LINN Basik TurnTables

Basik

Linn Basik Turntable

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Gino   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2010]

I bought a used Linn Basik turntable with a Linn Basik Plus arm in fall 2010. My cartridge is a Denon DL-110. What a musical machine it is! It performs better than a Rega Planar 2 with a J.A. Michell Tecnoarm, and it costs less! The main qualities of the Linn Basik are dynamism, warm atmosphere, firmness and smoothness. Some people say that the Linn Basik is less detailed than the Rega Planar 3. I don't agree with this argument because if you use a detailed cartridge such as a Denon DL-110, you will get plenty of details and nuances from the Linn Basik. The comparison between both turntables is easy to do, here is a suggestion. Listen to the album Procol Harum live with the Edmonton symphony orchestra on both turntables with the same cartridge. After your listening session, I am certain that you will choose the Linn. Regarding the arm, the Linn basik Plus is a great arm with no play or friction in its bearings. In all, the Linn Basik turntable is in my opinion an underrated turntable which deserves more respect for what it is really capable of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
davetruestory   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2009]

I but this TT in early 90's and even I tried others like Rega 2 and VIP 19 jr, I always return to the Basik. Mine have the Akito arm mounted, by the way I have used this tonearm with mc without a problem you only have to adjust the anti-skating to 75% of the tracking force. The sound of the Basik is laid back compare so cartridge that have recessed highs like the Grado turn to become boring in the long run. The TT preferred more accurate cartridges like Sumiko Blue Point, AT, and Denon.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
che999   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 18, 2004]
Strength:

sound for the price

Weakness:

parts and service

Maybe linn is the end of the world ,but everytime you have a problem, they sugested you to buy a new upgrade. i have a problem with the counterweight of a basik tonearm Linn sugestion: buy an akito

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Carlos Silva   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2000]
Strength:

Well balanced, communicative, natural sound

Weakness:

Bass could be purer

The Basik is a very natural sounding record player, capable of communicating all the important aspects of the music being played. It's very euphonic and unfussy, always sounding as if everything is ok. It is very easy on the ear.
It goes well with classical and jazz but I think it would also be good with rock and pop.
I have owned Thorens TD 166 II and 320 which are suspended subchassis and both were much more critical of the surface where they were siting than the Linn. I have used the Linn on a coffee table and on Target TT2 table, and although it presented differences it never really was too unhappy. Now it is siting on a Target AER3 rack with very satisfactory results and no problems.
The Linn is fuller sounding than the TD 166II and more communicative and easy on the ear than the Thorens TD320.
The weaker point is the bass, which could be purer. But even the bass is full , informative and pleasant sounding. Perhaps it isn't the ultimate record player in detail, but all the important things of the music are there.
My initial idea was to buy the Linn Axis but after listening to the two of them in my home I found the Basik was more musical and natural sounding (although it was the cheaper one and less praised by the press), the Axis being drier and colder.
My setup is Linn Basik/Akito/K9 - Rega Elex - Rega EL8

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Roger W.   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 1999]

Terrific sounding budget turntable with the stock Akito arm. It absolutely kills my $1000.00 cd player. Has no suspension to speak of, just three large rubber feet, a wall-mounted shelf is a necessity to keep from skipping. Try it with a Sumiko Blue Point Special (or other decent HO moving coil)and it really sings. The Linn catridge I originally bought with it sounded way too bloated in the bass. Not made anymore, but you can find a good used one if you look. Only quible I have is with the stock arm,the headshell is a bit too small for some of the larger body cartridges. Very simple manual belt-drive unit, build quality first rate. Worth 4 stars

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 10, 2000]
Strength:

Simple, Well Built, Full Rich Sound

Weakness:

Isolation

Using w/Arcam Amp , Linn 400 speaker wire, and Linn Index speakers. Very, very happy with this set-up. Have used this player for many years without any problems. Natural, detailed, dynamic, full-bodied sound. Good timing, but not hyper detailed or too "hi-fi" sounding.

The rega is probably the best player all-around player you can currently purchase new for under $1000, but I never could get into it. It had good 'boogie' and tightness, but always sounded too thin/lightweight or restrained for my taste. I think it is the glass platter. Sort of like the turntable equivalent to the Spica TC-50.

Major Problem w/ Basik: Very poor isolation -- no suspension. Its the diff between the LP12 and the Basik. Those 3 rubber footers do not do very much. This lack of isolation/suspension can cause real problems like skipping, muddy bass, noise, and loss of detail. I have used the table in a variety of configuations and set-ups over time. The differences due to isolation can be HUGE. Besides a wall shelf, the only thing that seems to really work is a stack of isolation levels (2-3) w/ vibrapods or AQ feet in between. The target rack I had for a while didn't do anything. Note that while I really like this little table, when you have to resort to oddball set-ups like wall-mounting or multi-layer isolation shelves to sound good, there is something wrong. Since this table is only available on the used market, I would definately recommend spending a little more on a used LP 12.

