NAD PP-1 Phono Pre-Amp Preamplifiers

PP-1 Phono Pre-Amp

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
amccullough   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2004]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Life

I was content with this pre amp, but it only lasted about a year before one of the channels went bad.

Similar Products Used: Only preamp used, need to buy a new one now.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Ron C   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2003]
Strength:

Nice bass and mids highs are good as well.

Weakness:

For the money none

I also use the NAD PP 1 and i realy don`t think it sounds to bad at all. Fot the price there asking for it you can`t go wrong. My system is Anthem TLP-1 pre amp Anthem MCA 2 Poweramp NAD PP 1 phono stage Denon DP 60 L turntable Benz Micro MC20E2 MC cartrage Arcam CD 72 CD player. I think its all in the Cartrage your useing use a hi out put MC cartrage and the Nad PP1 will sound much better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vgind   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2002]
Strength:

Value for dollar

Weakness:

Lacs the certain sweet top, but hey it's only 99 bucks

A decent piece of equipment especially for the low price. Works best by being not grounded. No hum, no hiss, no hassle. Sound is in the good to very good category, not in the excellent range. I have it hooked up to a NAD 118 to transfer old vinyl to minidisc. WOrks out just fine

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
vgind   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2002]
Strength:

Value for dollar

Weakness:

Lacs the certain sweet top, but hey it's only 99 bucks

A decent piece of equipment especially for the low price. Works best by being not grounded. No hum, no hiss, no hassle. Sound is in the good to very good category, not in the excellent range. I have it hooked up to a NAD 118 to transfer old vinyl to minidisc. WOrks out just fine

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
neverland   AudioPhile [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

It is cheap and doesn''t sound bad.

Weakness:

It does not sweep you off your feet...

I am not too happy with the NAD PP-1 phono pre amp. The reason? I just don''t like the sound... The rest of my set is much better (more open, more detailed) and the NAD is just the weakest link. I bought it at the time, because I renewed everything at once and I ran out of my budget... the NAD was about the only thing I could afford at that time. It will certainly be replaced as soon as I can... But... meanwhile I still listen to it; at it is not completely bad... so if you are just a casual LP listener, this will be perfect for you. But don''t expect heaven from your TurnTable with this baby.

Similar Products Used: Integrated Pre-amps
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
David   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2000]
Strength:

smooth, unfussy sound. relatively inexpensive.

Weakness:

cheapish power cord.

considering the PP-1 is the first external phono stage i've ever used, i really have only onboard units to compare it to. i will say though, this little unit really makes my LP's sing. i have it connected to a NAD C370 amp and my modest, yet great sounding Technics turntable with Grado cartridge. i've noticed a marked improvement over my old Sony ES A/V reciever. LP's are played with greater depth, clarity, and less hum/rumble. this is a really great product.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Evan Trent   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 1999]
Strength:

On the brink of ridiculous value... It's $99 for crying out loud! Sounds amazingly good for that price.

Weakness:

A touch bass heavy, no ground.

I needed a Phono Pre-Amp for my NAD T770 and this was the logical choice. I'm very happy with it and for the money it's clearly the best choice. It would be nice if it had a ground, but I just use a screw on my receiver, which works fine. It seems to me that the PP-1 is a bit heavy on bass, but that could be my cartridge, or my receiver. I can't be sure.

Similar Products Used: Didn't really compare it back to back to any phono pre-amps, it was a no brainer at $99.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Des Roffey   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2001]
Strength:

Great little phono amp for the money

Weakness:

THE F#CKED UP POWER SUPPLY / LEAD

This is the best phono amp solution for a modest system at an affordable price, no questions about the actual amp - but do us a favour, buy / make a decent regulated 15V DC power supply with a screened light duty lead hard wired the pp1 board and you will not regret it !! the pretty good pp1 is transformed into something well worth owning. Sure it's still no Black cube or X LP but hey just think yourself lucky you're listening to vinal instead of mundain cd.
Cheers!

Similar Products Used: Black Cube , X lp
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Pete   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2002]
Strength:

Price, simplicity, reliability.

Weakness:

Not very resolving at the fequency extremes, magnet for RFI, just an overall boring sound.

This phono preamp is really just okay. It gets the midrange more or less right, and has a smooth non-fatiguing sound. However you will miss much of the excitement that is really buried in your vinyl.

The first problem with the unit is that it is a magnet for RFI. Turn the volume of your amp up and in addition to the "rushing" sound you get with all phono amps, you will also likely hear your friendly local radio station in the background. This contributes to an overall higher noise floor which robs the music of some dynamics. (In a high RFI area this problem might be very intrusive).

The second problem is that the unit is very weak at portaying details in the frequency extremes. Upright acoustic bass for instance takes on a dull, thudding sound where you should be hearing the woody tone of a real acoustic instrument. The same goes for the upper register, you just miss out on a good bit of the texture that (for instance) a violin can produce.

If all this sounds like nitpicking, well maybe it is, but that's what this hobby is about, right? Anyway, this unit is fine if you have a small record collection, or do not listen to vinyl a lot. It is comparable to the onboard unit of a decent integrated amp (back when they still had phono stages). I am a big fan of NAD's integrated amplifiers, but his product seems very much like an afterthought.

I recently purchased a Musical Fidelity XLPS which really takes the music to a whole other level for an additional $120. I will post a review of that unit in a few months.

Equipment:
Music Hall MMF2 Turntable
Grado Red Phono Cartridge
NAD C350 Integrated Amp
Meadowlark Hot Rod Kestral Speakers
Nordost Solar Wind Speaker Cables

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity XLPS, onboard phono stage for numerous integrated amps.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Tim Reed   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2001]
Strength:

Decent integrated RCA cords, Fantastic sound, Overall Value for the $'s,

Weakness:

None for the price

I use mine with a Music Hall MMF5 and a Marantz SR-19. The result is fantastic. After using mostly Technics 1200 with Ortophon carts throug a DJ mixer, this set up is from another planet. If you want to incorp. a turntable into a system without a phono stage, or the phono stage in your mid level receiver doesn't sound very good, Upgrade to this unit. You will not be dissapointed. It's only a little over $100, and if you don't like it, they go for around $80 on ebay. You can just turn around and sell it.

Similar Products Used: On board in an Adcom preamp, Marantz PM 94 integrated ( if you can ever find one....buy it), Rane mixers, and a cheap Bozak Maddison
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com