Denon DP 60L TurnTables

Denon DP 60L TurnTables 

DESCRIPTION

Classic Direct Drive Turntable from Denon. no longer in production.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jul 27, 2020]
Breana


Strength:

I just bought mine, so far it's working good. Winch-Out Service

Weakness:

I'll just give an update after several days of using it if there's some problem.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jun 24, 2020]
crobinso


Strength:

Very good table with exchangeable tonearms for a variety of cartridge weights and compliance’s It’s also one of the nicest looking tables for the money and is as good now as it was in 1980 when it was purchased.

Weakness:

Not the best in isolation and the tonearm is probably the weak point from a Sonics standpoint. I also had a CJ walker with a mag arm that sounded better but this table is more of a joy.

Price Paid:
600
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1980
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Feb 26, 2020]
LUCIm


Strength:

I just can't say enough about this table. it is truly an audio enthusiast dream in all respects. I purchased mine 5 years ago in mint shape on eBay and haven't looked back. Everything about it is outstanding, from the dead silent motor to the interchangeable tonearm tubes. They just don't build them with this kind of quality and craftsmanship anymore. At 27lbs it is solid. The speed of the platter is bang on and unwavering. I have other quality turntables but I always seem to come back to this one. Currently, I have a Denon DL 103R mounted on the S arm and I am constantly amazed at how accurate and full the sound reproduction is with the DP-60L and DL103R combination, in my mind, a match made in heaven. If the opportunity arises to purchase one of these units, I couldn't recommend it more! best micro atx case

Weakness:

The arm although nice is the weak point, and could be improved on.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2020]
logancooper501


Strength:

If you are looking for one of the Denon 'saucer' turntables from the late 70s early 80s this is the one to get. Garret │ tax attorney columbus ohio

Weakness:

Nothing to detract from the source.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 19, 2020]
ronfuller


Strength:

This is the tank of TTs. I like the vintage wood look. Although, if I find a nice piece of exotic hardwood, I may built a new Plinth. This is MY deck, I'm gonna rock steady. I like the auto arm lift and stop at the end of play. And of course the smooth push button arm drop at start.

Weakness:

Actual OEM parts availability is weak

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1982
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 28, 2017]
Greg
Audio Enthusiast

Just to correct pmurphy's comment below, the DP-60L and M were actually produced well before the DP-59L and M. The DP-60 series were launched in 1980 compared to 1984 for the 59 series. In terms of level, they were both similar and neither was the top or bottom of their line of turntables.

The 59M and L came in a heavier plinth and had an electronically controlled tonearm (similar to the 57 series).

In terms of performance, there is little to choose between them but I prefer the appearance of the 60 series and the lower risk of failure associated with a non-electronic tonearm. Either way, both exceptional turntables and would kick most of today's sub-$2k turntables to the kerb.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2014]
Philip van Tonder
Audio Enthusiast

I own a Linn Axis with Sumiko Pearl cartridge, a Duel 505-2 with an Ortofon 5e cartridge and i recently purchased a Denon DP60L on which i put an Ortofon 2M Red cartridge. The Duel is what i listen to a lot . Then when i want to treat myself i play either the Linn or the Denon, depending on what music i am in the mood for. I must admit, the Denon is steeling my heart over my Linn. It looks the part and it sounds amazing. I love this turntable.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 10, 2014]
pmurphy@aol.com
AudioPhile

Actually the DP 60l was produced after the DP 59l. The 59l was the top of the line 50 series and the 60l was the bottom of the line 60 series.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 02, 2010]
Axel Dettmer
Audio Enthusiast

I once bought a DP60L to replace a Dual 721 and owned it for several years.
As other reviewers wrote the DP60L is a solid build directdrive deck of high
quality and high flexibility regarding to cartridges thanks to the interchangeable
armpipes with different effective masses.
Later Denon Models are somewhat lowered in buildquality (f.e. DP59) despite
similar looks and features.
The time i used this deck i was satiesfied with it. However i cant say it was
definitly better than my former 721 but it has surely more "hifi-gloria".
In retrospect after having owned a bunch of big jap decks of the golden era and
some the DP60L was one of the best decks ive owned. Sadly they build them
not like that anymore and cheap plastic crap took over long ago.


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 16, 2007]
Mark Williams
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

-Versatile, ability to swap tone arms easily, also many fine tuning adjustments
-Dead silent motor, super accurate quartz locl
-Built to last, quality constucted, solid wood cabinet
-Contactless shut off and tonearm loft
- Minimal vibration through sheer mass ( 33 LBS) of unit and large levelling feet

Weakness:

Lighter than expected platter (not a weakness to me but might be to some).

Quality is the word that best describes the DP 60L. Manufactured in 1980, my DP 60L looks and runs as if it just came out of the box. Cosmetically, the unit is a visual showpiece. The dustcover is sturdy with adjustable tenion hinges. The case is solid wood with a glossy rosewood veneer finish.
Mechanically, you will be hard pressed to find a machine that treats your records and your ears as well. The DP 60L is loaded with fine tuning adjustments to enhance your listening experience. Other than the usual anti-skate and stylus pressure adjustments, you can also adjust arm height, arm lift height, lead out adjustment and interchange straight for "S" style tonearms. The platter could be a little heaviier, however, the sheer weight of the entire unit (33LBS) coupled with a dead quiet, quartz locked motor provide for very low "wow and Flutter" and vibration specs.
This is a fully manual table which is best for minimizing record and stylus wear which means there are no mechanics (motor) connected to the horizontal movement of the tonearm. A peave of mine regarding manual tables is that you have to manually lift the arm off the record when it finishes. Not so with the DP 60L. The system employs a contactless arm lift and shutoff system when the record ends. This is done through the use of a sensor which can be adjusted if necesary with "lead out" adjustment screw.
As the system comes with 2 tone arms, it allows you to experiment more freely with different cartridges to further enhance your listening experience. Currently, I am using a Denon DL110 in the straight arm and a Grado Silver cartridge in the "S" shaped arm.
These units are becoming more and hard to find but if you keep an eye out on E-bay, one will eventually turn up so get ready to place your bid. Overall this turntable will satisfy the tastes of most analogue audiophile enthusiasts. I personally could not be more satisfied.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com