ROTEL RX-1050 Receivers

RX-1050

Stereo Receiver with remote control

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
Kiza   Casual Listener [Jul 23, 2009]

Rotel RX-1050 is by far best sounding receiver in range of $800-$2000..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fascinatinrythym   AudioPhile [Oct 17, 2006]
Strength:

Clean power
Good power
Capable tuner

Weakness:

Lack of balance controls



From 1983 to 2003 I was using an old Technics receiver that I thought, well.... sounded pretty good. It had everything I needed, including a phono pre-amp.

In late 2002, however, I began considering upgrading to a more powerful receiver or amp. I looked at the Marantz high current amp as well as the Harmon Kardon. But deep, deep down something told me to hold out for the more expensive Rotel. Boy, am I glad I did! Just like the salesman promised, I heard things come out of my little bookshelf speakers that I did not even realize were there! It simply has to be heard to be believed.

But it gets better. When you hook this receiver up to your television, chances are it will sound far better than most people’s home theater set up.

Lastly, Rotel is company that both designs their products well and stands by their customers after the purchase. In this day and age, that says a lot..

I can honestly say as of right now, it’s the single best piece of equipment I own. I use it every day, either for music or television audio.

As of right now, the conventional wisdom is that there are only five good audio receivers out there, and this is one of them. Highly recommended!

My current set consists of:


-Project Xpression Mark II turntable with Sumiko Oyster and Audioquest King Cobra cables


-Marantz Special Edition CC-65SE CD changer


-Nakamichi BX1 cassette deck


-Two way bookshelf GNP speakers on Target stands

Similar Products Used: Technics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
glenn eacker   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2006]
Strength:

Quality construction, huge soundstage, and very powerful to drive your speakers without distortion.

Weakness:

None really. Attaching the sub was easy after consulting Rotel and my subs manufacturer.

I bought this unit from a previous owner who used it very little in the first couple years after buying it. It was, and is, like new. I could not be happier with this stereo receiver. It is extremely powerful with a huge soundstage. Great volume is possible without a hint of distortion. No dedicated sub out, and few "bells & whistles" because all the value placed in this unit by Rotel went for quality electronics instead. You CAN attach a subwoofer. The method will depend on the sub itself. The RX-1050 is very uncomplicated to use with an excellent manual.

Customer Service

Excellent response from Rotel when I had questions.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic CH10 (an earlier high-end unit from Panasonic)

My system:
Rotel RX-1050 stereo receiver
Rotel RCD-990 CD player
PSB 7PT towers
Technics SL-1200 MK2 turntable
SVS 25-31 PC+ subwoofer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sams   AudioPhile [Apr 07, 2005]
Strength:

Clear crisp with excellent mids and highs

Weakness:

needed service already once

I am very impressed with this unit. It plays exceptional midrange and highs at this price point. I have it in a bedroom system with B&W 601 speakers and it sounds very nice. I once swapped it with my other tuner in a $40,000 system (cyrus cd + tuner, graaf 13.5b preamp, graaf gm200 amp, sonus faber guarneri speakers, kimber select black pearl silver wires) and it sounded fantastic as a tuner using the preout. This was surprising given that the other tuner was much more expensive. Hats off to rotel.

Similar Products Used: denon, cyrus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Newman   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2003]
Strength:

Warm, detailed, transparant sound Unit has detacheble power cable (ie..Hint upgrade) Great sounding unit and you'll still have money left over to treat your wife to dinner!

Weakness:

No seperate Sub connection. Can'think of anything else???

This is a great receiver...period! I purchased the RX-1050 approximately 3 months ago and I must say that I am very satisfied with this product. What I like about this receiver is that it does not come with "bells and whistles" but delivers a very smooth, warm and detailed sound. I am no Audiophile by any stretch but in my opinion (for whatever that's worth) Rotel delivers a tremendous bang for you buck with this well packaged 2x100 per channel receiver. If your like me and you don't want to break the bank for separates, and would like a unit that delivers - the Rotel is a great choice. Also, I like the units detachable power cord which allows you to upgrade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Milos Dunjic   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2003]
Strength:

High quality sound, low price.

Weakness:

None for this price

The high end sound for the normal price. This is where high end begins and the rewards can be described as diminishing returns. Definitely worth 50% more in terms of value, musicality, and execution. This is definitely the right direction in Audio equipment. I simply cannot find fault at all in this price range and would highly recommend auditioning this equipment for a quality and satisfying two-channel system. Team them up with you favorite speakers and let it rip. Thumbs up! Used with Rotel RC 1070 pre amp., B&W DM 601 S3 speakers and Denon CD player.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hamdub   Casual Listener [Aug 30, 2002]
Strength:

Great value for money. 100wpc is plenty of power.

Weakness:

????

Thsi is a very nice sounding receiver. After a 2 week break-in period, the sound really opened up. Bass improved significantly as did soundstage. The Rotel 1050 is used with a Rotel 961 cd player, Music Hall MMF-5 turntable, and KEF 103/3 speakers. It seems you can't go wrong with Rotel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com