JVC RX-212 Receivers

JVC RX-212 Receivers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[May 22, 2010]
STANLEY ANDREW HUMECKI
AudioPhile

PAID $40.00 AT A PAWN SHOP. EVERYBODY THAT COMPLAINES ABOUT ANYTHING EXCEPT THE REMOTE IS LOST. THE REMOTE LACKS THE POWER ON/OFF ABILITY. I RUN MY COMPUTER THROUGH IT AND IT POWERS RESTORED ADVENT 1 LOUDSPEAKERS. THOUGH NOT VERY EFFECIENT, MIN. 30 WATTS REQUIRED TO START WORKING, THERE IS NO PROBLEM RUNNING AT 1/4 VOLUME AND HEARING ALL THE LOWS AND HIGHS. I SUSPECT PEOPLE MIGHT NOT UNDERSTAND ACOUSTICS AND SPEAKER PLACEMENT CONCEPTS. THERE LOSS. SO, IF YOU RUN ACCROSS ONE AND IT IS INEXPENSIVE AND WORKS, DON'T BE AFRAID!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 29, 2009]
Peter
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Life-span
Output
Phono

Weakness:

No digital outputs
Knob adjustment issues

Great 'ol receiver this...Worked for many years. The CD-player and the cassette-deck in the package are long gone, receiver still working...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 03, 2003]
aaron
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

reliability, good quality sound for price, decent power, strong highs.

Weakness:

no power button on remote, not as much power as i would like.

I love my old JVC, my parents bought it for me when i was younger, so i dont remember the exact price or place of purchase. this thing has done me good though. right now, i have it up at college with me. and im pushing a couple of 3 way 12s. they sound damn good for a cheap, old receiver. they'll pound pretty hard. my receiver competes pretty closely with a newer sony reciever thats supposed to be pushing quite a bit more power. its a good receiver.

Similar Products Used:

kenwood receiver

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2003]
Papik
Casual Listener

Strength:

- the bass is good. - big volume knob. - sound pretty good as for the price.

Weakness:

- weak highs.

Well, since i have this receiver it works correctly and didn't need any repairs. I have many sources connected to it such as computer, CD player, tape deck and my TV. Althrough the sound isn't bad, the highs are rather poor. But I think the problems are my speakers. When I connected my father's speakers the sound was good (better than with my set). So generaly i'm satisfied with this amp. As for the tuner - it recieves most stations correctly but sometimes the it goes into mono even when the signal is good. Im using an antena mounted on the roof. Generaly I cannot complain. For this kind of money I can't expect much. As for the remote control i can't say anything because i don't have it. I bought this JVC ocasionally and I didn't get one. If you have a chance of buying this JVC in a low price - why not? For this kind of money it's good enough.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 30, 2002]
julester
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price, phono input

Weakness:

Poor sound quality, Remote control is miserable (power button issue), bad tuner (the stereo separation is poor), ugly

This amp seemed great at the time, a really good deal, right? Well, back then I didn't know there could be a difference between amplifiers, but let me tell you, this is about as bad as they get (for component systems). There is very low frequency range (NOT 20Hz-20KHz). This would be an excellent amplifer for one way speakers, but this can't adequately power the lows of a woofer and the highs of a tweeter. I also find it necessary to turn it up to 12o'clock to get any power out of it, and I don't like turning things any higher than that. Some friends gave us this vintage Sansui 7070 receiver, and it blows the JVC away. Better highs, MUCH better bass, and more power. The only thing the JVC has on it is a remote controller (because they didn't make remotes back when the Sansui was made). The tuner is also much better on the Sansui, it seems much wider (it was like going from mono FM to stereo FM). By the way, I know that I am really spoiled now, but now that I have heard what the JVC doesn't have I can never go back!

