Pioneer SX-3800 Receivers

Pioneer SX-3800 Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

In Pioneer's extensive receiver lineup for 1980, The SX-3800 was in the upper third in terms of power and performance. It was rated at 60 watts per channel, which was more than sufficient to rock the house. It had extremely low THD: .005%, It's phono S/N ratio was an amazing 115dB. It had a list price of $500 and weighed in at over 35 pounds.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Oct 30, 2022]
stussy


Strength:

The bulk of our designs come with a guarantee. home addition santa clara

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 2022]
davidson02


Strength:

Yeah, it was heavy but it took everything I thought it and always sounded great for www.drywallarlington.com.

Weakness:

NIne so far

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2022]
Breana


Strength:

You have a good idea. Thanks Social Security Card Lost

Weakness:

none so far

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 31, 2022]
ampva301


Strength:

Pioneer's SX 3800 is a stunningly lovely-sounding unit. This receiver, ranked second from the top, looks as amazing as it sounds. A great addition to any collection. Two thumbs up! Regards, Footers

Weakness:

None as of the moment

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 24, 2021]
Jelai Ande


Strength:

The ratio was amazing. Price. Sump Pumps

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 17, 2021]
JakeXyrus


Strength:

This was more than sufficient to rock the house. I love the performance. Fence Contractor

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 31, 2021]
donzparker25


Strength:

Yes, it really packs some powers! I love to hoard this types for my entertainment system.

Weakness:

It is old but gold. metal roofing venice

OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 06, 2021]
togolese273


Strength:

Excellent in all aspects! High-wattage channels, clarity, punch, warmth, nostalgia, and rock-solid construction. Nothing goes wrong. | Camarillo Arborists

Weakness:

A bit heavy.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2020]
jjg1977$


Strength:

Incredible power and sound quality for anything in its class.At 60w/p/c rated it seems to deliver so much more. I brought mine back from the dead bought it on EBay for $180 spent $100 for my tech to go through it inside and out and now I love it rocks the house I listen to all genres of music and it fully exposes everything I play through it. If you can find one like I did and of course know how to work on them or have an awesome tech like I do luckily I highly encourage and recommend it.

Weakness:

Heats up quite a bit after use weighs about 35lbs. Want to keep ventilated and in one place definitely don’t want to move around to often.

Price Paid:
280
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1980
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2017]
Kate
AudioPhile

I bought the Pioneer SX3800 with some Advent Speakers in the 1980's and I still love my sound system. It was worth every dollar I bought them for. Whatever you buy in the way of an amp make sure it has plenty of power to drive your speakers otherwise you're just not doing yourself any favors.
It took hours of listening to different speakers in various Sound Rooms to finally decide on the purchase of the Advent Speakers. Heard B&W's, JBL's, Polk Audio's and on and on it went for hours of listening with a boyfriend I had at the time. Finally I bought the Advents for their superb midrange clarity on vocals. Getting the Pioneer SX 3800 was such an easy decision in comparison. Whatever you do whilst looking/listening to various systems take the same Music Album/CDs with you so you can compare them. Sounds so fundamental but it is true and some get sucked into listening to what's on hand at each location which can suck one into buying the wrong equipment.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com