LINN Axis Turntable TurnTables

LINN Axis Turntable TurnTables 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Jan 29, 2019]
Tom Christiansen


Strength:

Poor man's LP12. The Linn Axis has about 90-95% of the sound quality of the the LP12/Sondek. On some bad recordings I actually prefer the Axis. Easily comparable to a Pro-Ject or VPI turntable in the $2000 range.

Weakness:

Lacks the resolution and build quality of an LP12. Motor speed isn't the most consistent.

Price Paid:
$600
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1988
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 03, 2014]
Jose Ricardo
Audio Enthusiast

I have a Linn Axis with Ittok LV II arm, ortofon MC capsule.
Had a Rega P3-24, but I forgot it after putting the Linn in my main set.
There was like leaving the watering side and not even be an LP12, Linn did not say that this makes me "dreaming" with an LP12. I have no springs or adjustments to worry about. As the level of the plinth and the platter is excencial and of course the perfect adjustment of the Ittok.
I am delighted and current sound made me review all my LPs with enthusiasm and admiration for the analog sound that it performs flawlessly Linn.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2009]
coffeedragon
Audio Enthusiast

linn axis

I bought my Linn Axis new back in the eighties, and it still amazes the cd-based guests who hear it. Recently fitted a new cartridge - an audiotechnica AT95E, which I believe is a very close relative of the Linn K9 - which is now settling in after 20 hours playing or so. Compared to a friend's LP12, it's a little light on the bass, but that's being picky. Frankly, the Axis makes it impossible to shell out on a Sondek if you are spending just for sound quality, the benefits are frankly marginal compared to the price differential unless you have a lounge like an audio testing laboratory. My Axis runs through a Rotel amp and a set of Wharfedales, I've never had the self-start motor issue. It sits on a strong set of system-racking spiked through to the floor, and produces a three dimensional sound stage of remarkable clarity and charm. Whether it's Amy Winehouse - yes you can get Amy on vinyl - with her emotion-laden vocals hovering in front of your nose, or the complexity of David Gilmore with full orchrstra Live in Gdansk swirling left and right, high and low, the Axis is always seems to make the speakers achieve the impossible. A guest once claimed he was sure there was a third speaker at the back of the room - and even went searching for it. In my opinion, a second-hand Axis, well looked after, has got to be amongst the most cost effective ways of discovering the real delights of music reproduction - no, you can't have mine. Gerroff.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2002]
John Stefani
AudioPhile

Strength:

Audiophile dollar stretcher. At the time, the Axis filled a gap in the table market between the budget Duals and the mega-buck tables like the Sondek, et al. It outperformed its own peers..and some more expensive units!

Weakness:

Power outage or flicker? 9 times out of 10 the turntable will start running. This is a logic problem that shouldn''t exist in an audiophile deck. But that is my ONLY complaint. I''m sure they ironed this problem out in later units -- hopefully!

Bought in ''87 for $900 CDN, included Basik+ tonearm and the Linn "Basik" cartridge (a throw-away, but great performer while cart lasted). Upgraded to Linn K-9 later with great results. This table works as good as the day I bought it over 15 years ago! Although they are no longer made, those looking for a good bet on the used market should watch for a well priced Axis.

Similar Products Used:

Dual 503, 1214.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2002]
Graeme Budd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Gets the feet tapping Price Ease of use Linn Service and Dealer network

Weakness:

Suspension

This was my 18th birthday present and all my friends thought i was mad getting a turntable. Now 9 years down the line and one complete Linn overhaul later it''s working better than ever. I would seriously recommend the Axis to a vinyl lover and anyone starting out (second hand prices are really cheap for such a product) Mine did go wrong after 4 years but Linn replaced all the internals foc and it came back better than ever. The guy who changed my last cartridge ( a Reson Reca incidently - buy one for your Axis NOW) is the designer from Living Voice and he reckoned it sounded better than most LP12s he''d heard. No it isn''t for sale. The only downsides are the less than brilliant suspension and the fact that you can hear the power supply (a conditioner and new mains cable will help but experiment before buying as they can also take away the deck''s dynamics) if you own a really serious system. Soundwise it aligns with Linn Virtues - great timing and musicality. Top end and Imaging are also good. Bass - difficult to tell -my system doesn''t go that low but it certainly does the business on electronic music

Similar Products Used:

Rega Planar 3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 18, 2000]
David Shiffman
Casual Listener

Strength:

Great sound, easy set-up, quality construction

Weakness:

Price (when new in 1989. the "product year" box didn't go back that far!)

I bought this turntable in the spring of 1988. (Spending about $900 while unemployed and living in the home of my then future in-laws!) While perhaps not the most considerate decision I've ever made, it was a very good one in retrospect.

