Harman Kardon HK3370 Receivers

HK3370

HARMAN KARDON STEREO RECEIVER, 70 WPC, 5 AUDIO INPUTS, SUB OUT => Model HK3370

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Dale   AudioPhile [Jun 11, 2015]

I use this tuner with a pair of Boston HD 10s WoW!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2003]
Strength:

Look, power

Weakness:

Sound

How (not) to buy a stereo... I had this very old stereo with a Nikko receiver, a Philips multi-CD player and a pair of RFT east german (old history) three way bookshelf speakers which I bought for almost nothing (about 500 US dollars for the set). The sound was good, very lively and very dynamic, but not very clear. After almost 15 years, I decided it was time for a change. First, I found a cheap pair of Jamo two way bookshelf speakers (E 601) which had very good reviews. I bought them for a 100$ and put them on my old stereo. The sound was much clearer than with the RFT's but it had lost its dynamics and bass. I decided (god knows why) that the receiver and the CD player were responsible for the bad quality of the sound. So I went to a HIFI shop were they told me that Harman Kardon was the best one could buy if he didn't have enough money for NAD. I came back with a HK 3370 receiver and a HK 8380 multi-CD player and connected them with the Jamo E 601. All the fun I had listening to music disappeared immediately: no dynamics and an incredibly boring sound. So, here I am with two receivers, two multi-CD players and two pairs of bookshelf speakers. The best to do, I figured out, was trying all possible combinations and finding the best possible arrangement. What I discovered is that the receivers and speakers were not so easy to choose from but that there was an incredible difference between the two CD players, Philips being much better than HK. So, I ended up with the HK 3370 receiver, the Philips Cd player and the old RFT speakers. I could have kept the NIKKO receiver but this was just to hard given the fact that a great amount of money was spend for the HK. Several month later, there was an offer for JMLab Chorus 715 speakers in a local shop and I could test them with the HK 3370 receiver and FL8380 CD-player. Now, here was a real change. With these high quality and bi-wired speakers, which have a quiet crispy sound, the HK products became able to produce an interesting sound. Listening to music was fun again and there was a global improvement compared to the (good) old stereo I had. Different conclusions can be drawn from this stupid little story (except the one that I will never buy a stereo again without listening to it for hours): 1) HK products are bad, not on the technical level but in the sound they produce 2) HK products are good, but they need very good speakers (especially in the high's) to produce what they are build for One suitable conclusion could be that HK wants to be in a segment of the market which is neither audiophile nor your usual asian cheap stereo model. In this part of the market there is a small risk that you make products which cannot produce the very good sound of the high-end elements (image, clarity, coherence, etc.) and which are also loosing some of the basic features of the cheap HIFI components (dynamics, fun). The result then is not something hybrid but just a totally boring product. Maybe HK did that mistake and lost its reputation in the process.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Frank   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2003]
Strength:

Look, power

Weakness:

Sound

How (not) to buy a stereo... I had this very old stereo with a Nikko receiver, a Philips multi-CD player and a pair of RFT east german (old history) three way bookshelf speakers which I bought for almost nothing (about 500 US dollars for the set). The sound was good, very lively and very dynamic, but not very clear. After almost 15 years, I decided it was time for a change. First, I found a cheap pair of Jamo two way bookshelf speakers (E 601) which had very good reviews. I bought them for a 100$ and put them on my old stereo. The sound was much clearer than with the RFT's but it had lost its dynamics and bass. I decided (god knows why) that the receiver and the CD player were responsible for the bad quality of the sound. So I went to a HIFI shop were they told me that Harman Kardon was the best one could buy if he didn't have enough money for NAD. I came back with a HK 3370 receiver and a HK 8380 multi-CD player and connected them with the Jamo E 601. All the fun I had listening to music disappeared immediately: no dynamics and an incredibly boring sound. So, here I am with two receivers, two multi-CD players and two pairs of bookshelf speakers. The best to do, I figured out, was trying all possible combinations and finding the best possible arrangement. What I discovered is that the receivers and speakers were not so easy to choose from but that there was an incredible difference between the two CD players, Philips being much better than HK. So, I ended up with the HK 3370 receiver, the Philips Cd player and the old RFT speakers. I could have kept the NIKKO receiver but this was just to hard given the fact that a great amount of money was spend for the HK. Several month later, there was an offer for JMLab Chorus 715 speakers in a local shop and I could test them with the HK 3370 receiver and FL8380 CD-player. Now, here was a real change. With these high quality and bi-wired speakers, which have a quiet crispy sound, the HK products became able to produce an interesting sound. Listening to music was fun again and there was a global improvement compared to the (good) old stereo I had. Different conclusions can be drawn from this stupid little story (except the one that I will never buy a stereo again without listening to it for hours): 1) HK products are bad, not on the technical level but in the sound they produce 2) HK products are good, but they need very good speakers (especially in the high's) to produce what they are build for One suitable conclusion could be that HK wants to be in a segment of the market which is neither audiophile nor your usual asian cheap stereo model. In this part of the market there is a small risk that you make products which cannot produce the very good sound of the high-end elements (image, clarity, coherence, etc.) and which are also loosing some of the basic features of the cheap HIFI components (dynamics, fun). The result then is not something hybrid but just a totally boring product. Maybe HK did that mistake and lost its reputation in the process.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steven T   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2002]
Strength:

Decent soundstage. Can be found on ebay or ubid for cheap. Power amp section is decent.

