Yamaha RX-770 Receivers

RX-770

  • 4 AUDIO AND 2A/V INPUTS
  • 34 KEY SYSTEM REMOTE CONTROL
  • A/B SPEAKER SELECTOR

  • User Reviews (18)

    Showing 1-10 of 18  
    Gennadiy   AudioPhile [Nov 07, 2011]

    A lot of power, but sound is too bright. It doesn't fit for high quality music, high quality records. For original price 550.00 receiver should be more musical. Because of that-overall rating-only 4.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    clint grainger   AudioPhile [Aug 26, 2011]

    i love this amp it never dies it keeps up with anything i put through

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Mark   AudioPhile [Sep 05, 2002]
    Strength:

    This is by far the best tuner I have heard for long range reception. There is no local FM where I live and the tuner section in this makes long distance reception not even an issue anymore. The pre and power amp sections also sound great. I am using it with a pair of British IMF TLS50 speakers that reveal the flaws in almost every component I have used with them except this. The bass is very accurate and the overall sound of this receiver is smooth,accurate and powerful. It puts all other receivers and integrated amps I have heard to with the IMF's to shame. Previously I had used Denon and Harman Kardon integrated amps with the IMF's but it would always sound boomy and shrill. It's one of the smoothest solid state set ups I have heard ,similar to an NAD integrated amp I have set up downstairs.

    Weakness:

    I prefer knobs for tuning in stations but the presets make that not a problem.

    What a surprise!! I found mine in a thrift store with a pair of ADS M12 towers for 150 dollars.No remote though. I planned to sell the ADS and didn't even think the Yamaha worked because the pure direct function was on and I didnt think the balance knob worked among other things. But this thing surprises me every day since I hooked it up at home (see below).

    Similar Products Used: Advent 300 receiver ,Nad 3150 integrated Amp
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Thornton DeRosa   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 30, 2001]
    Strength:

    clean power, solidly built, decent looks

    Weakness:

    as a pretty powerful mid fi receiver - nothing

    I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that this Yamaha stands a bit above similar products I have heard over the years. In Pure Direct mode it has a relaxed, smooth, very listenable sound that tends just slightly to the brighter side. Nothing harsh and certainly much more musical than corresponding Sony, HK, JVC, Denon or Marantz gear.

    The RX 770 easily powers dynamic speakers to house rocking levels with nominal harshness. The amp mates well with less efficient, warmer sounding speakers but really does fine with just about anything. I recently hooked it up to some PSB Alpha Minis, and the sound was amazing, very musical. The Yamaha gets a little winded driving my Magnepans at high levels, but sounds great at reasonable volume. Normal hookup is to some KEF Coda 8, which also works well.

    The tuner is decent, though not quite up to the standards of (much more expensive) NAD receivers. Auto tuning is not sensitive enough, though it's easy to tune manually.

    This thing is rugged. It still delivers great sound despite two overseas moves, sometimes negligent handling and a pretty constant sonic flogging over the past four years.

    The RX 770 would be an excellent used buy for a killer two channel system. It makes inexpensive speakers sound very full and alive, and it will do justice to expensive gear. Though it's not my taste, it would do a great job blasting bass heavy floor standers.

    With Bill McNew's addition of a tube pre-amp you are closing in on audiophile territory. If you see a used one for sale, check it out.

    Similar Products Used: NAD, Marantz, Dynaco, Hafler, Harmon Kardon
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    dub   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2000]
    Strength:

    soundstage,detail,warmth(as oppossed to sony/denon brightness),pre-amp,effotless sound!

    Weakness:

    pre-amp/main-in

    This is one serious product by Yamaha. Not their typical mid-range slap-happy component. I purchased the 770 after a lenghty search for a quality integrated amp, that would be upgradable. I listened, and I listened. I had all my reference disk's/record's with me night and day for 3-4 months just in case I felt up to a listening session at the nearest audio palace.Well it came down to the 770 or a 100 watt version by Rotel, and let me say I would have easily pluncked down the extra green if the Rotel wasn't that little extra harsh/bright.The 770 is extremely detailed, with all the "air" around horns and vocalists alike, but with a friendly warmth to it.I has loads of features, but I generally listen with the "pure direct" switch on,that by-passes the pre-out/main in(this is my only negative because of the fact that by-passing the pre-out negates the great pure direct sound when anding an amp/or powered sub).I generally listen to Blue Note jazz, as well as classical;some occasional blues as well.I would also like to add that I have had NOT ONE hick-up in its many hours of abuse either.The 85 watts rms/channel is really closer to 100 watts in to 8ohms.
    My system:
    Yamaha rx 770
    Yamaha kxw595 cassete player/Nordost Blue Heaven 1m
    Rega planet cd player/Nordost Blue Heaven 1m
    Rega Planar 25/Rb 900/Grado Reference/XLO interconnect
    Polk rt2000p/Blue Heaven 3m/Audioquest 2inch CV-4 jumper between posts(mid/high-bass)
    Black Racing under all!!!!(except the Polks)