This has been an absolutely bullet-proof turntable, still delivering good sound today after having moved with it four times. (No the movers never touched it and, yes, I kept all the original packaging.) Other than cartridge replacement, the only thing it has ever needed was to replace one hinge on the dust cover this year, for about $20.

Anyone looking for a budget table, should be looking for a used one (no, mine isn't for sale). One key thing is to make sure that all the original packaging is there (the packing box has a detailed diagram of all the packing components!), both to take it home and as an indication that has received reasonable care.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2000]
Wayne
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Typical Linn sound. Awesome value.

Weakness:

Self starting motor is an oddity. A good power conditioner clears that up, though.

I purchased mine in 1989 when they first came out. It still performs as solid as it did back then. I had a Naim Nait and Linn Index speakers as well. For a true music loving college student, this was an excellent starter system that was able to extract incredible amounts of information off the vinyl. I used to love comparing my system to my friends newer, digital CD-based system which cost about 4 times more, and watch their eyes bug out in disbelief, as they heard detail from my Axis that their systems completely missed. Musicality at a budget price is the best to describe it. "Gets your toe tapping" to really ENJOY the MUSIC.

Unfortunately, we now have a baby, and my (ie+ my wife's) priorities are different, so I am selling it. Anyone interested?

Similar Products Used:

Rega Planar

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 21, 2000]
deadjune
Audiophile

Strength:

detailed and musical sound

Weakness:

needs some more isolation in high volumes

Well ,this could be a real revelation for an entry level stereophile.Especially if you find a second hand bargain like my Axis.Allright,it my seam expensive to those
used in buying Japanese "toasters"and maybe it is the poor baby brother for the HiEnd freaks,still I can't find something better in the immediate competition.But with one addition:the Roksan Tabriz-Zi tonearm.Though it is less than half the price of a new Akito,I think is one of the best tonearms regardless of price.The adaptation may need some skill,but the result is pure Musical bliss.The Axis deserves a very good tonearm,and after trying also the original Akito I'm sure that the Tabriz sounds far better.
The system unveils it's great rythmic capabilities better
accompanied by a good MM cartridge(rather than a difficult MC)such as the Roksan Chorus,the twin Goldring 1042,or the Ortofon 540.Take under consider that for perfect performance in high volume it needs some extra isolation, so your mum's old bookselve is no such a good idea.I custom made a base with a sandwitch of wood-rubber-crystal on steel cones and seems to work fine.My Axis-Tabriz-Ortofon 540 system,followed by an Audiolab 8000A and a pair of Acoustic Energy 109 gives a blush of shame to many $3500+
CD-based systems.An analog reader of a new class.Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used:

Pro-ject 2,Rega 2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 21, 2000]
deadjune
Audiophile

Strength:

detailed and musical sound

Weakness:

needs some more isolation in high volumes

Well ,this could be a real revelation for an entry level stereophile.Especially if you find a second hand bargain like my Axis.Allright,it my seam expensive to those
used in buying Japanese "toasters"and maybe it is the poor baby brother for the HiEnd freaks,still I can't find something better in the immediate competition.But with one addition:the Roksan Tabriz-Zi tonearm.Though it is less than half the price of a new Akito,I think is one of the best tonearms regardless of price.The adaptation may need some skill,but the result is pure Musical bliss.The Axis deserves a very good tonearm,and after trying also the original Akito I'm sure that the Tabriz sounds far better.
The system unveils it's great rythmic capabilities better
accompanied by a good MM cartridge(rather than a difficult MC)such as the Roksan Chorus,the twin Goldring 1042,or the Ortofon 540.Take under consider that for perfect performance in high volume it needs some extra isolation, so your mum's old bookselve is no such a good idea.I custom made a base with a sandwitch of wood-rubber-crystal on steel cones and seems to work fine.My Axis-Tabriz-Ortofon 540 system,followed by an Audiolab 8000A and a pair of Acoustic Energy 109 gives a blush of shame to many $3500+
CD-based systems.An analog reader of a new class.Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used:

Pro-ject 2,Rega 2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 21, 2001]
Jon
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very musical, and supremely reliable

Weakness:

Poor isolation

This turntable has brought me lots of pleasure since I bought it in the late 80's. Although it's no longer in production, it can be found second-hand. This is a very reliable, good sounding turntable. I've brought mine on a tour over the last 13 years - from England to Norway,U.S.A, Mozambique, and then back here in the U.SA. I recently replaced the motor, and had a general service... that's the least I could do to an old friend. I've used an Audio Technica AT-OC9 from the start - great combination!
My Linn Axis has outlived an Incha-Teach and a Reaga amplifer, and has performed well with a range of speakers.
My current set-up is: Quad 77 pre& (much under-rated), Quad 77 CD, and Proac 2000 Signature with Rel Strata II sub-woofer. It's a great combination for the wide range of music I like to play. The turntable shines after the recent service, so I choose LPs over CDs when I can find them!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com