Sansui G-7500 Receivers

G-7500

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
TCKNAPP   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2005]
Strength:

DC powered amp, EXTREME power, plenty of inputs, plenty of audio adjustments for fine tuning, reliable, and LOUD AS $%&#

Weakness:

Other than it's weight *I'd have to say atleast 50 lbs* I have nothing to complain about, and how often do you have to move your receiver anyway.... TWO THUMBS UP

To start things off... WOW... My grandma was having a garage sale, and asked me to remove some items from her attic for her. It was at this time I came to find a mint condition Sansui G7500 and two Kenwood KL-777S 's with 18" drivers that were my fathers and he somehow came to forget about. Took them home, hooked it all up, and started drooling. As long as this receiver holds up I will never have any reason to purchase anything different. It has power I haven't seen matched by anything else on the market today short of spending thousands of dollars. The first time I cranked the puppy up I blew the circuit breaker for my basement it drew so much power off my electrical system at my house. I actually went as far as putting in a new breaker specifically for the receiver, and the lights still dim. This sucker ROCKS! Been sitting in the attic since the early 80's, and doesn't have a single thing wrong with it. I *to date* have yet to turn it all the way up to 100, it's a scary scary unit. 75-80 will make your ears ring for the next 2 days. I don't even know what it puts out as far as wattage, all I know is it's absolutly NUTS, and anyone who comes acrossed any G series reciever of this era needs to pick one up... you will not be dissapointed.

Similar Products Used: Nothing Compares
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alben   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2004]
Strength:

Quality,durability.clean sound..good bass..and high treble..tings.bells. realistic sound.

Weakness:

I dont see any if you take good care of it it will last..only the unit is very heavy built rock solid.

I bought a Sanui G7500 ..very good Reciever. If you were born in the 60s you will never look for another Amp that has the best sound ever. this baby will kick any surround sound to the garbage. If you really want the pure clean bass and highs with real life like sound . this is one of the best Sansui ever built. I was in the 60s and those sound that I hear still clear in my mind. that is why when I look for a Reciever I was never satisfied with its sound specially the surround sound.which sounds I dont like..it sounds artificial.. with its plastic case speakers. That is why I bought this Sansui G7500...and boy its really very good..it brings back the memories of the 60s in excellent sound..why because the 60s and 70s music are made in stereo not surround sound. you are repoducing the sound that was originally recorded in stereo..you have a total match... Surround sound is only good for movies..not for music excuse me...If you want good music get a Sansui G7500 ..G7700..G series...you won't regret it..get a Sansui 12in. speaker system..and hear your neigbors say you have Kenny G in your place?

Similar Products Used: Sansui QRX7001.. Sansui AU717
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Pete Schumacher   AudioPhile [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

You name it. Power, REAL TRUE POWER!!! Great looks. Heavy, big heatsinks, lots of I/O options.

Weakness:

Speaker connectors are a little weenie, but I did manage to easily fit large guage stranded wire into the connectors.

My Brother was looking for a reasonable set of home theater speakers but knowing how much he would want to spend, I refused to build him a set. So we went to a local shop that sells to the hobbyist as well as the standard black boxes in all brands. We settled on the Harmon Kardon 5.1 w/sub. A nice entry level system for a small home theater. While he settled the deal, I strolled into the used section and what did my eyes fall upon but a Sansui G-8000 in very nice condition. "Working order" I was told with a "10-day guarantee." After parting with $160.99 American, I lugged the behemoth into the back seat and took it home. It took a while to maneuver my 4.5 cu. ft. cabinets into place in the room, but after they were placed and connected to the beast, on came the power and the beast came to life. I gulped as I realized that only one channel was playing while the other was crackling. NO WAY!! I just heard it working!!! After a little fiddling, I found the culprit to be the tape-mon selector. Cleaning that rotor up cleared the air. What came forth from the Delicate Sound of Thunder was the most up-front, palpable audio experience I've had in quite a while. That wussy little JVC 100W amp sounded like a kitten in comparison. The speakers I spent over 100 hours designing and building finally showed their capability!!! My living room floor was moving with the subterranean lows on that Floyd Album. Madman Across the Water never seemed so live. On the title track, the clarity of the string ensemble was exemplary, not lost in the hard percussion of the track.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2002]
Strength:

clarity of sound solidity of design accuracy of soundstage for any music genre'

Weakness:

None that I know of, unless it is the weight. That receiver weighs a lot.

