Fisher 500C Receivers

Fisher 500C Receivers 

DESCRIPTION

Fisher's classic 1960's tube receiver

  • 7591 tubes in a push pull configuration
  • FM tuner
  • Headphone output
  • MM Phono input

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 22  
    [Jun 08, 2020]
    jackyj


    Strength:

    nice product to buy funeral Barnsley

    Weakness:

    dont have any

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 08, 2020]
    shanti


    Strength:

    Welcome to MGA the world of Csgo, where you will have gaming escapades of your life. MGA offers you luxe en prime accounts because we believe in the trance of gaming experience and nirvana that can be reached by CSGO, MGA helps you to achieve that.
    csgo accounts and Why should you choose buyacsgosmurf over other portals similar to this one? Well firstly, the reason is that we have tied up with ShopRankedAccounts, the current leaders in providing smurf accounts to gamers.
    buy csgo smurf

    Weakness:

    Problems associated with power switch failure.

    Purchased:
    New  
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 21, 2018]
    tomvett


    Strength:

    Like many, I owned and rebuilt a lot of classic audio gear. I own a Fisher 800C which is the 500C with an excellent wide bandwidth AM tuner as well. First of all let me say that the Stereophile review of an old 500C has one big error. The phono stage measures much better after a recapping. Their sample was not recapped. If you own one of these, the replacement of all electrolytic and wax caps is really needed to return the unit to its original glory and the effort is not too high. I bought all new replacement quad canned caps with much higher temperature ratings than the original. The sound quality of the rebuilt Fisher 800C unit is excellent. There is a big 3D liquid quality to the sound which whether accurate or not, creates a rich organic sound that produces beautiful music. I own some excellent modern high end amplifier both HexFet and Bipolar. They sound superb with great detail but their reproduction is not as relaxing over extended listening to the Fisher. Compared to my old MC C22 and MC240, now sold, the Fisher sound is more open and detailed with a deeper soundstage than the Mc. The McIntosh is beautiful and extremely clean sounding but the low level detail in the music is simply less evident. Both units had great tubes and good components and measured in their specifications. Note that the Mcs technically measured better than the Fisher.

    Weakness:

    The on/off switch on the Fisher is integrated into the volume pot and will almost always fail over time. This is the case with my sample. Simply bypass the switch and use a surge protector to power on and off. Also the Fisher and all classic tube gear was made for 110 volt vs 124 volt power. This causes the tubes to receive more voltage today causing incorrect bias voltages which stress the units. The internet has very clear modifications options that correct this. I personally built a low cost bucking transformer that allows me to select lower bucked down voltage to 110 or 117 volts. They are easy and cheap to built and allow the units to perform within their original design parameters.

    Purchased:
    Used  
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 21, 2013]
    Fisher400
    AudioPhile

    This review is for the Fisher 400 receiver. The sonics from this receiver is superior to the many higher-end SS receivers I owned. The sound is clear, airy, ultra smooth and produces a huge soundstage.

    Two versions exist sharing the same amplifier sections, but with two different FM tuner sections. The later FM models have an additional IF section with a 6AU6 tube and are called Golden Synchrode. Either are fine receivers, the additional IF section provides better selectivity, but unlikely one would notice a difference. The Fisher 400 differs from the Fisher 500 & 800 series using 7868 power tubes vs the 7591 power tubes. The Fisher tuner sections are as good as it gets and IMO outperform most other FM tube type tuners in receivers.

    To achieve best sound from these vintage receivers is from installing the best tubes. I use Brimar CV4035 in the phono section. Sylvania 5751 3 mica black plate in the preamp & tone sections (socket V10, V11) and Tung Sol 12AX7 square getter black plate. (grey plate about as good) in the phase splitter section (V12, V13). One can sub Telefunken 12AX7 smooth plate in V10, V11 for close to the same sonics if slightly less bright.. The best sounding 7868 are RCA black plate and 1960s era Sylvania.

    These Fisher receivers are becoming much more collectable and especially so after the 6Moons review. Prices are now more inline at $500 and higher depending upon condition. The only upgrade this Fisher 400 should have performed is installing new power supply capacitors & rebuild the power tube bias supply. Perform a search on audiokarma for more info.

    The Fisher 400/500/800 series are well worth pursuing & a good investment.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 23, 2010]
    duboiz
    AudioPhile

    The Fisher 500c is a great tube receiver that will surprise you if you think old tube audio are muffled and tubby. Very smooth yet detailed with no top-end roll-off like some say about tubes. Tube rolling is cool too. If is quit amazing the differences in sound you can achieve with replacing some 12AX7th. You can spend some time until you find the one you like most.

    The 500c is great with efficient speakers, but I manage to drive almost anything I hooked to it, even Magnepan MMGs although ran hot as hell. After Stereophile glorify review prices of the 500c skyrocket so now they are not as affordable as they used to be several years back. I got mine about five years ago for $175 on eBay, and it was fully restored by VAC and in mint condition. Today you can't find a unit at that price even for a unit that is for parts or repair. Although they are cost more today i would still pay the full price due to their outstanding performance. When buying an old tube receiver that is 40 years old you need to make sure to calculate restoring since there are caps that are bad and some tubes might be near the end of life.

    As an audiophiles I was tempted to replace the Fisher with many amplifiers and never found one that can outperform it. The fisher was the first receiver that brought me to tears when I first listen to it. ( literally) I played Dianna Krall and she was right here in the room with me. (my kids will never forget it :)

    One thing I forgot to mention is the great tuner it got. Very sensitive and very pleasant to listen for hours.

