Sansui G-7000 Receivers

G-7000

Stereo Receiver

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Shawn Martin   Casual Listener [Jun 22, 2015]

I picked up my Sansui G 7000 for $20. It cost me just over a hundred to fix. This thing is incredible. I don't know how else to describe it. I will say one thing though, it is one of my most prized possessions. It is worth thousands to me.I love everything about it. Especially the analog meters and silver face. They don't build anything cool like this anymore it's a shame. The distortionless power output is amazing. this thing is going to get me thrown out of my apartment for sure.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D Fitz   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2013]

After reading reviews from 2003 to our 2010 Hamburg Germany one (love that town) friend, I had to tell you what you bought from my experience. I have had my G-7000 reciever as my first real stereo. It is in my garage now with my Sansui sp-x7000 speakers. I can break windows in the neighborhood still. It is 35yrs old, sits through Chicago's winter cold in there and I can't part with it. Now I realize why. I paid a good price for it brand spanking new along with the speakers due to falling in love with it when I heard it the first time and it has been worth every last penny. Yes I can't even crank the volume up all the way, it hits 100w no sweat and the 4 way 5 speakers carry the high and mids superiorly. I have an ADC 1600dd turntable I had to by a marble table for it since the stereo was too powerfull and it would vibrate the heck out it. I hooked up my old infinity sub to it since I upgraded my system in the home and it blends perfectly. Just some bass added to these screamers make it comparable to many systems people actually fawn over and care for. I need to give it some love this summer and clean her up shiny brand new although it has a prominent place in my cave out there. She deseves much better than I give her especially after hearing some of these testimonials.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Wally   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2012]

damn damn hihi folks from Hamburg -Germany,just got into the Sansui G7000 expirience by catching one of this models in the local ebay shop for 450€ -- cant wait till he arrive from Berlin by mail here in Hamburg --good fun to read the enthusiastic comments --seems i can be happy to grab one will see - further posting will come soon - what a surprise
cheers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jason puniak   AudioPhile [May 30, 2011]

i have owned my G7000 sansui for over twenty years now, it was given to me by my father around 1990...it is rated at 85 watts per channel, and will drive any speaker that you put to it. i currently have four sansui spx 8000's hooked up to it, along with a pioneer sg 9800 equalizer, a kenwood kd 2077 turntable, a pioneer hr 100 8 track, a sansui sc3100g tape deck, and a sony ns dvp725p cd/dvd player, along with my vizio tv and wii game system...let me tell you, this system ROCKS. IT WILL reach 100 watts output on the vu meters at 25% volume with the equalizer on, and with it off, 35% volume will do the same...all kiddding aside, i will take this to my grave with me, unless i give it to my son when hes old enough to take care of it. If you get the chance to buy one, buy it, so long as youre not paying more than 600.00 for it itll be worth it as long as it is in working condition. If it is a broken one, they can usually be repaired fairly cheap, i am about to have mine recapped for 250.00.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dakatabg   AudioPhile [Jun 21, 2010]

I am a very big audiophile and I love music and stereo electronics. I knew this receiver is a beast by the reviews I had read. Finally I pulled the trigger and I have it right next to my Sansui 9090DB and Sansui 881. The sound can be compared to the old Marantz, Pioneer, Yamaha and Kenwood receivers and amplifier. If you need bass, you have it. If you need highs and mids, you have it. Rated 85W per channel, this receiver will drive anything, I am saying anything you hook up without any distractions. It is looking cool, it sounds great and thats what you need. If you have the chance to get one, don't even think twice and get one. Those are hard to find those days and with the time it will be impossible or for crazy money. 5 Stars receiver!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Yotraj   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2004]
Strength:

The sound volume and clarity.

Weakness:

It get's dirty!

I bought this G 7000 new around 1980 along with a couple of Cerwin Vega HED spkrs. It's been grreat. Loud, clean, and what I especially liked was the input plug in the front where I could stick in the electric guitar cord and play right there with the great ones. What a Rocker!

Similar Products Used: To many to list!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2003]
Strength:

-Power -Mass (difficult to carry, steal) -Fidelity -Looks kick-ass -Did I mention power?

Weakness:

Won't replace wife or wife's income.

Classic late 70's receiver - more than ample output power with very little noise. Hi/lo filter and fm dolby de-emphasis aids recording of live broadcasts with no diminished dynamic range. Sansui spared no expense when they built these components -they are of near professional communications grade and are eminently repairable. I got mine from a tenant who once owned a stereo shop - he left it behind when he moved. It cost $80 to clean and fix, now it sits proudly in my living room where I like to knock over guests with its solid, clean volume. I hooked it up to an older Thorens turntable after replacing the belt and cartridge, then cued an excellent condition LP of Iggy Pop's Raw Power. At 25-30% output the 901s were shaking books off shelves. I am now using my Yamaha Natural Sound digital receiver for a boat anchor.

Similar Products Used: -Meth -Saturn V rocket -155 Howitzer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Hutchison   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2002]
Strength:

Lots of options...great quality...the controls feel great...advanced techonolgy.

Weakness:

NONE!

This piece of equipment is amazing. From the silver face...my guess is it’s from the 70''s or early 80''s. The sound is great. The controls...feel great. This receiver has the same functions as my amp that I bought in the early 90''s (different brand) This G-7000 series has (on the back) a "screw in antenna" does any one know where I can find a replacement antenna? Two of the lights have burnt out...Is it possible just to take off the cover and replace these. I don''t want to lose any springs or anything...as there is several buttons on the face. I picked up this receiver for free and its awesome.(someone was going to throw it out? I don''t know why...) Its quite wide...(wider than the standard stereo stand I have) If any one has a copy of the specifications and or information on this receiver please e-mail me at scotthutch3@hotmail.com I''m in the market for a subwoofer...does Sansui have a line of subwoofers?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mikas   Audiophile [Aug 24, 2001]
Strength:

Jega!!! Niekada nesugedo!

Weakness:

Dar suges.

Karoche, geras shudas.

Similar Products Used: Technics SA-DA10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2001]
Strength:

power, sound, build quality, bang for the buck

Weakness:

size, older style

I just picked up this unit a few weeks ago and am thrilled with it. I use it in my office as a second system, and the sound quality is unbelievable. I think that it is somewhere between 70-80 watts per channel, but it sounds about as good as the G9700 that I used to own (200-250wpc). The separation is amazing too...I can't say enough about this piece. I replaced a later model Sony with this piece, and there is no comparison...obviously. The knobs and switches have a feel of supreme quality as well. Not like the junk that is made today. My friends dislike the older silver-faced style, but they shut their traps the minute I turn it on. It's a bit large, but well worth making the room to fit it in. If I have my way, I'll have this unit forever.

Similar Products Used: G9700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com