I purchased my G-7500 in 1978, after considerable research. This unit has consistenly produced the best sound through the old Infinity Qb speakers since new. It's been repaired twice since 1978 and each time the shop wanted to buy it for a lot more than I originally paid for it. I enjoy the sound so I've kept it. It is now being used with the hi-fi VCR and TV, as well as the original Technics SL-1200 turntable, an inexpensive JVC CD deck and an old Advent 201A cassette tape deck. Great receiver that can handle a lot of inputs and outputs. Nope, they don't make them like that, anymore.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
christhompso   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2002]
Strength:

Great tone, awesome presence, the sound says it all!

Weakness:

only that because of its age it has built up some dirt in the dials and crackles when you turn up the volume/

I first useed a Sansui G7000 which was my dad's first receiver and I never thought too much of it but I did always enjoy the sound from it. I have had a G8000 now for about 2-3 years and was always happy. About a year ago now I purchased a Pioneer VSX850 A/V Receiver and have been happy with it as well and I ceased using the G8000. Well today I took out my G8000 opened it up and gave it a good cleaning. I hooked it up to my Ohm C2 speakers and was blown away! I could not believe the sound that came out of my system. These Sansui receivers are awesome and I don't think I will ever replace this unit!

Similar Products Used: Sansui G7000, Pioneer VSX 850, Technics A/V Receiver, Old Sanyo Receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Don Jung   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2002]
Strength:

Everything, it is a Sansui!

Weakness:

Not enough connections, I want to plug everything into this thing. Do you think it could silence the sound my Frezzer makes at night if I connect it too? :P

Just love this Sansui G-9000, one of the best ever made! 160 watts RMS per. is almost unheard of these days, in any price range with this kind of clairity and quality of sound. Find them, buy them, use them; then pass them on to your children for the same.

Similar Products Used: As clear as a beutiful womans voice, as powerful as a mans voice, and as stong and everlasting as the sweet music they create when in love! Nope no weaknesses here.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sam Parnell   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2002]
Strength:

Buckets of power, moving power needles, very solid construction.

Weakness:

Switches and knobs tend to go out, sometimes hard to find people to work on it.

My brother found my G-8000 in the trash at an apartment complex, full of water. After a resurrection by my local electronics repair shop, I realized its true glory. I have two MTX 10" 3-way speakers that it almost literally laughed at. I recently hooked it up and heard details in my music that my much newer receiver seemingly just skipped over. All my friends in college envied me and marvelled at it. The only problems I''ve had with it are the channels going out occassionally, and not all of the switches work. It is truly a work of art as far as stereos go. I would put it up against any modern receiver in terms of raw power. Truly an amazing receiver. If you can find one for a good price, snatch it up. Just be ready to challenge it with all the speaker you can get.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LARRYJW   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2002]
Strength:

DURABILITY, THESE WERE BUILT TO WITHSTAND TREMENDIOUS LOADS. MY PIONEER WAS ALWAYS BLOWING FUSES, IT BURNT A CURCUIT BOARD & DIED.

Weakness:

SANSUI FELL FROM THEIR LOFTY POSITION.IF I WERE ABLE TO BUY THIS NEW, MONEY WOULD NOT MATTER.

