Aiwa PX-E860 Turntable TurnTables

PX-E860 Turntable

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Recordfan   Casual Listener [Apr 16, 2012]

My neutral ratings (3) are not actual reviews since I can't get the signal amplified. I've tried connected it to my TV, to a bookshelf-type rack system, to a receiver that has no phono input and even one that does. I bought it used last week, so maybe some part of it is shot (the built-in pre-amp maybe). Any ideas? The rest of the operation seems fine. I can hear the music when the needle's in the groove but obviously can't enjoy it at zero volume.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Jeff Clinton   Casual Listener [Sep 30, 2008]
Strength:

It's nice looking and seemed like a perfect fit with the Aiwa mini system.

Weakness:

It did not last past a dozen or so uses.

I gave this product to my aged parents for their Aiwa mini system. They probably used it a dozen times over the course of a year and then it no longer functioned. No power - no movement - no nothing. Do yourself a favor and don't consider buying this.

If I could have chosen zero stars for the ratings I would have.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer turntable from 1970s - this still works fine.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
purplelinny   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 05, 2002]

The amount paid was £40 - UK price. This is an excellent value piece of kit. Fully automatic with nothing to worry about. As an oldies collector, this has been perfectly acceptable for my needs. It's pre-amp allowing me to plug into my PC is just another bonus!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
manolis   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 04, 2002]
Strength:

built in amplifier smooth appearance fully automatic

Weakness:

ok,it is a cheap manufacture,but then so beautiful.

the end of irrationalism. well what do you need a turntable for? to play records.well this is exactly what you''re looking for.a great neat record player.Its a cheap plastic manufacture,however this is what makes this Aiwa turntable so beautiful. Besides its appearance,it is a great turntable.Its fully automatic.There are buttons for: Start - Cut Raise needle 33-45 12"-7" of course you can do everything manually too. But here we come to its great feature in my opinion. This turntable has an internal amplifier something that makes it possible to connect it to sources that Dont have phono line-in(such as mini hifis) so you can connect it Anywhere. This is the turntable for anyone who just wants to listen to records easily. and its quite cheap! (I got it for 60$)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
STEPHEN O'SHEA   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2000]
Strength:

CHERPY CHERPY CHEEP CHEEP + CAME IN IT'S OWN BOX!

Weakness:

BUILT IN PRE-AMP NOT THAT GOOD, BUT NOT ACTUALLY THAT BAD

It's a shiny happy chicken just waiting to make some noise, I am a cheap person cheap things make me smile, but this is actually quite good, I bought it in a sale for £30 so I wasn't wasting to much money if it was rubbish. If I was to be very critical It is a bit plasticy but that does tend to be the case till you hit about £200 the pre-amp should be avoided if poss but otherwise kicks out quite a good tune, I am playing it through last years rotel ra931 amp into a pair of KEF co-da 8s and QED cable and it fits quite well.
PS CDs are the devil's coasters..

Similar Products Used: MOST DECKS MADE IN THE LAST 20 YEARS THAT DON'T COST TO MUCH
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
uphallee maniam   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2001]

anything

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2001]

This is a basic turntable that is good for anyone who just wants to play records. This thing is almost all plastic, but it's not really cheap plastic. The set up is a little complex, but nothing anyone should worry about. It sounds great and it is really easy to use (One button can do everything). This is a great value compared to similarly priced Sony and Kenwood models.

Similar Products Used: DJ-abused Technics SL-11 (bought used for $25)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jonathan Weston   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2000]
Strength:

CHEAP! $109.99 from www.soundsfine.com Sounds fine to me. Built-in preamp (disablable). Did I mention cheap?

Weakness:

Belt slips easy, weak motor, hard to get the platter to spin 100% level, nearly all-plastic construction, cartridge not changeable (just the needle cartridge/stylus/whatever.. that cheap little $5 thing), the start button sucks, cut takes a while, once in a while the arm will return as soon as or before you put it on the record (especially 5" records and under), which I guess is common of most automatic return turntables.

OK, so this is really a review of the Aiwa PX-E855, but the only difference between an E855 and an E860 is the color.

One word: VALUE!

I'm not an audiophile or anything. I even enjoy listening to my records through my computer speakers. The built-in preamp makes this so simple it's stupid. This may not be the #1 record player in the world, but it should be plenty for most casual listeners, and is (at the moment) good enough for me. I've recommended this turntable to several of my friends, and a few have bought them. Not one has complained yet.

I'd like some input from some fellow punks, some people who can't bear listening to classical music. What kind of turntables do you use? Are you happy with them? How much did they cost?

Guitars are meant to be plugged in.

Remember, www.soundsfine.com, and tell them Jonathan Weston sent you. Oh yeah, and I think they offer free shipping on orders over $60.

If you're looking for a sub-$150 turntable to LISTEN TO MUSIC ON, this is the turntable for you. Why spend $50,000+ on a stereo if your records are too rare, valuable, and fragile to listen to on it? Honestly. I don't know what I'd be more afraid of: damaging the equipment or my super-rare one-of-a-kind Marvin Gaye LP. But then, punk is cheap, so what do I care? I don't care nuttin'. If I scratch my record, I'll go buy another. If I blow up my speakers or my subwoofer shakes my turntable off my desk, so be it. I won't be out a second mortgage.

* StArSeEd watches everyone scream in agony as he lights a mint monaural Beatles - Please Please Me test pressing ablaze with a Zippo.

My 'rig':
Aiwa CX-NMT50 (5-speaker prologic) Mini-Theater $300
Aiwa TS-W50 Subwoofer $150
Aiwa PX-E855 Turntable $110
-------------------------------------------------------
Total Wallet Damage $560

And I guarantee my vinyl-sourced MP3's sound better than yours.

*subliminal message* www.soundsfine.com *subliminal message*

Peace. Cuz war sucks.

DISCLAIMIER: I do not own nor work for soundsfine. I am simply a very satisfied customer who believes that those with similar tastes and financial restraints would receive great enjoyment from Aiwa's turntables with a very small investment, and soundsfine helps reduce this investment further by offering them at the best price that I've seen.

Similar Products Used: None. This is what I wanted, and this is what I bought. I'm happy with it.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin Haag   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2000]
Strength:

good sound for the price

Weakness:

takes too long to startup

overall a nice turntable for the beginner who just wants to play records.If you have a mini system and dont have a phono plug then this is the turntable for you.

Similar Products Used: Teac PA-688
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com