Mitsubishi MVR-800 Receivers

MVR-800

A/V RECIEVER 70 Watts x 5 channels Dolby Digital(AC-3)

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
pat beaudry   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2014]

this is an update to my 2012 review on the mv-r 800 a/v receiver. I had made a comment that mits would more than likely pull there products out of the USA some time soon . at a press conference in dec 2012 MEDA (Mitsubishi electronics) stated that they would cease production of all consumer products for the USA .the only thing that I can find that might work as a consumer unit is a few 3 panel DLP units that are set up for custom install.so another one bits the dust .Panasonic ,Sony and Samsung have also discontinued a few more of there video lines . what are we going to be left with ?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
pat b   AudioPhile [Aug 17, 2012]

i sold mitsubishi products for over 20 years(ever hear of a 35 in tube by mits)or there hsu52 vcr,i laugh at all the 'audiophiles' that say the mvr line of receivers and a/v rec receivers are low end,don't have any features,no power.mitsubishi did not source the units,they where made by our friends at Onyko except the remote and codes.i have had the mvr600 pro-logic,the mvr800 digital dolby(replace a pioneer vsx5500 pro logic)the mits/onkyo has much better headroom and rattled my windows ,never distrted the speakers i was using at the time.marantz HD880s a mits m-ctr6 ,and a pair of mits mds616 mtm for rear.i was overjoyed with thesetup for about 7 yrs.uniti i replaced it with an onyko tx-sr706.we in the usa talked ourselves out of mits audio ihn the 80's .no one was willing to pay for a quality product.mits is down to 2 product lines of tv's and i would not be suprised if they exit the usa.like nec tv's,like pioneer plazma tv's and others.i have three digital dolby a/v rec by mits and not one has been in the shop.2 mvr1000 used and my original mvr 800 for my bedroom. to bad mits electronic sales will not be in the us to much longer. they had a quality line of audio products until 2002.i will miss them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ETCpfd   Audiophile [Nov 29, 2000]
Strength:

More features then I could ask for, powerful amp, great cooling system, 40 pounds of pure power.

Weakness:

none that i can see yet

I dont understand how the other people could say that this receiver is just "fair". This thing has enough features to please my every need in a A/V receiver. With inputs for two tape decks, a cd player, aux, two VCRs, DVD, TV and a camcorder, I dont see where you could really go wrong. Unless you are some kinda freak. The cooling fan, it's massive heat sinks, over sized transformer, gargansuous B caps and bananna plug compatable speaker posts for all channels are just a few signs of a quality unit. Another good point...why is this classified as just a receiver and not in the A/V receiver section? Oh well, this thing is perfect in my opinion.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha RX-396, Pioneer vintage POS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bob dole   Audiophile [Nov 29, 2000]
Strength:

lots and lots of neat features, lots of power, built like a tank, god sound

Weakness:

remote, some features diffucult to use

A great a/v receiver yes its a a/v receiver dont ask me why these shmucks put it under receiver i just thought id point that out. Anyway this thing is built like a tank weighs 40 pounds giant heat sinks its just a massive receiver it has 5 seperate amps cooling fan its just built good. Has every feature you could ask for. Great sound to it. Could be a bit easier to use and a better remote but besides that a exelent receiver. The guy below is a full Mitsubishi stands behind there products and by the way every once in a while a company makes a mistake he got the dud thats why you can return stuff if he returned it and got another he would understand that there good anyways i recomend disregarding him cause he knows nothing. Hey if youre not sure about this receiver just listen to it and im sure youll like it

Similar Products Used: yamaha, jvc, sony, rca, sounddesighn
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2000]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

very poor quality

thing only worked 4 days, Mitsubishi does not support their electronic products - buyer beware!

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, JVC, Pioneer, Carver
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ETCpfd   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 29, 2001]
Strength:

Build quality, sound quality

Weakness:

16-bit/44.1kHz DAC, no DTS, no 5.1 input, no component, died in about a month

Over all I thought this was a good receiver. It had enough options that I need, it sounded very clear, and was built like a tank. Today when I turned it on, it only functioned in two surround modes, 3 channel prologic, and stereo. I tryed everything to make it go into the other modes, but nothing worked. I switched between components to see if it was just on cd that it was messed up, but it was no use. When I went back to cd, the optical input stopped working. I dont know what happened to it. I am going to return it tonight. It was a good receiver for $300. Hell its a good receiver for $500, but I guess it was just its time. I bought it as a floor model and I know that it was made in 97. It was old.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
J   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 25, 1999]

Fair reciever for the price($400 closeout) not much to complain about. I haven't had it very long (8/10/99). I will report on it's progress.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com