NAD C730 Receivers

C730

35w x 2

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Matthias   AudioPhile [Dec 17, 2010]

This is a wonderful stereo amplifier! One of the best I have ever heard and much better than the NAD 740. Little bass? Little drive? This is nonsense! Buy a good audiophile speakers and you will understand what a real sound! For example, I listen to this receiver with open acoustic system based on Philips 9710. It is impossible to describe in words, it should be heard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RobertinChico   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2003]
Strength:

With good interconnect cables coming from a good source, there is NO LACK of detail in this amplifier, as is easily examined through the headphone jack. The sound is clean, detailed, natural and liquid. Receiver performance shows good sensitivity and selectivity.

Weakness:

If you choose a 30 watt unit don't expect earth moving sound levels. There is no B facility speaker switch; so you bi-wire 2 sets of good cables to a good speaker and get amazing sound. Reviews posted complaining about no dynamic range or stereo image are hearing their deficient cables and mediocre components.

This NAD unit, is best chosen and suited for people who want an NAD item, like the NAD sound, do not have a need for high power (bedroom, dorm, study) or home theatre dynamic range. It is easily bi-wired to a decent set of speakers, and delivers very fine sound. You give up ear piercing sound pressure levels for quality sound and a useful array of features. There is no B speaker switch but consumers are missing the point here. You'd be getting a dismal 10 watts per channel. Think of bi-wiring like I did to maximize the amps output.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer (weak and tinny), Sony (jukebox sounding), Onkyo (strident and distorted), ADCOM (fair), Marantz (cold and harsh), Technics (dismal and underpowered). The NAD style, as USUAL, dispenses with frills and in this application you get NAD sound at power levels suitable for all but the largest output requirements - and you CHOOSE it for that.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Srba   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2003]
Strength:

Powerful sound, good design, high quality power transformer...

Weakness:

NOT equiped with PHONO in (for turntable)

Very good sound,a great receiver for low budget customers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
intra   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2003]
Strength:

Good RDS-tuner,clean and natural sound,pre-out,big transformer,all sockets goldplated.

Weakness:

Not outputs for 4 loudspeakers(AB)

I used this receiver with my B&W loudspeakers,it sounds natural and clean.But unfortunately I had to sell it because I bought a surround-receiver.

Similar Products Used: Nad c320.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2003]
Strength:

Good RDS-radio,pre-out and clean sound!

Weakness:

Not B-outputs for loudspeakers!

This is what I will call a classic reciever.I tried this reciever with my JBL-loudspeakers and they played very good!I think the big transformer in the receiver caused this!

Similar Products Used: Nad monitor series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
intra   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2003]

A pretty good receiver.Good FM-tuner.But it is sad that it don`t is AB outpust for loudspeakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2003]

A very good amplifier.It isn`t outputs for two pairs of loudspeakers.Good FM-tuner.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2002]
Strength:

Very good FM tuner

Weakness:

flat, one dimetional sound quality weak highs and lows only one set of speaker outputs low power output

Wanted to replace my aging ONKYO receiver and looked at NAD, having a friend with a NAD system and liking the sound. I should have been suspicious in the store when the C 730 had to be cranked half way up to achieve a decent listening level powering a pair of bookshelf speakers. I thought they were inefficient and brought it home anyway. At home I found the same thing happening. The thing just seemed anemic.Not much happens when you turn the volume from up from 9 o'clock to 12 o'clock. The sound also seemed one dimetional as if there was no stereo. The sound was clear and clean with a slight midrange bias. Highs and lows seemed weak but could be boosted using the tone circuit. My old Onkyo sounded better and was more powerful. After a few days of listening I decided to trade it in for the C740. The difference was like night and day. The 740 is dynamic with much more power and a balaced tone - nice highs and strong bottom. Would not recommend the C 730.

Similar Products Used: Old Onkyo, C 740
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
hummanahhummanah   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2002]
Strength:

Speed, looks, price, crisp transparent sound

Weakness:

Too many buttons

Together with the NAD C521i cd-player and a pair of Acoustic Energy Aegis One speakers on Tannoy stands, this is my first serious hifi equipment. It works perfectly for me in my small room. Bass could be a bit better, but again it only needs to fill a student room for me. The combination with the AE speakers is very fast, and percussion sounds very crisp and exciting. I mostly listen to jazz, and this set gets a high foottap factor.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
kdirt   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2002]
Strength:

"Flat", clean sound

Weakness:

Mids are too pronounced, remote is annoying

Picked this up on a friend''''s recommendation, and I have mixed feelings about it. The sounds is "clean", but not very dynamic in my opinion. Treble is nice and crisp, the mids are a bit to prevelant, and bass is adequate. Not a powerhouse by any stretch, but it''''ll fill a medium size room just fine.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com