TAG McLaren Audio AV32R Preamplifiers

AV32R

  • four-layer PCB
  • two digital outputs
  • five digital signal inputs
  • sound signal to external power amplifiers
  • five analog stereo inputs, plus a tape loop
  • 'learning' remote control, illuminated handset
  • powerful 16-bit Siemens C161RI microcontroller
  • four S-Video inputs via four-pin mini-DIN sockets
  • two S-Video outputs via four-pin mini-DIN sockets
  • four Composite Video inputs via RCA phono sockets
  • two Composite Video outputs via RCA phono sockets
  • six discrete analog outputs to feed a complete 5.1 surround
  • fully compatible with Dolby Digitalâ„¢, Pro Logicâ„¢, THX Cinemaâ„¢, and DTSâ„¢
  • upgrades available for Pro Logic IIâ„¢, HDCDâ„¢ and MPEG2â„¢. In preparation: DTS-ES 6.1 Discrete and DTS Neo:6

  • User Reviews (31)

    Showing 1-10 of 31  
    angel martin   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 04, 2011]

    Tengo el procesador Tag Maclaren audio av32 r averiado, necesito servicio tecnico en Madrid o en España para poder reparar el mismo, ya que no funciona el audio, la voz, no se oye nada.

    Por favor, si Vds. pueden reparar , diganmelo o el servicio tecnico que lo pueda hacer. Gracias

    mi email: kankel_s@telefonica.net

    Agradeceria me contestasen en español

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    dpl35   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2004]
    Strength:

    Clear, crisp sound. Picks up everything in a recording. Lots of software upgrades available through their website.

    Weakness:

    None yet, other than the unit can be pricey if not purchased used.

    This is a review for the AV32R. This is an excellent processor. I read reviews and got some great compliments on this processor. I found one used for a great price and took the plunge. I was updating from my Lexicon DC-1 (w/o AC-3). The Lexicon is a great unit, with excellent sound, but I wanted Dolby Digital/DTS, so I was looking to upgrade. To do this and not drop thousands of dollars was challenging, since the Lexicon is such a great unit. Well The Tag fits the bill. For music, the sound is excellent, very clear and full. I was listening to a live CD which I have listened to hundreds of times. With the AV32R, I heard background vocals that I've never heard before. I heard foot tapping and finger snaps that was all new to me. I listen to rock, jazz, funk and they all sound excellent with the AV32R. It also does a great job with movies. Much like music, the sound is very clear. The bass is solid and had my room rumbling. I have two very picky criticisms, the volume nob does not have that click-feeling with each turn which I like. The user manuals come in a CD jewel case, hence very small.

    Similar Products Used: Lexicon DC-1 Rotel RSP 1066
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Edwardo   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 2003]
    Strength:

    Audio quality Range of useful extra features Amazing price-performance Best upgrade programme among the top end manufacturers

    Weakness:

    Very low company profile despite the accolades from professional reviewers.

    From an audio perspective, the Dual Sharc version of the AV32R is identical to TAG McLaren’s flagship, the AV192R. Basically, it’s just packed into a slim-line chassis and lacks the video processing capabilities – hence the amazing price difference. The dual Analog Devices SHARC 21161 DSPs is a must have – with so much spare capacity TAG McLaren are already doing things that other manufacturers are still thinking about. The most powerful new function has to be the room equalisation. Even if my wife would have tolerated speakers being placed in optimal locations within the lounge, there would still have been room booms and other wrinkles present. Despite my big sub, I wasn’t hearing anything below 30 Hz before so we bent the curves a little and made a very useful difference. If you’re serious about the sound of your system, it is worth using a PC with a sound input card, lab-grade microphone and room acoustics package, such as ETF5, to assist your set up. With the AV32R DS’ built-in tone generators and this software, the difference was visible as well as audible - fun. Their equalisation facility is still only a few months old so the user interface hasn’t been perfected yet – IMHO but the flexibility is certainly there (I haven’t tried the latest set-up wizard). The effect is an unmistakable improvement according to my listening panel – management and integration of sub and main speakers is hugely improved (I have to admit I didn’t realise there was a problem until I heard it fixed). The big advantage of doing equalisation in the AV processor is that it does away with extra conversions between digital and analogue; extra cabling; extra connections and extra sources of interference. None of these extras is going to improve your sound quality – and once the quality is lost… So, how does it sound? That delightful sound stage, clarity and neutrality, so important to music lovers, is still there. The sound has changed slightly – there is definitely more life in it – but crisp rather than bright. Using later generation DSPs than the other big players allows much faster processing of signals – useful for THX Ultra 2 and Dolby headphones. So… if you want to critically analyse a DVD or the latest CD formats, this is the unit to use – you’ll get everything the source has to offer. Its also the unit to have if music is as important as Home Cinema to you. Support is second to none at the high end of the market – truly. They still make their own products entirely rather than buy-in sections or re-badge, so they can respond to suggestions. You see all this in a very active and open forum on their web site. Suggestions become features all the time – without any marketing fuss: child lock enabling on the processor (only the remote will control it); extending lip-synch all the way out to 250mS; separate lip-synch for each source; two-stage muting; room optimisation for two different listening positions; height channel; true analog bypass; XLR balanced outputs… This stream of goodies just keeps coming and with the huge processing power reserves of this system, it seems likely to continue for a long time to come. You can see it all at: http://www.tagmclaren.com/products/av32rDP/intro.asp Even without this constant stream of free new features, many of which are free, the AV32R DS has to be the most amazing bargain to come along in the Home Cinema market for a very long time. Try it with top quality components against any other high-end processor – especially those costing twice as much. A very pleasant experience is assured.

