Music Hall MMF-7 TurnTables

MMF-7

  • Audiophile turntable with advanced isolation features
  • Split plinth design with "floating" top chassis assembly
  • Motor assembly located on separate chassis
  • Project Nine tonearm
  • Removable RCA Interconnects
  • Goldring Eroica high output moving coil cartridge
  • Heavy acrylic, low resonance platter
  • Dust cover
  • Felt turntable mat
  • Adjustable cone-point feet
  • Built-in bubble level

  • User Reviews (22)

    Showing 1-10 of 22  
    Tim Ameche   AudioPhile [Jan 07, 2010]

    I do like the MMF-7.1 I have had it for about 3 weeks now. I am not new to the audio field. In fact I have been involved in the industry one way or another for a majority of my life. The MMF-7.1 is a really solid well built unit. It does take a little time to put it together out of the box. If you take your time and read the instructions carefully you will be well rewarded. If you have any question I would tell you to call your dealer as he might give you some help. I purchased my unit from Needle Doctor and they were a great help with any questions I had.

    One thing I can tell you right off is that you should make sure that you put this unit on a very solid wood table or a cabinet. Make sure it is well balanced as this all goes to helping you achieve the best sound from the unit. Also you might invest in a pair of really good interconnecting cables. Of course what you hook this unit up to will also make big difference. You might want think about a getting a good Moving coil cartridge it will also bring out the best sound.

    Now as to what it sounds like. “Smooth” & “Clean “is the best over all words I would use. It has a great bottom end that is tight but well pounced. Fleetwood Mac was well balance with a nice fat bottom end. The midrange is well defined but again smooth not harsh in any way. Jethro Tull ‘s “The Broad Sword” The voice was very clean & smooth. The High end is clean and very detailed. You’ll find that you will hear things that you never heard before. Depth is wonderful and the sound stage is wide. Of course this all depends on the cartridge that you’ll use.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    nandito   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2008]
    Strength:

    Well built
    Great bass
    Detailed sound
    High gloss piano finish is pretty
    great quality for money

    Weakness:

    Motor blue ligth
    Depending on preferences, sound could be a bit warmer
    I feel the felt mat improvable

    I have been using this table for more than a year and here my impressions:

    I allways liked the sound of vynil records, even whit its shortcomings, but as most people, ended listening mostly to CDs, which I thing sounds ok only if you dont pay atention to the sound. . Here in Venezuela, CDs made records and turntables dissapear in few years, but still I used to listen to my records from time to time in a very unexpensive technics table.One day I managed to get a stanton DJ cartridge( a moving iron deign) and installed it into that table and me and my family were amazed by the sound we were listening to. So, i started to research the internet about tables and that is how I knew about this one. I got it from Hollywood sound a year or so ago and so far i am very satisfied with it.
    I have to tell you that I have an accident with the goldring heroica cartridge the unit came with (i damaged it completely ) two weeks after the table arrived, so Larry Weinstein, my retailer, adviced me to get the dynavector DV 20 H moving coil cartridge. So I did, and from the very begining the sound was clearer and more detailed than with the goldring.
    However, I was feeling the sound a bit bright, maybe the soundstage a bit narrow, but I asumed it has something to do with brake in. Time passed and things improved just a bit, so i started to do a more fine tuning of cartridge aligment , VTA etc
    Let me tell you, the Dynavector is sensitive to these adjustments. I agree whit another reviewer about VTA been a bit shallow from the factory. I raised it and the sound improved a lot. And more recently I adjusted the Azimuth and then i got great sound, pleasing, deep, a lot of body,wider soundstage etc etc.
    Bottom line, take time for cartridge aligment mostly for those replacing the goldring (which i would recommend). It could make a huge difference.Another thing: for those that like a warmer sound, I recomend try whit a good quality moving magnet This is because to my ears, this table is very detailed sounding but could sound a bit warmer.
    About weakneses, well, maybe the blue ligth on the motor can be anoying when you are an top of the table,and i havent find out yet how to adjust arm lift.( maybe my fault)Otherwise the table is very well finished, beautiful and well isolated.
    Finally, i strongly recomend Larry weinstein in Hollywood Sound ,Hollywood,Florida.