    I highly recommend it but only if restored. If not you will surly have a background hum and sound will suffer. Also give it plenty of room to breeze. It can can run not when driving hard. I have a small fan circulating air around it and the benefit is also longer tube life.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Sep 11, 2004]
    dave blacke
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Strong sound, outstanding fm reception, clean look, FREE

    Weakness:

    Glass display is cracked in center, wood cabinet has a water ring on the top back

    Was driving through NY and spotted the 500-C on the curb. The only bad thing was that the front glass has a crack in the middle. other than that it is excellent. All original tubes, did the capactior change. Works great.

    Similar Products Used:

    pioneer sx-737 , fisher 800-b

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 27, 2003]
    Marantzguy
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Very smooth sound, wonderful FM stereo qualities, nice remote speaker functionality and decent headphone operation. Just a gorgeous looking set!

    Weakness:

    Problems associated with power switch failure. Generates a great amount of heat over output tube section, so adequate ventilation must be provided, especially if operated in wooden cabinets

    I have owned and restored more than twenty individual Fisher 500-C's over the past 20 years. All have been easily updated without any problems that I can remember. The basics are common capacitor upgrades (1:1 replacements), replacement of small electrolytics, updating of the power supply with a new BIAS electrolytic (can-type) or individual parts equivalent for the dual 1000 microfarad @ 50 WV (DC) unit, which sits insulated in a metallic clip, new full-wave rectifier and load dropping resistor to take the place of aging and commonly faulty original flat-wafer German made (Siemans) full wave bridge selenium rectifier. I have changed a few caps inside of the multiplexer by using high quality film types and on occasion, I have substituted precision metal film resistors in the phono section to tighten up aspects of performance. I also replace the main "top-hat" diodes in the power supply and of course, clean every tube socket, test the tubes and replace, as needed. Most importantly, it is absolutely necessary to update and modify the 500-C so that the bias is set to read -21.5 vdc in order to ensure long lifetime of the 7591-A output tubes. This is accomplished by substituting one resistor for another in the area around the same dual 1000 microfarad bias electrolytic mentioned above. Cleaning all controls is another absolute necessity. Al Pugliese (aka The Fisher Doctor), and a friend of mine, strongly suggests the installation of "fuse resistors" in the area of the output tubes to protect the output transformers in case of tube failure. After all this is done, if the set sounds decent on FM stereo, I generally leave things alone, rather than tweak around with the tuner section. When I owned my original Fisher 500-C as a teenager, I used to take it to service people on a regular basis to have it "aligned". I now feel that this was totally unnecessary and a waste of money, now that I realize that most of the faults in the set are easily corrected with new parts, ie., cap and resistor substitutions, common to any vintage piece. Apply a whisper fan over the output tubes and you have it! One last minor detail! If you are one of those individuals who obsesses over cleanliness, be aware that when cleaning the front dial glass, there is a significant chance that you may wipe off the lettering if you use products such as Windex, so please be aware of the possible danger! If it is generally clean, try to live with it. Fuse-lamps for the 500-C are difficult to locate and are needed in order to properly illuminate the dial. Certain other parts can be used in their absence, but real fuse-lamps are very nice to use. Good luck finding them! I have been given Fisher 500-C's for FREE before--which has to be the DEAL OF THE CENTURY, but it has happened! I remain BIG FAN of them! Rich Links Berkeley, CA

    Similar Products Used:

    Scott tube receivers, McIntosh 1700 receivers, other Fisher separates, with which the 500-C compares very favorably. FM performance in the 500-C is above average for a vintage piece and is not quite u

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 09, 2002]
    oldhippiefart
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    Sound is heavenly esp. if your into jazz or classical. FM is incredible...sounds like a CD.

    Weakness:

    Needs to be looked at by professional. Only 34 watt per channel but who cares unless you live in a mansion.

    This unit is the best I''ve ever had!! The sound is smooth as silk... smokey, luscious and above all musical. I bought on ebay w/case for 160. The fisher doc fixed it up for about 600. These old units need to be worked on so be careful. Do all your homework before you buy!! It will be well worth it!! This coupled with and old pair of JBLs, and a Dual 1229 w/ Shure v15 will delight evev the deaf.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 26, 2002]
    Dave Gomberg
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    One owner, always covered, like new (except usual loss of knob inserts)

    Weakness:

    Well, it is tube gear.

    This is a wonderful unit, as everyone has said. My partner got it in her divorce from her ex 35 years ago, and has now decided she wants buttons and can''t hear the difference in sound (hearing loss, me too). So it is for sale. One owner virgin. Works great, but I will test it again before taking anyone''s money.

    Similar Products Used:

    Nothing matches up. We run cheap imported stuff now.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Dec 03, 2000]
    p m l
    Audio Enthusiast

    The 7591's aren't expensive if you look. Got a matched quad test 90% or greater last month from a reputable dealer for $100.00. Look around. Sovtek 7591's are out in small quantities going for abot $20.00. Not enough to match yet, but why wait when dealers are trying to dump old good stock that has proven performance(JMHI).

    Want remote controled volume. Plug in a remote contol volume pot through the reverb jacks- cost around $200.00.

    The 500, 800 sound great. I don't know what a reference system is but have been to many concerts. Anyway it's all about the music. Have fun and enjoy! Paul

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 22  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com