    Similar Products Used: Lexicon MC12
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    John PT   AudioPhile [Nov 19, 2002]
    Strength:

    Musical and refined. Price in europe.

    Weakness:

    None

    This review is about AV32R-bp192, the latest version of this excellent processor. I've been using it as an audiophile preamp, bypassing the analogue signal from my CD player and is was a surprise. The new DAC's and bypass facilities made this on of the better options. It works very well, good imaging, clean and detailed mids, sweet highs and powerfull bass. Working as an A/V processor there is no surprises - one of the best processors on the market.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    zapplerecords   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2002]
    Strength:

    Sound quality Ease of use Flexibility Build quality Hardware and Software upgradability Customer support

    Weakness:

    Could do with more inputs (see AV192R)

    I've had my AV32R for 2 years now and I wouldn't do without it! Yes there have been some software bugs but these are fixed with a new version of the software, downloadable free-of-charge from the TAG website. Since I have bought my AV32R it has been upgraded by the addittion of the DAB (Digital Radio) module and the new 192 DACs and 5.1 by-pass option. Sotware upgrades included HDCD and PLII. The unit can be re-cycled into the forthcoming AV192R with a full trade-in against the original purchase price. Try all of that with your Krells and Lexicons!!! I don't think so! Sound wise it was an improvement over my Linn Kairn pre and works well with both music and movies.

    Similar Products Used: Krell Lexicon ARCAM Proceed
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Lyta Somosi   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2002]
    Strength:

    can be upgraded, great build quality , silver model looks great , very good processing

    Weakness:

    sooo many problems, most of them not able to fix, very costly upgrades, remote is disaster, and many many more

    I know I will cause some dissaproval with this review but this is very bad product in my eyes. And here is why: (please do not make stupid comments as what woman knows etc) I bought this delighted from great reviews and nice promises but what I found out was disaster: Here are the facts only: There are so many bugs, most of them not corrected even within few software updates Unit is starting up from standby on its own!!! Remote can only very few functions, hence you need Pronto !!!???And this all by 4000 $ unit!!! Digital Input stays often quiet even if cd played Some menu settings are being forgot sometimes Unit Display setting is being forgot sometimes I must make it clear: This is not computer product, this should be audiophile product and it HAS to work , must not be so buggy. Let's continue For updating very expensive computer cable necessary (why should I pay fortune just to corect bugs) Analogue signals are digitised Action switches only in 7.1 version !!! Bypass and other upgrades very expensive No component video Very little space for RCAs, hard to screw WBT plugs on No XLR outputs (inputs) Have to pay for Dolby Pro Logic II - Nowdays a robbery There was no other way for us but to trade it in for a Lexicon, it is great how it simply can work ! Unfortenately too expensive

    Similar Products Used: Primare P30 now Lexicon MC12
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Richard Breakell   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2002]
    Strength:

    Clear, open soundstage, smooth and detailed, with excellent upgradeability. Good looks.

    Weakness:

    None that I can of.

    This isn''t necessarily a review I''m writing, but more of a question to those who have had the 5.1 analogue by-pass and 192kHz upgrade carried ot on their AV32R. In particular, what improvements have been made to a true stereo signal from a turntable, when bypassing the on-board DAC?

