Pioneer SX-205 Receivers

Pioneer SX-205 Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Aug 09, 2018]
bailee


Strength:

I bought this reciever new 20 years ago. I've used it as my home stereo. I used in the garage for years. I put in a box for several years. A few weeks ago I decided to get a turntable after years without one. I paired it with this reciever and a pair of Sansui floor speakers. Sounds awesome!! I have zero regrets about this 20 year old purchase. If you want to spend $25 on this thing at the thrift store and then go online to complain about it, just punch yourself in the face instead.

Weakness:

No remote unfortunately

Price Paid:
120
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Mar 25, 2014]
stereoguy11
AudioPhile

I bought this receiver from a local Salvation Army Thrift store 2 days ago for $35. I was definitely a bit skeptical, considering $35 was a bit on the pricey side for a 17 year old appliance with no guarantee or even redeemable store credit if there was something wrong with it. I knew I was taking a chance but I just went with it on a hunch. I noticed the power consumption was 190 watts, so I figured it must put out sufficiently more power than my 40 year old Marantz 2220 that I was looking to replace. I was on my way to work and couldn't wait to find out some information on it. So when I got there I asked a co-worker to Google the receiver on her phone. It said it had 100 wpc. "Wow!, " I said. But wait a minute, I thought, something's not right about those numbers. They're too freakin' high! I thought, there's no way that thing is REALLY putting out that much power. Maybe when I get home I can Google it myself and find out what the REAL power numbers are. You know, that's what I hate about these modern day hyped up power ratings, they're so dishonest! I would be surprised if this unit maxed out at 100 wpc. The real, old school "RMS" power rating is probably more like 50 wpc, I thought. So here's what I found out: THE REAL RMS POWER RATING IS 40 WATTS PER CHANNEL. So there you have it. Am I disappointed? Not in the slightest. 40 watts per channel is TWICE THE POWER that my old Marantz 2220 (20 wpc) puts out. Also, the total harmonic distortion (THD) on this receiver is only .09%, where as the 2220 has .9% THD. So it was a hell of an upgrade for only $35. For crying out loud, I paid $50 just to have that old Marantz professionally cleaned! And it still has a slight background "hiss" to it. What else can I say here? I can't complain. Oh yes, and by the way, this Pioneer performs FLAWLESSLY WITH NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER, EVEN THOUGH IT IS GOING ON 17 YEARS OLD. That should tell you something right there. You know, I've always been partial to Marantz (I own 4 of them), but Pioneer is slowly but surely earning a prominent place in my collection.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 09, 2008]
john smith
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

good bass clarity from the rs3s

Weakness:

not enough presets

great deck i hooked it up to a RCA cd changer and then i gave it to my children and they hooked it up to their playstation 2 with some infinity rs3 speakers and infinity sm 120's and its sounded so great that i kicked them out of their room so i could watch porn on their ps2

Customer Service

does super nintendo count?

Similar Products Used:

uh..... no

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2003]
Glimmertwin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

It plays stereo. Price.

Weakness:

Sound.

Very colored amp. Cheap is the one word that comes to mind. Cheap price, cheap sound. Tinny highs, thumpy bass. There you have it.

Similar Products Used:

Denon, EICO

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 30, 2003]
Glimmertwin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

It plays stereo. Price.

Weakness:

Sound.

Very colored amp. Cheap is the one word that comes to mind. Cheap price, cheap sound. Tinny highs, thumpy bass. There you have it.

Similar Products Used:

Denon, EICO

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 30, 2000]
Robert
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Only strength...............it was cheap!

Weakness:

The sound is just plain bad. Bass is good, but the mid and high ranges are complete s*^t! The treble knob controls the wrong frequency range. The receiver lacks clarity.

Pioneer really should have stuck with the 5-band EQ models. I had a 5-band 50 watt Pioneer receiver from about 1991 that was wonderful. This amp is just pathetic! I even went out and bought a high-quality EQ to try and salvage the money I spent on this receiver. Even that could not improve the sound. I finally faced the fact that I wasted my money! If you don't have a good ear, then this receiver is poerfect for you. But, if you can tell the difference between the sound of an oboe and the sound of a flute, then don't buy this piece of junk.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 22, 2000]
joe
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power. Tuner Pre-sets.

Weakness:

Power Bandwidth rating 40-20

The Pioneer SX-205 is an outstanding value for the money. It is not an audiophile reciever. It is an entry level product for people who want a lot of power for little money. In that regard it does its job very well. It"s drawbacks are its bass response, loudness button[super bass-it makes the bass louder while adding noticeable distortion]and the lack of high and low filters to tweak the tonal characteristics of it"s output.

Similar Products Used:

Sansui 771, Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 22, 1999]
Paul
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Loud

Weakness:

Awfully colored sound

This is one very colored amp. I found it to sound HORRIBLE but very loud. I bought it to play back mixes in my studio's rehersal room but found it totally unuseable. The stereo separation is very bad also. I tried it with 3 other speaker pairs and my results were the same.

Similar Products Used:

I was using an old Pioneer sx-580 though B+W 601 speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 10, 1999]
T Houghton
an Audiophile

I love to listen to my stereo. With this reciever I can listen to my speakers really loud for a very cheap price. It is a great reciever for someone who has 2 speakers. But for a person who has a whole home theater I would not recomend this reciever for them. For a hundered watt reciever you would have to really shop around to find one that is this cheap.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
[Jan 14, 2002]
Adam Ebel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Pretty good FM reception with outdoor antenna.

Weakness:

Selectivity on FM is Fair, Selectivity on AM is Poor,needs
improvement for the radio listener.

The FM reception was remarkable (with a external antenna) normal. But the selectivity was pretty fair. Sound however is OK, not as good with 6 Ohm Awia Speakers, soon I going to have to upgrade to a subwoofer, and 100watt speakers. AM reception is great if you use a TERK AM loop antenna, but wth out it, its not too good. Soon I am going take to
get an upgrade on the ceramic filters, and see what happens. For now I am satisified with the SX-205.

Similar Products Used:

Awia NSX-202, LR-5555 La Fayette

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com