Similar Products Used:

Harman Kardon AVR 40, Sansui 7070, Onkyo TX-8511, Nakamichi RE-1

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 18, 2000]
Larry Savage
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Dependablity & ease of use

Weakness:

none

Well I have had this receiver for over 5 years. It has always worked well. It sounded good with a good bass response & clear, rich sound. We also used it with out Home Theater system wiring it into the TV for surround sound. It has worked great from the beginning. I have never had any service performed on this unit. I'm sure this product has long been discontinued, but if you happen to see one at a yard sale or perhaps on EBay you might want to pick it up. I recently upgraded to a Sony STR-DB830 & donated my JVC to my parents. I'm sure it has many good years of service left.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 19, 2001]
Chris Atkinson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build-quality, ease of use, cool large volume knob, awesome sound for the money.

Weakness:

No power switch on the bookshelf system-sized remote. Crappy volume levels with 4 speakers. Noticable background hiss at any volume- worse with higher volumes.

All in all, this is a good little reciever. I recieved it as a gift for Christmas 1996, so I honestly don't know the price. It has performed well over the past 4.5 years, even through my first 2 years of college where I frequently pump my MP3s and DVDs through it at loud volumes.

Raves:
It offers great sound and goes plenty loud if you live in an apartment or dorm (50w x 2) where you can't have it maxed out all the time so you don't annoy your neighbors. The coolest thing is the large volume control in the middle- I don't know why, but it's always been a neat cosmetic feature. It has a strong tuner, and I can pull in a great classic rock radio station 50 miles away with the supplied FM antenna. It has enough inputs to where I can have my CD player, tape deck, and computer plugged in at once, and there's still a couple sets of RCAs left for another tape deck or turntable, if you so desire. Great solid bass and overall clarity.

Rants:
I hate the remote- while good all in all, it's the size of a bookshelf system's... and where's the power switch? Wow, who left out THAT feature? That's been driving me nuts for years. The main thing that grates me is the background hiss, evident at moderate to higher volumes, and it just gets worse as you turn it up. It really blows, but if you keep it at moderate levels, it's not really too noticable unless there is a flute solo or something to where it quiets down the music enviroment to a near-silence. During a Pearl Jam song, for example, you can't hear it at any level really. But if you're into acoustic Clapton stuff or classical music, anything with quiet areas or periods of silence, it will become apparent. If you also turn off your source and turn up the volume, it REALLY becomes apparent. Ick.

Verdict:
Frankly, I'm getting into home theatre now (Dolby Digital/DTS) and need more power/inputs/outputs/features than this JVC can offer. I'm about to upgrade to the new Sony STR-DE675 reciever. If you're looking for a solid, great sounding unit for the money, I don't think I'd look any further. If you find one of these on eBay or at a swap meet in good condition, pick it up! Good speaker wire highly recommended.

-Chris

P.s.: My personal JVC RX-212 will be for sale shortly. Contact me for details. sales@chrisatkinson.net

Similar Products Used:

Sony, Technics

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 08, 2001]
Kevin Wettengel
Audiophile

Strength:

Cosmetics, and over all build.

Weakness:

the mosfiet heatsync, power output,

If you ask me, this unit is alot better then the Sony STR - 135, Altough it lacks power its pretty solid. I picked it up not to long ago, I would normally not do this.. I usually grab the older stereo systems. I thought I would give this little JVC a chance. To my suprise it does ok. I almost feel cheated paying 20 bucks for this, but thats life. But if you do see this little unit at a garage sale or goodwill. pick it up if the price is right. All in all, they just don't make them like they used to. :(

Similar Products Used:

Sony STR - 135, Toshiba sc-335

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 26, 1998]
Tim
an Audiophile

it sounded like a good deal at $99. HA!yeah right, the bass SUCKS even though they claim it goes down to 20Hz.
The remote has no POWER switch on it. this receiver BLOWS but i suppose it is good for only $99.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
[Dec 02, 1998]
sam hu
an Audiophile

I use one of these in the office. No complaints, especially for the money. Does not look or sound as if it is built down to a price, although I'm sure it is. I use it with a JVC Cassette Deck and JVC 5CD Changer. Appreciate the Computer Link function, which makes these two non-remote controlled JVC sources R/C controlled from the receivers remote. Also switches input automatically on the receiver, whenever a CD or cassette is played. Also starts cassette recording (from record-pause mode) when you play a CD. Simple and effective.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com