Similar Products Used: Dual CS 5000, Rega 2, Systemdek --, LP 12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joey Vela   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 1999]

I've had my Linn Basik w/Akito tonearm for a month now, and I finally know what it means to have a truly audiophile quality analog frontend. I got this deck used from an audiophile who was upgrading to a Sondek LP-12, and I only paid $400. It was a true steal. I installed a Grado Reference Platinum cartridge, and I was rewarded with the sonic pleasure of sweet highs, tight lows, ultra-wide soundstaging, and pin-point imaging. This setup completely blows away any and all digital that I have heard thus far, and I have heard some transport/DAC combos that cost well into the tens of thousands of dollars. The Akito tonearm is a beautiful piece of medium mass engineering that pairs well with the Grado like a beautiful marriage able to pull musical detail from deep within the vinyl grooves. This is also a very quiet deck although I don't know what the rumble spec is. Overall I am very pleased with this deck, and I look forward to years of more sonic pleasure...that is until I ever have the means to acquire a Sondek LP-12 w/Lingo power supply!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Chris Sturmer   Audiophile [May 21, 2001]
Strength:

Easy handling, tact & timing

Weakness:

Touchy installation

My dealer set up a "new" Linn Basik/ Akito for me from never-used spare parts, including an LP 12 bearing. After listening to it first, I thought it was wailing - but it was really the much-too-soft mounting. The player it so incredibly accurate, it immediately reveals all weaknesses of the ground. When your Linn dealer says: place it light and stable, he means VERY stable. I believe most Basiks with a soggy bass are just not placed right - I suggest using 18 mmm multiplex boards with screwed-in spikes (a good, affordable base for almost all HiFi products). At the moment, I am still trying to set up my chain for handling all the energy the Basik delivers! Also, it is far more musical than the P25 and just gives more realism to instruments and voices. With a decent pickup the Basik is good for astonishing listening fun!

Similar Products Used: Rega P25
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mark Coleman   Audiophile [Mar 10, 2000]
Strength:

A STEAL IF YOU CAN FIND ONE. THIS TURNTABLE RETAILED FOR $695.00 WITHOUT A CARTRIDGE, AND THIS IS WHAT TURNTABLES UNDER A $1000.00 ARE COMPARED.

Weakness:

NONE

EXCELLENT TURNTABLE WITH VERY OPEN SOUNDSTAGE. USE A HIGH QUALITY CARTRIDGE LIKE A BLUE POINT YOUR IN HEAVEN! VERY DETAILED WITH CRISP HIGHS AND SOLID TIGHT BASS. I HAVE HEARD ANOTHER TURNTABLES AROUND THE $800.00 TO $1500.00 PRICE AND I DON'T FEEL THEY COMPARE. IT'S NOT A LP12 BUT IS BETTER THAN THE AXIS MODEL. THIS UNIT NOT MADE ANYMORE IF YOU CAN FIND ONE GET IT CHECKED OUT AND IF THE TECH SAYS IT'S IN GOOD SHAPE YOU WOULD HAVE TO SPEND $1500.00 TO BEAT ITS SOUND!!!!!

Similar Products Used: NAD 7175 PREAMP
NAD 2100THX AMP
PHILIPS 980CD
AUDIOLAB 8000DAC
B&W N805
MIT TERMINATOR 2 SPKR CABLES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2000]
Strength:

Affordability

Weakness:

Muddy bass

I owned the Linn Basik, with Basik arm, for about three years. I used a Shure V15, Blue Point Special, and Grado Platinum on it. (At the time, I justified it because of the many $2r record sales that were feeding my growing record collection. CD's cost $5 from the cd club, and the turntable cost me $450. So after 150 records purchased, the table would be paid for). I had a Thoren 165, and Sansui 838 prior. The Linn is definitely better than those tables. However, when I needed to take the Linn in for service (some motor noises), I got a low end NAD table with Rega oem arm as a loaner, and some of its weak points were highlighted. The bass on the Linn is muddy compared to the NAD, which lists for half the price of the Linn!

I upgraded to a well-tempered classic, but if I had to do it over, I would go with one of the Rega's. The Planar 3 is a direct competitor, and is clearly better than the Linn Basik.

Similar Products Used: NAD (rega oem), Rega
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com