Marantz 2250B Receivers

Marantz 2250B Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

50 wpc, built 1976-1977

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Mar 07, 2010]
dakatabg
AudioPhile

Price Paid: $165.00 from craigslist

Summary:
I got this beast on craigslist for the great price of $165. The receiver was restored and all the light were changed. Everyone was talking how good those Marantz receivers are and I decided to get one. What can I say about the sound? You can tell by the reviews of the other people and the brand name! It is a very clear sound with deep bass and the mids and highs are so clear. This silver face with the light will take your eyes right away! The receiver can drive any speakers with a lot of power. It is rated 50W but it sounds for 10 times more so don't judge by the wattage.

Strengths:
Clear warm sound, great bass, mids and highs with adjusting levels

Weaknesses:
None

Similar Products Used:
Sansui, Mcintosh, Yamaha, Pioneer and all old classic receivers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2006]
RocknRum
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound and good looks.

Weakness:

May require maintenance of technician quality unless your a do-it-your-selfer with some knowledge of electronics and a strong desire to learn.

Very smooth sounding receiver and yes it is audiophile quality by any means.
Old audio equipment should be checked by a vintage tech before using.
This sounds better than my Yamaha RX-V870 surround. Also sounds better than my Pioneer SX-980 somewhat. One quarter volumne is usually loud enough, but one half volumne will really rock the place. This will blow away the 80 watts per channel yammie I have. Sonically the best I've listened to so far.This I'll never part with.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer SX-980
Marantz 1515

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2004]
jawzx
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Superb build quality, Excelent sound for the vintage, Great tuner out-performs almost anything made today, Plenty of inputs, Pretty to look at

Weakness:

HF performance not as focused or smooth as quality modern equipment, Tone controls and pre-amp circuit seem to be the weakest link, amplifyer section sounds better on it's own.

A great, reliable, well built peice of equipment. Sounds good enough to listen to, I still keep it around for the tuner. I bought a 2250 at a yard sale when I was 12, it was my first step up form the Fisher Price recod player I had since I was 6. It initialy blew me away played through my dad's old Electro-Voice speakers. Sure it was step up from the Fisher Price unit... Any way I continued to enjoy this receiver for many years to come, with my Sony cd player, EPI model 70s, then Paradigm Titans and fianly Paradigm Mini-Monitor V1s, at which point I realized my receiver was now the limiting factor, not my speakers. I replaced it with a Jolida 101 integrated tube amp, but the Marantz's awsome analog adjusted PLL tuner continued to provide my AM/FM until the Onkyo TXDS494 rocketed me into the multi-chanel world. The Marantz is built like a tank in all respects, and has a great look with all the soft blue and creamy-white light comming from the front panel. The amplifyer section may actualy be stronger than the pre-amp section in over all audio quality (running the variable outputs from my Sony CD directly into the processor loop in on the Marantz yeilded cleaner treble and tigher bass) and although it's sound is stellar for solid state equipment of it's vintage it manages to be both a little smeary and a little grainy in the top octives. Bass performance is good, but it doesn't rule with an Iron Fist the way some Sansui and all McIntosh equipment of this vintage does. Then again it was less expensive than either when new. Midrange sound is smooth reasonably dynamic and mostly free of color. Better built than anthing you can buy today for less than $2000, and still good enough to run a second system without too many apologies. I suspect I'll pass this unit to my children or grand-children (if I ever have any) and someone might still be using and enjoying it 100 years from now.

Similar Products Used:

Sansui G-5700 McIntosh MAC-1900 Sherwood receiver

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 04, 2004]
dahMarantzGuy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

clean and plenty of power tube amp

Weakness:

no remote

I purchased this amplifier about 5 yrs ago. I moved from a small boombox to this amp. It kicks ass. It has plenty of power. it is aways crystal clear and crisp sound. Unlike the models of today it has a pleseant warmth to it. I have never hand any problems with it. Except for the fact that the power switch needs to be cleaned about every year and half. It becomes a hasle to just turn on. I would recomend this amp for anyone

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 10, 2003]
danfs
AudioPhile

Strength:

I love this reciever due to the control you get over the sound.

Weakness:

None. This is a 20 year old reciever, and its still kicking ass. This reciever is better than alot of the new stuff out there today. I work at Future Shop (Best Buy Canada), and I am around alot of audio equipment and this surpasses alot of the new stuff from Sony, Yamaha ect... The only new reciever I would say compares would be a Harmon Kardon.

This is an amazing system. Currently I have the Marantz 2250 B on a brand new pair of Athena AS-F1's. This reciever is driving these nicely. Rated at 60 X 2 this pushes harder than that. And rocks these speakers.

Similar Products Used:

Harmon Kardon Yahama Sony JVC Malata Toshiba Technics Panasonic (aka technics)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 20, 2003]
Recordcollector1957
AudioPhile

Strength:

Clear, crisp, clean sound...additional jacks in the front for dubbing...all around, just a heckuva unit!

Weakness:

Too bad this monster doesn't have a remote to it...and it weighs almost 40 pounds!

