Nakamichi RE-10 Receivers

Nakamichi RE-10 Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

100 Watts Per Ch.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 48  
[Jan 14, 2016]
Nels Liliedahl
Audio Enthusiast

I recently purchased the Nakamichi RE-10 off of eBay for a total of $152.50 (shipping included) by virtue of getting the last bid in at the last second. This included the correct remote. I am nothing but happy with this purchase. All these reviews complaining about fan noise - well my unit produces ZERO fan noise. I have to stick my hand in back and feel the air blowing out to reassure myself that the fan is, in fact working. Since I don't have a detailed history of this particular receiver's past, I cannot say whether the fan was upgraded or if truly came out of the factory this way. When I get involved reading this or that on the internet I tend to forget the receiver is turned on. Complete quiet, except what you choose to hear, and man oh man does it do a good job delivering the signals to my Advent Heritage speakers. These are fairly power hungry speakers (89.5db) and this receiver handles their hunger without a flinch. I used to own a Technics SA-1010 (120 wpc @0.003 thd), but had to sell it because of $$ issues at the time. This Nakamichi cranks my speakers every bit as well as the Technics did (there are those who claim this Technics put out 150 clean watts). From Omaha Craigslist I sold the Technics to a guy from Philadelphia - who had been searching for that very receiver, but in good condition. He told me after receiving the Technics that he would have to buy new speakers, had been incorrect assuming those he had could handle the Technics. Today, finally, I don't miss the Technics. This Nakamichi is a beautiful stereo receiver, and delivers sound that has to be heard to be believed. I've heard people disrespect the Advent Heritage, but it is my opinion they must not have had a complementary receiver to deliver the signal. Even my now deceased Technics SA-GX650 (125 wpc @.04 thd) couldn't deliver the sound QUALITY & VOLUME of this amazing piece of electronic art - the Nakamichi RE-10. Beautiful to look at, simple to operate, and all the superb sound a music lover like me could ask for. I was a 70s adolescent, and I treasure the vintage gear. This NAK lives up to the high bar set back then, and then some.I am very pleased with this purchase, and if you like your music in 2 channel stereo (even my tv-haha) then there is no going wrong with the NAK RE-10.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2015]
Tov-li
Audio Enthusiast

I picked up this receiver at a yard sale for $20 and to be honest, I didn't expect much but it was mint and cheap so I grabbed it.
When I first turned it on I was shocked! What is this? Can this be true? I mean, this is a
late 90's 2 channel receiver made in Malaysia at a suggested list price of $499 US, how can it sound so bloody good? Well, it does.

The sound is very clean without being bright, the bass is punchy, articulate, and never boomy, the midrange is smooth and silky, almost tube-like. It just draws you in without the usual solid state artifacts.

This receiver blows away any vintage Marantz, Luxman, Sansui, just to name a few, popular solid state products that fetch BIG $ these days. I know, I had them all.
I particularly dislike the "British solid state sound", I find it to be Mid-Fi at best but I'm in the minority.
I had the Musical Fidelity A300 for a while (yikes) and I recently tried the Naim Nait 5i and to me the RE-10 sounds much better than either one.

Yes, it's a bit coloured but all music reproduction equipment is coloured to some extent, it all comes down to your favourite colour I guess.

This sleeper goes for cheap on the used market, if you find one in good condition, grab it.

p.s. I've had the unit for over half a year now and I've yet to notice the fan, not once.

Ancillary equipment:

JVC XL-Z1050 cd player

B&O 1602 turntable

Royd Minstrel speakers

DIY speaker cables and interconnects

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2013]
roger
AudioPhile

I have several other high-end amplifiers. I only bought this amplifier to check why Nakamichi is so much famous for its sound quality. And after using it for some time I find out that although the sound of this amplifier is somewhat colored ( which is a bad thing for an audiophile like me) but after testing it properly I can say that this is one of the best sounding amplifier you can buy for this price. And this amplifier is surely a NAD killer in terms of sound reproduction. So if you get a chance to decide between NAD, Marantz or Nakamichi. i would say go with Nakamichi. You will never regret.
I am a serious audiophile who never gets satisfied with any product. but this product really made me satisfied because I paid just $100 for this amplifier. And it surely sounds like a $1000 stereo amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2009]
Tshilidzi Ramushoana
Audio Enthusiast

I just bought an RE 10 2 channel receiver matched with an MB8 5 disc player. This is all I could ever want in audio quality. the sound is perfect, words cant even start to describe it. the sound is really cool. this is the coolest sound i ever owned in my life. it is so cool. its so powerfull, it will blow your clothes off.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2008]
jmargolies1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, crisp sound for this price.

Weakness:

Remote made of cheaper materials and accumulates dust quite easily. The tuner is somewhat outdated and weaker sounding on weaker stations and frequencies.

This unit is fantastic! The octive range is accuratly executed at all times and the tonal color is perfect for a unit of this price. Matched with a Cal Audio DX-2 CDplayer and Mission(1985) bookshelf speakers, this receiver is top notch in every way. It is indeed High-End sounding, and it definately a poor-man's version of upper- end models.

Similar Products Used:

Cal Audio DX-2 CD Player; Mission bookshelf speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2007]
SteverOHIO
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Impeccably well defined soundstage.
Far better sound and build quality than Marantz current 2 channel series.
Distinctly Nakamichi playability and non-fatiguing sound which can be listened to for hours on end with complete enjoyment.

Weakness:

It is quite heavy which makes moving it for installing wiring a hassle.

Fantastic entry level audiophile bargain. Could not be happier with 3d soundstage, design characteristics and features.

Customer Service

Has not needed servicing so I do not know about customer service for Nak...

Similar Products Used:

Denon, Arcam, Nad, Marantz, Yamaha...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 30, 2007]
Jon
AudioPhile

Strength:

Everything for the price.

Weakness:

None...

I own three different brands of receivers and the Nakamichi is great! I have never heard any fan noise at all. If the fans are so noisy on these they can be replaced! Not a major problem...I also own a NAD C720BEE receiver and the Outlaw RR 2150. The Nakamichi is the best sounding of all three, so what i'm thinking is that your other components are to blame if you think this receiver sounds bad in any way. Klipsch speakers sound like crap to begin with so there's one problem. Use decent speakers, CD players and connecting cables and you'll love this receiver!

Customer Service

A great receiver that should have never been discontinued!

Similar Products Used:

Outlaw Audio RR 2150, NAD C720BEE.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2004]
sprensenbuhl
AudioPhile

Strength:

power,tone bypass

Weakness:

not quite the standard of nakamichi

not the kind of quality music that nakamichi used to deliver,enough power, flexibility as it has tone bypass

Similar Products Used:

musical fidelity, pioneer reference elite series,micromega minium

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 20, 2003]
Larry Eskridge
Audio Enthusiast

Just an update about 18 months after my original review of this product. Still very satisfied with the RE-10--sound, tone, power. While the fan noise is now more noticeable--but not much--when the system is idle than it was originally, it cannot be heard at all when the system is in use. In terms of the "bang for your audio buck" this is still a great bargain.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 13, 2003]
scribere
AudioPhile

Strength:

Clearance/Liquidation pricing Build quality High amperage

Weakness:

Weenie remote Lackluster manual

I wanted a two channel receiver with high amperage, robust construction, and for a low price. As luck would have it, Nakamichi were liquidating a whole product line, restructuring, and fighting to keep from going belly up. Advantage: Consumer. The RE-10 does what it's supposed to.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha, Denon, Onkyo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com