it looks nice in silver,but wears off very easily,which is a great shame,as it makes it look worn and older than it is. So a really great deck that will have you playing vinyl over and over again,and will tell you exactly why vinyl will never die!!

Similar Products Used: Rega Planner 3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rehde   AudioPhile [Feb 12, 2004]
Strength:

Plays muuuuuuuuuuuusic..... Jo ! ! ! Easy to install

Weakness:

Hmmmm...

Great TT for the money and beyound... Very natural musical presentation, it´s all about music. I have had TT´s from many other manufacturers at 2 and 3 times the price of the P25, none stayed as long as the Rega.... I dont understand the problems Buck59 has with the P25. Ok the hum part is a well known Rega-Grado problem. But bad tracking and distortion? Maybe his TT is not set up correctly.Go and se your dealer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andres   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2003]
Strength:

Bass, clean sound, any option to chose tonearm, etc.

Weakness:

May be a little bit high priced

I don't know where to write about Clearaudio tables. I own the Regas Planar 3 and 25 and I think both are as good as it gets (for the price). (se my review below). However after buying the Clearaudio Solution table, buy two Rega RB600 tonearms for this table, two Lehman's black cubes, and Alphacore Saphire cables for this table, and try some cartridges (Clearaudio Arum Beta and Sigma S, and Benz Micro Glider and L2), I have to say the Clearaudio Solution table is a lot better performer than the Regas (I use the same tonearms and cartrdiges)however the Solution table is 400USD more expensive than the Planar 25 and not come with tonearm. But the difference in the sound is very noticeable: a lot more solid and kiky bass, more airy sound, more transparency, more natural sound, less background noise in the LP reproduction, etc. I really love this table. I record my LPs to CDs in my Philips CD recorder via the MSB PAD-1 AD converter and I can chose between the Arum Beta cartridge in one RB600 tonearm, and the Sigma-S in the other RB600. Anything sounds very good in this table, from classic to reggae, to some Rock recordings as Eagles, Santana, Dire Straits. If you can spend the money for this table, don't hestitate, buy it. This table is great.

Similar Products Used: Rega Planar 3 Rega Planar 25
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gino Lavoie   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2003]
Strength:

Good performance on all frequency range. Soft and warm. It is able to reproduce the feeling and emotion from the music.

Weakness:

Speed accuracy, see my text.

I bought my Rega Planar 25 in 2000. I'm satisfied about the musical performance but not about the accuracy of the speed. The platter ran too fast when I bought it c.i.e. 2,8% above the normal speed. I resolved the problem when I put some electrical black tape around the sub-platter. With this solution, I suceeded to reach the right speed. Since then, my turntable is much better particularly in the bass frequencies. The sound from this turntable is soft, warm and musical. The sound is softer than my Rega Planet CD player. Before, I had had some turntables (Revolver standard, Linn Basik, Linn Axis, Mission 775s and Rega 3)and I can say that the Rega Planar 25 meets the competition in term of performance. My friend has an Oracle Delphi turntable with Pierre-lurné tonearm. I compared the performance of my turntable with the Delphi. The planar 25 is not as good as the Delphi but it manages very well. We must recognize that it's not the same purchase price! The Rega P25 is a good value and is comfortably situated between the Linn Basik and the Oracle Delphi. The Planar 25 has some nice musical characteristics borrow from the high quality turntables like the Oracle Delphi. The performance on all frequency range is honest. I like my turntable and I don't want to change it. I use this turntable with Rega Elys cartridge, Rega Mira Amp, Rega Alya Loudspeaker, Rega Planet CD player, Rega Radio tuner and Nakamichi tape deck DR-2.

Similar Products Used: Linn Axis.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Luis B   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 2002]
Strength:

Looks are first class, reliability (with this kind of performance you don't really need that arm height adjustment), great cabling and connectors and of course the arm is something special for the price.

Weakness:

Mmm... let me think about it... nah, probably its instruction sheet...

After 2 years with my first deck in years (Music Hall's 2.1 and Sumiko's Blue Point MC cartridge, same turntables as Pro-jekt in Europe)I've become a firm believer about vinyl's being state of the art in musical reproduction (Cheers Mickey Fremer again!), so took the next logical step and get a better deck, so after reading endless reviews, my first option was the P25, I gotta admit that it looks helped a lot, but I don't know anyone that buys a Mercedes just for its performance alone..., when you are spending more than 500 bucks you expect a nice design too. Well, the leap from my former deck is unbelievable, I'm using the same cartridge for a while, but now it sounds like if it was a brand new and more expensive one. Don't want to use many words, just audition if possible and if not, buy it, you won't regret it never, believe me. Lots of detail and classy sound even with old and scratched records and that space and dimensionality... my god!

Similar Products Used: Music Hall's 2.1 with Blue Point cartridge... used to love it... how wrong I was...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com