My ex-mother in law gave me a Marantz 2250B that someone she once worked for didn't have any use for at the time...and does this receiver KICK SOME SERIOUS ASS! The sound is so clean and crisp...it ran the little Optimus STAV-3280 right out of the neighborhood! I can crank this thing up and the sound is still clean...not distortion whatsoever...and as I am a record collector it really brings out the sound of those old 45's and 33's! It is, without a doubt, the absolute BEST receiver I have ever owned!

Similar Products Used:

Optimus STAV-3285 (Radio Shack brand), Fisher

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2003]
Patrick
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent build quality and very good sound quality.

Weakness:

Whadda ya mean for 8 bucks weaknesses ya gotta be kidding.

Hey folks just adding my 2 cents worth of opinion here, take it for what is worth to you. The receiver I am reviewing is the Marantz 2245. I wrote an earlier review on the 2230 in the 2220 section. I still own the 2230. I need to get the speaker connections fixed on it though. I found the 2245 at Value Village for $7.99. I plugged it in, it lit up, however there were no speakers to test it with. I decided to chance to my luck and buy it. Took it home unhooked the 2230, hooked up the 2245 and Goody for me worked. The 2245 and the 2230 are very similar sounding, some people claim the 2230 is more musical. All I can say to that is damn those guys must have dog like hearing. I did notice that the 2245 had somewhat better control in the bass region. It didn't really get any lower than the 2230 just had more authority down there. I use a test LP to set my system up. The LP has a variety of tests to help you set your system. One of the tests is a series of test frequencys from 10 khz down to 30 hz using the tone controls to get a flat response. The Mid And Treble are set to flat with the Bass set to 1 o'clock. The output is useful to below 50 hz there is still output at 30 hz but it isn't of much use. The 2245 sounds great with all types of music. The older Marantz receivers from the 70's are a worthwhile buy as long as the buyer is aware of what they are buying. These old receivers are good but they are not Audiophile quality by any means.

Similar Products Used:

Marantz 2230

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2003]
Art S
AudioPhile

I bought this 2250B off from ebay, after suffering an extreme case of "audiophilia nervosa" from the loss of my main system in a divorce: modded Mesa Baron power amp, Audible Illusions Modulus 3 pre-amp (both with NOS tubes), Pass Labs D1 DAC, modded CEC TL-1X CD transport, B&W Nautilus 803 speakers, REL Stentor III sub, modded VPI HW-19 Mk III 'table/Van den Hul Frog cart./Well Tempered Labs Classic 'arm, Yamaha CT-7000 vintage FM tuner, Sony K679 ES cassette deck, Nordost SPM Reference bi-wire spkr. cables, XLO Signature and AudioQuest Anaconda i/c's, Aurio's M.I.B."s, etc. It had taken many years of swapping in/out of various components, and a lot of expensive mistakes to assemble that system, when I had finally reached the point where I was satisfied, or nearly so, with everything in the system. You could say that I know what sounds good, and what doesn't. The 2250B is certainly not in the league of a 'He-Man rig" such as the one listed above, but I can say that I'm not dissappointed with it's performance. I've driven several different speakers with this receiver, and it seems to have the current enough to not stumble when pushed hard, given it's 50 wpc rating. The tuner section could be a bit more sensitive and quieter, but this is not a 2130 or 150, so that's that. Also, even though I've never been one to use tone controls/EQ's on a home audio system, the bass/mid/treble pots on the vintage Marantz' are fairly useful for speakers that are less than reference caliber. Most "old" marantz is the "good stuff". If you can find it in good condition, buy it - you won't be sorry. It sounds, functions, and holds up much better than most of the modern equipment on the market today.

Similar Products Used:

You name it, I've probably owned it or heard it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2002]
Dwight Marshall
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Tons of Clean Power... Great Tuner... Beautiful design with the wood case

Weakness:

need to open it up to replace two lightbulbs...

2245... I have been drooling over Mac receivers on Ebay for awhile.. I'm not in the income bracket to afford a good Mac yet.. So I started looking at the Older Marantz with the beautiful Blue Dial... I finally found a 2245 with the Wood Case..I am so happy with it... It is hooked up to my Klipsch Heresy speakers.. and it's the nicest stereo I have heard in awhile... the power is amazing.. I love it..

Similar Products Used:

Luxman 105, Klipsch Heresy and Kg 2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2000]
Greg
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build quality. Sonic clarity.

Weakness:

Wish it had a remote.

I have coveted a Marantz receiver ever since first seeing them in the '70s. It was not until recently that I found an excellent and varied market for these classics on eBay. I was curious about the raves over the "warm" Marantz sound. After doing several side-by-side comparisons with my mid-tier Sony AV receiver, I am convinced that it is not my imagination -- the Marantz is, indeed, much more pleasing to the ear. This is especially true for the FM section. The Marantz absolutely crushed the Sony's tuner(which sounded really edgy and annoying particularly during soft piano pieces). The tuner pulls in all those hard to reach stations in the NY area. I have decided to use the Sony only for watching movies and the Marantz exclusively for serious listening.

As for the previous reviewer's eBay experience, I understand that there can be bad situations, but all my eBay dealings have been first rate.

Treat yourself to one of these beautiful units. Spend the money to have it serviced if necessary. I think it would be difficult to be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

Vintage Yamaha, Sansui

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com