Weakness:

Muddy bass, lack of dynamics. Tuner section is low quality

I have used this receiver on and off for a little over a year. It is a good unit to have as a backup if your primary/favorite amp breaks down (which I have had plenty of experience with in the last year). The sound cannot compare to any of the integrated amps I have used, including a 12 year old Harman Kardon which cost less than the 3370. The sound is dry and lacks dynamics, but the soundstage is decent. As the previous reviewer noted, the tuner is very low quality. I like to listen to FM radio as background music, but this receiver does not make it enjoyable. It is like listening to a shelf system. The amp has plenty of power, and is probably not the problem with this receiver. I suspect the preamp is to blame for it's lack of quality sound. The receiver does have preamp out/main in jacks, so it can be used with a better quality preamp. I have used the power amp section of the HK3370 with a Denon AVR and had good results, but reconnecting the internal preamp brings back the muddy bass and lack of musicality. I have now retired the unit back to it's box in favor of a new NAD C320BEE, and there is simply no comparison. The new amp has not even broken in yet, but surpasses the sound quality of the HK3370 by leaps and bounds. Bass is much tighter, instruments sound more natural, and the soundstage just opens up. If you can find this receiver at $150.00 or less, (preferably less) it may be a good deal for someone who listens to music in the backround, but for serious listening I suggest an investment in a decent integrated such as NAD or Rotel. A separate tuner also makes a world of difference if you listen to FM.

Similar Products Used: No other 2 channel receivers used.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
joshcloud9   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

Goes loud, fairly revealing

Weakness:

Tuner is abysmal, Sound is overly warm, artificial.

I purchased a HK3370 and HK3470 from Harman direct, refurb units. Both appeared new and unused. Both sound sonically very similar, perhaps the more powerful 3470 drives my 4 ohm B&W Minipods slightly better? Amlifier section: Sounds a fairly open soundstage, but has a definite warm or smoothed-over sound that is not my personal preference. Tuner section: The tuner section is awful, I purchased a Technics ST-K55 tuner (formerly part of a cheap psuedo "seperates" system) for $29 on eBay and it comprehensively outperforms the HK tuner in all aspects! A/B comparisons are strikingly different even with just a 3" trailing wire adapter (Terk antenna) as the only antenna for the Technics it walks all over the HK! I am returning the HK units and await the arrival of my Creek 4330R :)

Similar Products Used: Pioneer A400 (UK model circa 1995) a Giant killer!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
gustavog   AudioPhile [Nov 02, 2002]
Strength:

Good looks, decent sound for the money. High current.

Weakness:

The obvious limitations of gear at this price point: compressed sound, limited dynamic range, etc.

Got this receiver as an interim amp while I was moving as I got rid of some of my old gear. I listen to 2 channel stereo so really don't care for home theater. For the price this a very nice amp. I used it with a pair of B&W CDM1 NTs and would drive them very easily. It has been replaced with an Arcam A32 integrated and obviously the difference is evident but I repeat that at the price it is the best it gets in stereo. I considered a similarly priced Onkyo but the speaker terminals were very cheap

Similar Products Used: Sony, Onkyo, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
palsgraff   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2002]
Strength:

Power, looks.

Weakness:

No optical or coaxial inputs.

I bought this unit as a "manufacturer refurbished" unit after checking at the HK site to see if Ubid was an authorized seller. Surprisingly, they are! That issue resolved, I thought that I would try an HK product after having looked at them for years in the store and being impressed with the look and sound. I was not disappointed. This unit arrived with the shrink wrap cover still on the plastic facing, leading me to wonder if it had ever been used. After connecting it and powering it up (a little unusual in that it has two power switches) I was delighted at the powerful, clean sound. The volume knob goes from roughly seven o'clock to five o'clock. I have been unable to go past the twelve o'clock position without covering my ears. Power -plus at 70 watts per channel. Easily outpaces any of the low end Japanese equipment rated at 100 watts (Sony and Aiwa). I think it might even have more muscle than my Yamaha RMV-620 that I use for home theater. I got the matching CDR-20, CD recorder to go with this unit. They look great, and so far have performed flawlessly. I will check back if I have a problem in the future, but for now it is love at first sight.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Sony, Aiwa (avoid at all costs)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
blindlar   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2002]
Strength:

Good looks, powerful amp, pre-amp out/in jacks, nice speaker cable binding posts, clean (no hiss) sound. If you want inexpensive, quality two-channel sound, it doesn''t get any better at this price.

Weakness:

The remote could probably be improved but it works for me. Ubid service isn''t the best, but for the price, who cares?

I found some reviews of this receiver listed under the HK 3270 and I think HK 3350 listings before purchasing. I bought the unit at ubid about 8 months ago for $160 with shipping. First off, buy this receiver. Mine was refurbished but I have no problems to report. I listen to two-channel music and didn''t want to pay extra for the five-channel surround features. My Proton D-940 gave up after it''s third repair trip and 15 years of hard service. After buying a house I didn''t have a lot left over for a stereo and was afraid I could only afford a piece of crap. I''ve got Mission 773e''s hooked up with DH Labs T-14 bi-wire speaker cable, IXOS interconnects, an a/d/s/ ms3/u sub and am getting some a/d/s/ mv15t speakers to back up the Missions. This system rocks and cost less than $1,300.00 with a Harman HDCD changer. You will not hear any hiss from this system. As noted on another review, you can stop your cd from playing and turn the volume all the way up and you won''t hear a thing. Awesome! It''s got pre-amp out/in jacks and quality binding posts (which you''re not going to find on any other product in this price range). It''s heavy (a good thing) and appears well built. The amp on this thing is seriously underrated. If you''ve got a reasonably sized room and efficient speakers, you don''t need more. The sound at high volume is undistorted and makes you wonder why you''d pay a fortune for a high-end amp. I guess I need to audition more expensive equipment, but I''m a pretty happy guy right now.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, Proton, Sony, Pioneer, etc..
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com