Sony STR-DE545 Receivers

STR-DE545

With Sony's STR-DE545 driving your A/V system, you're in store for all the thrills digital home theater has to offer! This A/V receiver has super-precise, 24-bit processing built in for Dolby Digital and DTS. Pop in a 5.1-channel DVD and find out what the fuss is all about! This Sony also has the Dolby Pro Logic decoding you need to experience multichannel surround sound from sources like a HiFi VCR or stereo TV. With 100 watts per channel in stereo mode, or 100 watts x 5 in home theater mode, you get the multichannel power you need for sonic clarity, realism, and impact. Speaking of realism, the 'DE545's built-in Digital Signal Processing includes Digital Cinema Sound exclusive soundfield circuitry based on acoustic measurements made at Sony Pictures Studios movie production stages. You'll hear movie soundtracks the way the producers and directors intended! When it comes to connections, the STR-DE545 has you covered. You get 3 inputs for digital sources (2 optical, 1 coaxial), 3 A/V inputs (including one S-video, and one 5.1-channel input) plus 3 inputs for your audio-only sources. A second set of main speaker outputs means you can wire a deck, patio, or separate room for stereo sound

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
jack ryan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2007]

One of the best receivers I've had. Awesome sound quality with ability to control each an every output. You can design it to produce the kind of surround you want in your room setting.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
txsmoke   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2007]
Strength:

Can be found cheap.

Weakness:

Problematic.

For those of you experiencing the Protect mode on this unit. These Sonys (and several others from this era) are notorious for bad grounds internally. The circuit boards use the chassis as a power supply ground point and over time the screws that attach the boards to the mount points can work loose and cause various problems. I believe there are 4-5 points on various boards that act as ground. I made a small wire with several crimp connectors and connected all of the points to each other and the ground point on the power supply. Flawless operation ever since (the unit worked intermittently when I got it out of the dumpster). This could also be the cure for the units with hiss.

Nice unit, by the way. Very pleased, and I am not a Sony fan.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, NAD, Yamaha, Fosgate Audionics, Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2007]
Strength:

This reciever has excellent sound quality for the price. I was shocked when I hooked it up to my speakers, which at the time weren't anything special. There are many features on this reciever to tweak how you want it to sound and the 5.1 is excellent. If you aren't in the market for an expensive reciever, but you want a great sounding piece of equipment, this is for you.

Weakness:

Personally I haven't had any complaints about this reciever. I have not had any problems with the 'protect' problem that other people have complained about, which leads me to believe that they have a flaw that needs to be fixed in their recievers. The only issue I've had is that my speaker 'a' switch is starting to go bad. Every now and then, my 'a' channel will shut off and if I tap the top of the reciever it will come back on. I have had the reciever for a while now (at least 5 years) and this just started and isn't something that happens often.

I purchased my Sony DE545 a little over 5 years ago (I believe it's been that long, maybe longer) and haven't felt the need to get anything better yet. This reciever offers superb sound quality and performance for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
delen.michel   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2007]

I am the guide to missing for this toestel where I can find that sony digital audio/vidio control center hom cinema sound processing-24 bit

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 24, 2006]
Strength:

2 subwoofer outputs
24 Bit DTS/Dolby Digital decoding
High Quality S-Video output

Weakness:

Spring clip speaker outputs for rear channels.
Clumsy FM programming

This is a great entry level Digital receiver. I used it for over 3 years and never once had any problems with it as described in other reviews. Mine never went into Protect mode and I had absolutely no hissing sounds. The only complaint I ever had was that it is difficult to program the FM Tuner section. Sound and picture are outstanding.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrew Gray   Casual Listener [Jun 13, 2003]
Strength:

Everything BUT the PROTECT mode.

Weakness:

The PROTECT fucntion is annoying, and nothing in the manual tells you what it is..

Mien has been terrific. Use it with two Wharfedale Atlantic 500, and sony sattilite speakers for surround. Well worked fine, even in high volume - up to today, when the display read PROTECT, has NEVER happened before for me, even when I have taken it too MAX...

Similar Products Used: No similar products used.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
audiofreaker   AudioPhile [May 31, 2003]
Strength:

dts/ dolby digital, setup sound (even in stereo) good rds eon system

Weakness:

speaker clamps

the sony receiver is a great model certainly if you look what you get for the money. from teh sony site: 24-bit DSP for High Precision DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby Pro Logic Decoding Extensive Sound Field Programs (Cinema x 4, Virtual 3D x 2, Music x 4, AFD x 1) Cinema Studio A/B/C Mode Headphone Theater mode for Virtual Surround Sound 5-Dynamic Amplifier System Identical Discrete Power Stage for all channels 135W RMS x 5 Amplifier Power Output (Watts DIN, 8 ohms): 100W x 5 Power Output (Watts EIAJ): 135W x 5 Line Input (Sensitivity/Impedance): 250mV / 50K Ohms Record out Level: 250mV / 10K Ohms Video In/Out (Sensitivity/Impedance): 1V / 75 Ohms Tuner Selectivity (400kHz): 60 dB Sensitivity (50dB): 18.3 dBf (M), 38.3 dBf (S) General Dimensions (WxHxD): 430 x 158 x 378 Weight: 7.9 kg great for dvd if you don't want to spent large ammounts of money. What i like is the ease of setup, a few small buttons, a jog dial kind of wheel and the larger buttons do it all. the manual is execellent ( but sony is most good in this) the only disadvantage is that the speaker terminals are normall clamps but what the hell it fits 4qmm (metric) speaker cable thicker is not essential to me . For the small room (14Q Meter) it has more than enough power.

Similar Products Used: this is my second sony receiver after having a bad experience with a str-gx40. but my friend says it has performed well for more than 3 yaers.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2003]
Strength:

it was cheep

Weakness:

like I said it was cheep

annoying hissing at high end

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
kosmo886   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 23, 2003]
Strength:

Quality for price, but the protect mode problem makes it almost worthless.

Weakness:

PROTECT MODE!1

It would be a nice low end, budget receiver, but the protect mode comes on even when it is not very loud. Because of this, i have almost completley stopped using the receiver. It is too much of a pain to turn it on and off 50 times in the middle of a movie.

Similar Products Used: A Lot
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
anusgravy   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2003]
Strength:

remote can control everything, features, power output.

Weakness:

does not have the warmer sound a higher end receiver has

this is a great product for the money! THERE IS NO HISSING NOICE IN MINE. it is better then my harmen kardon as far as a surround receiver. but if you are just playing cds the harmen kardon has a much warmer sound.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com