MY FIRST RECIEVER WAS A G3000 W/26WTS. NONE OF MY FRIENDS BELIEVED THIS UNTIL I SHOWED THE SPEC. SHEET. TWO HAD PIONEERS & 1 HAD A TECHNICS.THEY THOUGHT I WAS BAITING THEM. THIS SMALL AMP HAD SOLID PUNCH & CLARITY FROM 1977-90. MY WIFE SPILLED POTPOURRI ON THE TUNER. WITH NO FM I PURCHASED A NEW PIONEER W/DOLBY PRO LOGIC. THE PIONEER HAD 100WTS & SOUNDED CLOUDY, BASS HEAVY & DISSATISFING. I FOUND A G7500 ON E-BAY & AM IN LOVE W/MY MUSIC AGAIN. THIS HAS 90WTS THAT BLOWS AWAY TODAYS JUNK. I ALSO HAVE A ONKYO 575X W/ 70WTS, THIS HAS EXCELLANT CLARITY BUT NO PUNCH, THE SAME SPEAKERS WERE INTERCHANGED BETWEEN AMPS. A''M DEBATING WHETHER TO BUY ANOTHER BEFORE THEY''ER GONE.

Similar Products Used: SANSUI G3000, PIONEER SVX4500, ONKYO 575X.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim Sherloyd   Audiophile [Mar 12, 2000]
Strength:

Power, Power, power!!!...This thing is only rated at 90 watts per channel RMS but...WOW!!..it is SOOOO clean that it sounds like 200. Ive used mine since 1977 and Ive had a few things fixed here and there, had it cleaned regularly etc..

Weakness:

NONE!

If any of you guys have one of these I suggest you hold on to it. HOLD ON TO IT FOREVER!!! It will definately last forever. I saw a G-7500 sell on e-bay for $450....HOLY SH*%!

Similar Products Used: Technics, Pionner Elete, Marantz, Luxman, Nakamichi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dalton   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2000]
Strength:

fat sound, nice lows , delicate highs

Weakness:

none that I can tell, but I'm no expert. Limited inputs.

RESCUED from the attic!

Years ago, (1978) I worked all summer long to save up for my first stereo. I purchased a Sansui G-7000 receiver and a pair of Canon TLS speakeers and BIC turntable and some cheap stylus. It sounded "like buttah". Smooth and rich in all aspects of the sound. I used it for years until I blew out a channel for the second time (1990-ish). I got it repaired and since this new Surround Sound thing was catching on, I boxed up the Sansui,
put her in the attic and bought some mass market surround receiver from a company that also makes motorcycles! What was I thinking? By this time I was into a career and for the most part my sound system was adequate.

Flash forward ten years.......

In preparation of creating a mid-fi HT setup, I got a good price on a Denon AVR 5700 (I'm learning about the sonic benefits of separates) and started looking for replacement speakers for my tiny bookshelf Mirage M90 I had bought on a whim (I was low on cash)when the woofers/passive radiator in the Canons had literally deteriorated to dust.

I found electrostatics from Martin-Logan. The small yet impressive Aerius i. Well yesterday while cleaaning up the basement,I found the G-7000 in the back of a stack. I opened her up and gave her a quick inspection....looks good. On a lark, I powered her up slowly over an hour then plugged in a cheap cd player, dropped in a familiar disk and KA BLAMO!!!!! Utopia at last. Those small Mirage book shelfs sprang to life. It truly sounds as if I have a Sub hooked up. I was truly shocked. Next I tried the Aerius, not thinking this old technology amplifier would sound good
on such Hi-tech speakers. WRONG AGAIN!!! Driving the MLs was a snap. They sound much more punchy and dynamic than when driven by the denon. I'm not an audiophile by any means
but to my ears, this sounds so full and rich that I stayed up late listening to all my old favorites. I a little tired today but can't wait to get home for a little audio relaxation. I guess now I know what they mean when they say "They don't make 'em like this any more"


Questions-
Is this a tube amp? I didn't see any when I removed the cover.

Second, it has always had a very unique smell. Somewhat an electrical smell but more like a new computer component smell. Has anyone els noticed this. My Girl friend says it smells like an antique. She's sorta right>

Any extra info would be apreciated>

d

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com