    Similar Products Used: Garrard , technics,luxman (all vintage)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jeff Harper   AudioPhile [Sep 01, 2007]
    Strength:

    It brings your LP's out of the rack and into your speakers in a big way, large sounding, bubble level is right on. Arm has correct geomitry from project 9 and the motor is dead silent and never comes in contact with the table.Platter is true wow and flutter is not an issiue and the goldring Exotica H is forgiveing and warm.I have never used or needed the rummble filter in the Bellari .

    Weakness:

    It dosen't cost 3,800.00 dollers and you get a great cartrage too. So there 's no braging rights,It's not excusionary so even a working guy can get one.. And worst of all you will neglect your cd"s.

    I bought this turn table in 2002 it just gets better and better,with a ringmat and a 60 pound granite slab added for a 3rd plinth all I can say is fantastic!! I'm useing white zombie all silver ballanced interconects with a bellari tube preamp with a tubeweight over a tung sol 12Ax7 .I have always felt this table was under priced .It's like buying the cartrage at full retail and getting the table for cost.

    Customer Service

    not needed yet.

    Similar Products Used: to menny to list.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    jjcllc03   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2007]
    Strength:

    A solid foundation due to the isolated motor, ceramic platform, the Ringmat and the Boboli. It blows away even the best CD players and a lot of more expensive turntables. Finally, the price is incredible for the value you receive.

    Weakness:

    The table, from what I understand, is difficult to modify because it is not designed to easily swap out tonearms. However, the Project 9 tonearm that is on the table is very nice and the Ringmat (something you must purchase separately) improves the performance significantly to the point where modification seems superfluous.

    This is the steal of the decade, even though it doesn't have the cachet of snooty so-called "audiophile" turntable labels. If your interest is more into listening to music rather than enjoying the tweaking and the array of options available for changing tonearms and such on more expensive turntables, then you'll probably like this turntable. As one of the reviewers below has said, buy this turntable and try the following low cost tweaks and you will discover why this it garners such rave reviews. Place the MMF-7 atop a 5/8" MDF board (24"x16") with rubber feet to isolate the turntable from room vibrations, then replace the felt mat with a Ringmat Anniversary mat. This will remove platter vibrations, improve the bass response, open the soundstage and give you a low-cost world class turntable. Where I differ from the other reviewer, though, is to change the cartridge from the so-so Goldring Eroica to the incredible Bluenote Boboli MkII cartridge. This Italian, high-output MC cartridge on a Graham Slee Communicator phono stage is simply outstanding! Dead silent background, full, engaging bass, accurate reproduction across the tonal spectrum, this combination, along with the use of Disk Doctor's Quick Wash and Audio Advisor's Nitty Gritty record cleaning machine clone, the Record Doctor, is a winner, especially with female vocals and acoustic guitars.

    My system:

    Krell Showcase pre/pro
    Graham Slee Communicator phono stage
    MMF-7 w/ Boboli Cartridge and Ringmat (Anniversary)
    Outlaw 7500 amplifier
    Reference Audio Modifications modified Oppo 970 DVD Audio/SACD/CD/DVD player
    Paradigm Studio 20 Mains
    Paradigm CC350 Center
    Paradigm ADP350 Surrounds
    B&W AS-600 Subwoofer

    Customer Service

    Purchased it from Chris at NeedleDoctor. Chris was very knowledgable, helpful, customer-service oriented and helpful in helping me select the right turntable and cartridge combination. He's definitely a keeper!

    Similar Products Used: I tried the MMF5 but determined that the MM7 offered a far greater level of refinement for a moderate increase in price.


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    leonard lYNE   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2006]
    Strength:

    Detail and soundstage

    Weakness:

    None so far.

    So far so GOOD.

    It didn't take long to recognize a real fine poduct. I left the vynal realm for space reason. I sold my Linn LP12. A mistake. OR was it. I still had lots of records, but couldn't play them. ......until now. and Wow. It is better the Linn LP12 with the best Alphason S tonearm with the HCL wires and foam damping. I know it is hard to believe. Yet, there is a quieter presentation and a much better retieval of detail. The pickup is diferent than my former Audio Technica ML-170, which was a MM. True, MC may be more detailed. Nonetheless, this is a very angaging component.

