NAD 705 Receivers

NAD 705 Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Feb 05, 2022]
phillipsaeverett84


Strength:

I set up a deal to pick up a NAD 705 receiver for 10 bucks. I've read some reviews and they are pretty mixed. Some people hate em and some love em. This one has what seems to be a common issue, dead display backlights. Stone Masonry have found a bunch of info on replacing the bulbs with led's but was wondering if it is even worth it. I have never owned any NADS and i hear and read that even though the 705 may be chock full of issues it is a good-sounding receiver.

Weakness:

Nothing to complain.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2011]
Alex W
AudioPhile

I picked up two of these units when they first came out. I owned a custom install/retail A/V shop at the time. When these units first arrived we put them through their paces with a number of speakers systems. They frankly blew away everything at or near their price range in terms of sound quality and capacity to drive difficult loads such as multiple pairs of speakers w/impedance matching volume controls. We sold a lot of these units and I only recall one return, which was due to the customer shorting the speaker leads. That being said, I understand that there were quality control issues with units that were made later in the production run, so if you are looking for one of these in the secondary market, make sure you do your due diligence.

The tuners in these units are excellent in terms of sound quality and sensitivity. The phono preamps are the equal of many current stand alone units (despite being nearly 20 years old).

Both my units have been in constant service since new in a variety of applications. Currently one is powering two pair of in-ceiling speakers, and the other a Jamo sub/sat system (also 20 years old) and a pair of Wharfdale Diamond 8.1's. Both tuners are still sounding good and the phono sections are great (I use a Rega RP1 and a vintage B&O 4004).

I did have the common issue with the displays going dark (after about 8 years on one unit and about 12 years on the other), but the fix is easy and cheap if you can use a soldering iron and a screwdriver (20 minutes max. and about $3 in parts).

These units can be picked up for a song these days, and IMHO they are worth it just for the amplifier and phono preamp sections.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2009]
Philip Weber
AudioPhile

I bought this from a dubios female ebay seller out ot Florida. Received with a broken tuner, burned out lights. All the same things people have already said. I've owned Proton equipment for years with zero problems.It cost $275.00 to get the unit fixed. Rainbow Electronics in Sacramento, Ca.did the work. Wonderful sound in a small package. I hope this thing holds up. I wouldn't not recommend buying this unit without first testing it. The repair guy said bad solder jobs are also part of the NAD legacy. If you have to have one...check it out throughly!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 02, 2009]
Rogers
AudioPhile

Whiners! My NAD 705 receiver has worked flawlessly since 1993 (?) and been used and abused in every possible way, including Grateful Dead bootlegs with very unpredictable sound and power levels. Still working fine this afternoon in 2009.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2009]
tripslipfall
Casual Listener

Strength:

Loud, Clear, Bassy, Nice mids and highs, tons of power, FM tuner, AWESOME remote range.

Weakness:

Bulbs, but that's easily fixed (maybe 15 minutes)

Wow, I don't know why people are giving this such bad reviews, I got mine for free off Craigslist, knowing that one of the bulbs was already dead, but other than that it was in PERFECT condition, it even came with the remote and the manual! After about 3 months the other bulb died, and I replaced the bulbs with 2 blue LEDs and 2 resistors, honestly I'm not sure about the ohm rating of the resistors, I just grabbed 2 I had laying around that matched and threw 2 blue LEDs in there, and it's been working great for months, the sound is unbelievable, it's very loud, TONS of bass, very nice mids and highs, and, according to the manual, it throws out 160 watts a channel at 2 ohms! It also has the clearest FM tuner I've ever had, with a single piece of wire, it gives me full bars on every station. I love this thing, and I'm going to be very sad if it ever dies, but to be honest I think it's as old as I am (1992), and I feel I've pushed it to the limits and beyond, and it seems like it loves every minute of it.

Similar Products Used:

Denon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2006]
matthew_henson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound is wonderfull, I have mine paired with a Cambridge Audio Azur 640C and the combination is great

Weakness:

Reliability, bulbs etc.

Just following up from the critisms of this amp. It was a poor offering from NAD but as suggested a pair of White or Blue LEDS and 6k ohm resistors will fix the bulb problem (get one with a wide beam angle or you end up with little blobs of light on the display like mine!) The power transistor had burned on mine (If the fuses have blow then it is transistors on one channel) To find out if this is the case just take a resistance meter to the middle pin on the power transitors and any of the outer pins, low resistance on both pins = dead transistor. Replace with SKC3519 and SKA1386 and new fuses and it works a treat.

Similar Products Used:

Cambridge Audio Azur 640C

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 06, 2002]
Kuk
Casual Listener

Strength:

Clear sound!

Weakness:

Not 4 loudspeakers output!

Clear sound.But I think it could be 4 outputs for ludspeakers.I`ts preout-good! The radio is good !

Similar Products Used:

Denon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 11, 2002]
URNVS
Audio Enthusiast

For anyone that has the bulb problem I picked up 2x white LED's from Fry's electronics for $3.50 each which very easily (using a 6k resistor) replaced the crappy bulbs.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2002]
Thomas Machon
Casual Listener

Strength:

sound & price

Weakness:

bulbs

This receiver was my debut as a NAD-listener, and is by far the product I''ve valued most. I''m surprised to see the poor reviews the 705 has got. For a receiver in this pricerange it sounds great. O.K. I must admit that the remote is bad, the handling worse and the display is crap! But then again - the SOUND...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 26, 2000]
David
Casual Listener

Strength:

build, sound, independent record/listen controls

Weakness:

display lights burnt out

I have had this receiver since Jan '93. The overall sound is quite good, but it could use a little more treble. It sound's very warm and neutral. The FM tuner is also quite good, picking up most stations. I also like the fact that you can listen to one source while recording from another. Very few receivers at the time I bought it had this feature.

Compared to the competition at the time, this was the best sounding receiver for the price ($500CDN)

I agree that the display is poorly designed, but my lights only burnt out once in 7 years, and I guess I can live with that. Besides this problem, I never had any trouble with this unit, it has performed very well over the last 7 years.

Similar Products Used:

Nakamichi, Denon

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com