    Similar Products Used: Rotel/Sansui/Onkyo...auditioned all under the sun and moon!
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2001]
    Strength:

    Build quality, great stereo separation, great sound quality.

    Weakness:

    highs a little bright

    I have owned this receiver for more than five years and it has been perfect. The sound is excellent for the price and very hard to beat. No mid-fi, even other Yamaha mid-priced amps come close to this receiver. You have to buy expensive separates to surpass the overall sound quality and just think of the money you can save on interconnects with the tuner and pre-amp built in. If you want to save yourself a lot of time and money, buy a RX-770, it is hard to beat for under $1000 and it will last forever.

    System:
    NHT 2.5
    Yamaha RX770
    Sony CDP-735 cd
    Yamaha S5270 DVD

    Similar Products Used: Carver TFM15, Yamaha AX-550, B&K ST140, misc. mid-fi.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    David Deratany   Audiophile [Oct 28, 2001]
    Strength:

    Enormous power, very high damping factor, extremely low distortion, pre-amp out/power amp in, ability to record from one input while listening to another

    Weakness:

    AM reception, can't use tone circuit bypass when using preamp out

    This is a high end, well designed two channel (stereo) unit, not simply a higher power version of Yamaha's other models, and it dispelled any notions I ever had about solid state being inherently inferior to tubes. I had been biamping a pair of Altec 604b's with a pair of completely renewed DYNA ST 70's and using the Yam just for tuner and preamp and remote, but the power amp section of the Yam turned out to be noticeably better in every way - cleaner, deeper and tighter bass, much better definition and transparency - than the DYNA powering the low frequency drivers, and the DYNAS are highly regarded amplifiers. I didn't compare it with the DYNA on the hf drivers as I see some virtue in using tubes for the horns. I plan to keep it for the duration. Almost tempted to buy one as a spare.

    Similar Products Used: None that comes close. I had a SONY DE 135 as an interim receiver, and thought that my speakers distorted in the bass at high volume levels. Turned out it was the SONY.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    tim   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 26, 2001]
    Strength:

    very clear sound, loudness control, lots of power for only 85watts

    Weakness:

    none at all

    this is the best reciever that ive seen in a long time. i got a great deal on this. i paid $62.00 for this it is in great shape the only thing that was wrong with it was the display light was out. i paid $50.00 to fix that.($45.00 of that was labor). and now it's just like new. i see these still selling online for $200.00 to $300.00 used. and they are worth every penny. if you get a chance to grab one of these dont waste any time or think twice.pounce on it....
    this is what i run...
    yamaha rx-770
    yamaha cdc-575
    yamaha dsp-e390
    infinity rs5's
    infinity rs3's
    infinity cc-1

    Similar Products Used: onkyo a-sv620& denon
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Christian Johannesen   an Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 1998]

    I had purchased a NAD amp/preamp, which I was happy with for a while, the problem is they were used, and the previous owner had abused them. I finally decieded that I wanted to get a new amp/preamp, but I didnt want to spend lots of money. The alternative was to get a really good Sterio Reciver. The Yamaha RX-770 was that component, its simple, it doesnt have all the Dolby Features that most people dont need, making it a more clean sounding reciver. It powers my handcrafted speakers with audax woofers, and morel midranges perfectly. It also emits no distortion, all you hear is music.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    Jeff C.   an Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 1998]

    I have had the 770 for about two months, and I'm very pleased. Over the years I've had receivers and seperates from Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Denon. This is by far the cleanest amp section I've owned. I have an outboard Yamaha DSP unit, so I didn't want an A/V/ type receiver, with their muddied amp layout and glitzy surround circuits. This is a bare-bones, no nonsense receiver that delivers outstanding sound.
    I hand built my speakers in 1977, and they are very low efficiency. The 770 drives them effortlessly.

    If I had to find one negative, it would be that the display is a subtle orange color, and is sometimes hard to read clearly.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    Showing 1-10 of 18  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com