    Two Argo recordings of Kings College Choir yeilded enormous soundstage with nice layering of soloists appearing to be in the foreground. Leontine Priice singing with Andre Previn provided sufficient intimacy between orchestra and piano without distortion on high notes.

    Nice Turntable at a nice price.

    Customer Service

    None required

    Similar Products Used: Linn LP 12 basic
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    LOUISA   AudioPhile [Jul 31, 2005]
    Weakness:

    POOR AFTER GUARANTEE REPAIRS, TOO COSTLY

    Music Hall Turntable. The foreign mfg makes a good product but the U.S.A imported does not stand by its product. Difficult to obtain customer service repair and then the cost are astronomical. THIS COMPANY IS RUN BY ONE MAN... DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THESE PRODUCTS, BUY FROM U.S. SOURCE LIKE EPI OR OTHERS.

    Similar Products Used: SUMIKO, EPI
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    fl_lomoore   AudioPhile [Feb 22, 2005]
    Strength:

    sound, set-up, it's beautiful, good value, RCA's,

    Weakness:

    thin felt mat, not the highest quality dust cover, metal pulley's gone.

    I just wanted to add some thoughts on this fine table. First of all the mmf-7 is very easy to set up. This is my first table purchase in 15 years. Art, of Genesis Audio, also sold me my last one. My intial impression of this table was very positive, but I did notice that the metal motor pulley has been replaced with a plastic one. This was fine until the tt developed a noticeable "ticking" sound on each revolution. The shaft on the motor was bent. I'm glad I bought it from Genisis. They took care of the problem to my satisfation. I love the sound of this table but be aware that it will no longer be available with a metal pulley.

    Similar Products Used: Linn Axis
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    cteffner   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2005]
    Strength:

    Very quiet, detailed sound, excellent lows. I don't buy too many CD's any more!

    Weakness:

    None

    Very afforadable table with great sound and easy interface. I use a Ortofon OM-20 cartridge and the Grado phono preamp. This all sits atop the Ginko Audio Cloud 10 isolation box, with an AudioQuest sorbothane mat.

    Similar Products Used: My 1st table in decades.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Peter Besenbruch   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2004]
    Strength:

    Smooth sounding and quiet turntable at a good price in the current market.

    Weakness:

    It took about an hour to set up. Operation is strictly manual. I miss automatic shut off.

    I purchased this table to replace a Thorens TD-190 with an Ortofon OM-40 cartridge. Like what others have reported, motor noise disappears, groove noise drops significantly. The MMF-7 costs as much as the rest of my system combined, but it is easy to hear the difference. I was surprised at how great the difference was. One other comment. Music Hall products have been dinged frequently for their poor documentation. I think the documentation has been redone. The multi-page booklet was well illustrated and clearly written.

    Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon T-20, Bang & Olufsen TX-2, Thorens TD-190
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Pierre Dupras   AudioPhile [Feb 25, 2003]
    Strength:

    An extremely adept foundation. The isolated motor, ceramic platform and wonderfully musical Goldring Eroica cartridge make for a wonderfully sounding turntable.

    Weakness:

    The MMF7 has no audible weaknesses. However, the blue light on the motor can be a bit bright and strainful on the eyes when down on it.

    A most enjoyable turntable that can bring your system to life and make CD seem like antiquated technology. Before even thinking of upgrading and spending more on another turntable or cartridge try the following low cost tweaks. You will discover why this turntable garners such rave reviews and is a true world-class product. 1) Place the table atop a 5/8" MDF board (24"x16") with rubber feet (I use 2"x 1/4" rubber disks, but I'm sure sorbathane hemispheres would work as well or better) to truely isolate the turntable from room vibrations. 2) Then replace the felt mat with a Ringmat Anniversary (much better than the regular Ringmats) mat. This will remove platter vibrations, open the soundstage and give you a low-cost world class turntable. Surprisingly, these tweaks are similar to what Music Hall has done with the MMF9.

    Similar Products Used: I tried the MMF5, but found the MM7 offered a far greater level of refinement at moderate increase in price.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 22  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com