Bang & Olufsen Beogram 1800 TurnTables

Bang & Olufsen Beogram 1800 TurnTables 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Feb 15, 2017]
Ron McPike
AudioPhile

Tbe B&O 1800 Turntable is as killer now as when l got it in the early 80's. Still on original Cartridge & Stylus, tracks & sounds great. You can even take the tonearm & scratch it back & forth over the record & not scratch the record. Plays warped & scratched records & sounds great, can not say enough good about this turntable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2006]
mike
Casual Listener

Strength:

Sounds like a lapdance

Weakness:

No manual or support

I bought a used Beoworld RX and the needle sits down about a half inch short of the vinyl. Does anyone know how to adjust the tonearm drop? I waited for months for the SoundSmith stylus and woudl like to get this thing moving. Right
now I have to stand... it sounds fine, but right now I would perfer my Dual.
Thanks

Customer Service

Non existant

Similar Products Used:

Dual 1257

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 27, 2003]
Bob S
AudioPhile

Strength:

Incredible sound and technology--when it worked.

Weakness:

Destroyed LPs

An amazing product when I first bought it (early eighties): pristine sound, no rumble or wow, virtually no distortion or gram weight, absolutely best isolation I'd found for belt-driven. Wonderful for taping: the mechanism would drop the tonearm in exactly the same place every time, so you could time the start of the first song on a side with surgical precision. Only one problem: the tonearm up and began to decide, near the end of a side, to just suddenly SCRAPE BACK ACROSS THE RECORD!! and come to a halt limply next to the platter. Multiple visits to two different B&O-certified service shops couldn't fix the problem, and as it had _just_ gone out of warranty (what a surprise), finally stopped throwing good money after bad and got a Garrard.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 09, 2002]
Jim
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound quality, ease of use, cost.

Weakness:

Discontinued by B&O.

This is a great turntable that reproduces warm, well-defined and natural sounding music. With a B&O MMC2 cartridge, far from Ty's description in the review below, the result is fine soundstage imaging, quick response and good definition across the board. These TT's and cartridges give you hi-fidelity reproduction without having to break the bank. Another good point about the B&O table is its ability track extremely well. Because of its low mass tone arm, cartridge and minimal tracking force requirements, it tracks used and mildly warped vinyl better than higher end tables that I've heard. It is unfortunate, therefore, given the many positive attributes of the B&O turntables, that they are no longer manufactured or supported by B&O, though you can still buy new replacement cartridges.

Similar Products Used:

Music Hall, Entry level Rega

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2002]
storms_echo
Audio Enthusiast

Not sure why Ty would rate this turn table a 1. This is a good table for value and overall a 3 or 4 leaning towards the 4 but certainly not a 1. Give me a break...Good sound stage...simple operation...brings life back to vinyl...I prefer to listen to LP''s rather then my cd collection...To me that certainly deserves a better rating than 1. I will give it 5 stars all around to counter the snob below....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 17, 2002]
Ty
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Styling

Weakness:

Sound

If you buy Bang & Olufsen products, you more than likely buy with your eyes and not with your ears. This table is very, very poor- gobs of plastic and a flimsy tone arm contribute to massive sonic confusion. Save your money and buy a Rega P3.

Similar Products Used:

Rega P3, Linn LP 12, Oracle Delphi.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 18, 2001]
Dennis Wiesnoski
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful example of industrial product design. Sleek, compact. Very user friendly ergonomics

Weakness:

Less than audiophile performance with significant turntable rumble present. B&O cartridges are the only option to use.

Beautiful example of industrial product design. Sleek, compact. Very user friendly ergonomics. Less than audiophile performance with significant turntable rumble present. B&O cartridges are the only option to use. Looks terrific on the shelf, but less than ideal coming out of the speakers

Similar Products Used:

Garrard, Kenwood turntables

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 20, 2000]
Jon Close
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sleek and stylish, impervious to vibration, well integrated arm/cartridge, super cartridge.

Weakness:

cannot fine tune speed for variations in current, but very accurate nonetheless. S/N not as great as direct drive.

I love this turntable. It's not exotic, and not particularly heavy, but works beautifully. You can drop the dust cover or pound your fist on the shelf on which it rests and it won't skip, even with the tonearm set to only 1.1g. And the B&O cartridges are fantastic. My records never sounded better.

Similar Products Used:

B*I*C, Technics, Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2002]
D.I. Heron
Audiophile

Strength:

Sub-chasis suspension, Smooth sound. And that style... very high WAF (wife-acceptance factor)

Weakness:

Fragile, some key parts are plastic.

Got it free, as it had suffered some damage. Most seriously, the tonearm mount was broken. After reglueing the mount, resoldering the wiring, and doing a general CLA (clean,lubricate, adjust), I fitted an MMC-4 cartridge. Immediately the sound captivated me: very smooth high-end, solid well-controlled bass, and tight image. It really brings out the best that your records have to offer. The styling is drop-dead gorgeous, and it is so easy to use, just one button most of the time! And nothing short of an earthquake will make it skip.
Still, underneath the aluminum top-plate, most of the construction is plastic, even down to the knife-edge bearings on the tonearm. It must be treated very carefully. If it were more robust, it would be the perfect turntable.

Similar Products Used:

Empire, Yamaha, Denon, Technics

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 02, 2001]
Paul Martin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good over all performance. The guy below has a grounding problem. The problem lies in the walls, the components he`s grounding the turntable to, or the turntable itself. I purchase the unit many years ago at a local shop. A few months ago I pulled the unit from my basement with some old recordings. I was surprised of the sound quality! I dusted off the old records, and placed the turntable on top of the rack. I invested in a new belt and Moving Micro Cross...MMC-4 ($102.00) cartridge (set at 1.2 grames). The purchase put new life back into the unit after 5 years in storage, and brought me smiles after years of retirement. After all; "The Guess Who- Live at the Paramount", and a few others in my collection have been out of print long before CD`s ever came to be!

Weakness:

You can only purchase the proprietary Moving Micro Cross cartridges. Only the MMC-4 and MMC-2 are still available. MMC-5, MMC-3, and MMC-1 are on longer available.

Great turntable if you find one working. If you do...change the belt and purchase a new MMC cartridge for it. I have had no problems with the one I purchase many years ago. It has brought a smile to my face after years of storage! Now it sits once again on top of my rack!Lucky.....maybe.....just take good care of it!

Similar Products Used:

B & O RX-2, Same sound quality as a MMF 2.1 Music Hall table with Goldring Elan cartridge ($300.00 with cartridge).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com