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Goi   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    Involving and dynamic surround sound Clear, well-defined soundstange/stereo-imaging despite lack of analog bypass Superb build quality Stylish design Reasonable price Upgradeability

    Weakness:

    Lack of analog bypass(stereo, 5.1) for SACD/DVD-A Lack of support for latest formats(DTS-ES, DD-EX, DPL2) No component video switching No component video input/output support(composite/S-Video only) RCA jacks not spaced out enough, difficult to use WBT connectors(still possible but a bit cramped)

    First off, I''''d like to say that the AV32R isn''''t a 5 star value and overall rating, but its much closer to 5 star than 4, so I gave it a 5. If you wanna get technical, I''''d give it a 4.8 for Value and 4.5 for Overall. I bought the basic TagMcLaren AV32R last October for around US$2800 and have been enjoying it ever since. I initially considered a Denon 3801 receiver, but after hearing it compared to even a low end prepro like the Parasound 1800, I decided to go the separates route. I looked at the Anthem AVM2, BK Ref 30, Integra RDC-7 and briefly considered the Outlaw 950, but after hearing the AV32R, and discovering its local price, I decided that was it. The AVM2 wasn''''t available here due to lack of 240V support, the Ref30 was not a lot cheaper, and the Integra was quite a bit more expensive. Music wise, I originally used the TMS5+sub mode to play my CDs, but after a few months I experimented with direct+sub, then direct mode, and found that direct mode produces the best soundstage, imaging, and realism among all the music modes. TMS5 was great if you desire an enveloping sound though, but the imaging was just a bit more vague and the sound more diffused. Turning down/off the sub yielded a more realistic picture of the music, as my Stratus Goldi''''s were more than capable of good bass performance(except extracting that last octave or dB) Movie wise, the sound was extremely involving. Gladiator, Saving Private Ryan, Matrix, Fast and the Furious, The Fifth Element, U-571 and other reference DVD material all played fantastically good. The new bp192 upgrade would be what I''''m shooting for next, as it addresses most of the AV32R''''s shortcomings, bringing the newest 7.1 formats(DTS-ES,DPL2), analog bypass and 24/192 DACs to the table. If the price and implementation is right, the AV32R bp192 would be the prepro to beat, and TagMcLaren would have a winner here, until the AV192R arrives. Associated equipment: Rotel RMB-1095 5 channel amp Eleptone FCD-1241 CD player Ancient Pioneer LD player Athlon Thunderbird 1.4GHz based HTPC with M-Audio Audiophile 2496 and ATI Radeon LE Panasonic 711U LCD projector PSB Stratus Goldi main speakers PSB Stratus C6i center speaker PSB Image 2B rear speakers Paradigm Servo-15 subwoofer Belden 1695A interconnects from source to AV32R CatCable SilverCats interconnects from AV32R to power amp.

    Similar Products Used: Not used but considered: BK components Ref30 Anthem AVM2 Integra RDC-7 Outlaw 950
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Ron Lotringer   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2002]
    Strength:

    build quality, size

    Weakness:

    bugy, vwery bugy indeed, no5.1 bypass yet, all signals digitized, remote not sensitive enough

    i still have this one in my second setup. it has great sound but so many bugs (even more with every new software release) that i had to move it to my second setup. otherwise processing is very nice, it is upgradeable and customer service is the best you might find around. unfortenately they are not capable of making it work without bugs. my version is 7.1 which is actually not such a big improvement as they would like it to be. i also used to have tag''s power amp but had to sold it because it is not nearly as good as my mcintosh amps. too bright for my taste. oh,yes tms mode is a good one. remote is one desaster. not sensitive at all and many commands are missing. so you have to buy pronto !!!??? price is a fair deal, but i am not completely happy with this one

    Similar Products Used: primare p30 before, lexicon mc-12 now
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    neil illing   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2000]
    Strength:

    great sound for both movies and music
    fantastic as a stereo pre amp

    Weakness:

    some say lack of inputs!! but how many do you really want
    there is plenty for most people ( not realy a big problem)

    i was looking for a digital home cinema processor that could also be used as a stereo pre-amp ,the av32r does all this with ease.
    the dolby ditital and dts processing is first class the soundstage is full and exciting !! the only thing that can touch it is the lexicon for quite a higher price tag !.

    when being used for a stereo pre-amp the av32r really stands out from most other home cinema amps... the audiophile pedigre steps in and wraps you in a fantastic and very alive stereo soundstage !!
    this performs much better than my last processor the cyrus av master..i still use my cyrus power amps with my av32r.

    anyone who wants a better class of digital processor should book a demo of the av32r i dont think you will be dissapointed...and also being 100% software upgradeable and with add on daughter boards for thing like dolby digital ex in the pipeline you carnt go wrong ...unless you have much more money to play with but who is worried with the av32r being this good at less than harlf the price in the uk of the lexicon processor !!!
    iam still being impressed each time it sit back and wacth a new movie or listen to music
    FANTASTIC!!! what can i say

    Similar Products Used: cyrus av master
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 31  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com