Sherwood RX-4105 Receivers

Sherwood RX-4105 Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 5 Audio Inputs including Tuner
  • Totally Discrete Amplifier Stage
  • Preset Scan
  • Random 30-Station Presets
  • System Illumination

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Mar 30, 2022]
AnnaSmith


Strength:

I would love to have this receiver it has a great quality. pill crusher

Weakness:

Hopefully to get one soon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 24, 2022]
yvettem


Strength:

The amp drives my main speakers which happen to be Cerwin Vega Ve-12's, to higher than expected volume before it shut down. The volume control is digital and goes between 0-63 it can drive my speakers which it is not designed for at 30 on all the program material. - www.photoboothsconnect.com

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2021]
Breana


Strength:

Nice product! roofing contractor

Weakness:

None so far

OVERALL
RATING
4
[Sep 24, 2021]
joeanderson


Strength:

I like its digital volume control. We really enjoy playing music while finishing our basement. Highly recommended!

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 21, 2021]
couvreur67


Strength:

This receiver is nice and has a great sound from about 1000 Hz and up. The Receiver has a great FM section.......pulls in stations from 50+ miles with a single wire antenna.....360° Webagentur - Full-Service Werbeagentur

Weakness:

I can not turn off any roomd off without muting all. Its not a problem for me but may be for you.

Price Paid:
125
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Sep 16, 2021]
Kyzer1816


Strength:

Glad I bought mine, really a great buy. Graphics Little Rock

Weakness:

Nothing bad feedback for this.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 31, 2021]
brenbobb01


Strength:

The totally Discrete Amplifier Stage and the 5 Audio Inputs with tuner really packs some good noise for my audio visual room. See roofing contractors montville.

Weakness:

Very handsome, i cannot say any negatives!

OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 06, 2021]
specification166


Strength:

This is an inexpensive receiver and performs well for its price. Perfect fit for a family sing a long bonding. | Stump Removal

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2010]
steviebeef
Audio Enthusiast

I bought 2 of these from Circuit City at a special discount of $ 63.00. I had moved into a home with a lot of porches and intended on using these to drive (each) 2 pair Dual LU53PW outdoor speakers. I had the units hooked up to Direct TV for Sirius/XM stations. These amps far exceeded my expectations for power and sound.

Not surprisingly, I purchased 2 more and ganged them together to provide sound in the entertainment part of the house, mostly driving bookshelf 2 way speakers but also 1 pair of vintage Realistic Electrostat 2a floor speakers. Although I do not rum the volume much above 35, the sound is clean, powerful and I have had no problems with the amp shutting down.

Downside to these speakers are a lack of inputs, and the remotes work on the same frequency and cannot be switched so I pretty much have to control volume manually. Neither is a big problem considering the price I paid. Have had these now going on 3 years and they still run strong.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 23, 2009]
craigwcg287
Audio Enthusiast

Sherwood RX-4105 is a great receiver for the money you would paid for. But you have to make your receiver is connected to pair of 8 ohm nominal impedance speakers that can maintain actual impedance above 6 ohms throughout the audio frequency spectrum from 20 to 20,000 Hertz, otherwise, your receiver will go into protection mode, and shut down as soon as you crank up the volume control pass 40.

My 8 ohm speakers have a severe low impedance problem on certain audio frequencies that cause my Sherwood RX-4105 receiver to shutdown when I crank up the volume pass 40. I hooked my receiver up to a 8 ohm speaker dummy load, and cranked up the volume to 56 the maximum volume without the audio clipping in AM/FM radio mode, my Sherwood receiver did not shutdown. My 8 ohm speaker's low impedance curve drops down 2.8 ohms around 85 to 90 Hertz, and that's what caused my Sherwood receiver to Shutdown when the volume is cranked up pass 40.

I had to build me a pair of external inline speaker impedance compensation networks for my speakers in order to maintain my speaker impedance above 6 ohms, and to keep my Sherwood receiver from shutting down. Now, I can crank up volume up to 56 in AM/FM radio mode into my 12inch woofer speakers delivering 128 decibel C-weighting of Sound Pressure Level in a 9ft by 13ft room, and that is equivalent of being in an 8,000 square foot nightclub with a 20,000 watt sound system. But I had to use a 10inch 55watt 120volt fan blowing air into my receiver's vent holes on top of my receiver in order to keep my receiver cool while the volume is cranked up to 56 for 6 consecutive hours. If the speaker wires is over 10 foot long between the Sherwood receiver and the speakers, use 14 gauge wire or larger with that Sherwood. I am currently using 12 gauge speaker, 12 foot long speaker wire with my Sherwood receiver for greater minimized speaker line loss. For 6 hours, my Sherwood receiver never did shutdown with the volume control set at 56, and the tone control is set at Tone Direct, or bass and treble controls set at 0db.

If the Sherwood RX-4105 receiver shuts down with only the speakers are hooked up, after the volume control is cranked up pass 40, make sure you, or have a technician to check your 8 ohm speakers to see it can maintain the actual impedance above 6 ohms from 20 to 20,000 Hertz, or from the speaker's lowest frequency response to 20,000 Hertz.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com