Yamaha DSP A-1000 Integrated Amplifiers

Yamaha DSP A-1000 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

(See reviews)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 21  
[Nov 08, 2022]
davidson02


Strength:

The good news is that they all sounded positive. According to Jacksonville Drywall Contractors, Their sound was a lot bigger than their watts rated (80W pc). Seems durable.

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 26, 2022]
ampva301


Strength:

I appreciate the sound, power, and adaptability. Check our website.

Weakness:

None as f now

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2021]
roxannpfwpo


Strength:

Crisp, clean sound. seven channel amp, extremely sturdy design. This unit weighs a ton. Good power, perfect for a theater room. It is a good unit to build around.

Weakness:

None so far. roofing contractors worcester ma

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 19, 2022]
Jelai Ande


Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2021]
JakeXyrus


Strength:

The overall quality is amazing! Building Decks

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 11, 2021]
stussy


Strength:

Every time we visit your pool, www.poolcleanercory.com you can feel confident that we will ensure the water is swim ready.

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 10, 2021]
Breana


Strength:

I really love the quality of this product! | SEO Strategies

Weakness:

None so far

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2021]
shemikasoraya


Strength:

The sound with this setup is nicely balanced. As it is almost purely for analogue sources and the 302s have a limited but gutsy perfomance, it can still rock the socks off the Quad 33 pre and 405 power set-up I have for emergencies. The 302s are only limited in the bass but the doped paper 5inch woofer, doped fabric tweeter and the mounting of the woofer to the rear baffle and the Prism structure of the inside rear baffle ensure a clean, solid sound with very good sensitivity. - screenenclosure-miami.com/

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 02, 2020]
Ventilator


Strength:

Power! Natural sound...

Weakness:

No ability to adjust loudness

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1991
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2012]
jonskitch
Audio Enthusiast

After reading this information provided by rishguru. I ended up aquiring all 3; the dsp-a1000, 2070 and 3090. All costing less than £200 on Ebay. Just wanted to see how it would compare to my M&F A5. Remember I am not ineterested in its HC - this is dated. I am only looking at the 2 channel side. The good news is that they all sounded positive. They sound was lot bigger than there watts rated (80W pc). The sound is big bold and very smooth like NAD amps - but slightly more detailed. When compared to my A5 the sq lived upto it. Out of the 3 ; the DSP-1000 is the best for audio. I will continue with further testing and keep you updated.


After further testing all of the units they go far beyond there rated power. It simply blows away my Quad 303 pre-amp and 404 power amp - not enough reserve. Audiolab 8000a, Marantz 7200 KI, Cyrus 8Vs2 with PSX and Finally Musical fidelity B1 - All these amps mentioned could not produced enough slam to satisfy my needs but however all the yammys produced earth shattering bass which was bit of a surprise - this is probably down to that titanic power supply connected via those large capacitors. Not even once the yammys sounded out of steam you could basically turn it pass 11 and it kept on going - was scared after. The sound is nice and silky smooth with good authority especially on the bass side. Next will compare with my M & F A5.

Yamaha A1000, 2070 and 3090 - which one?

The story continues with these 3 Yamaha’s that I recently acquired from eBay. All 3 Yamaha’s sounded great but I found that especially the 2070 and A1000 had even more headroom than 3090. Between 2070 and A1000 there was very little differences but I noticed A1000 was touch more refined which suited to my taste but this can be subjective. They all had similar characteristics; warm, smooth, big, bold, dark, energetic approach very like valve sound which I particular fancied .

Amps generated - front channels only

A1000 - 149 amp continuous peaked at 190 amps
A2070 - 143 amp continuous peaked at 184 amps
A3090 - 127 amp continuous peaked at 167 amps.

Current ratings are high, so in respect all 3 Yamahas should able to drive even difficult loads. Since A1000 had the biggest drive I continued with my research around this amp.

Musical Fidelity A5 versus A1000 - Battle of the titans.

Sound Quality

Both amps had huge presentation that could fill a medium to large room. Although both amps
had immense drive but their sound properties were some what quite different. The A5 was more open but less wide and had solid state feel While the A1000 was more neutral and natural which leaned more towards a tube like feel. The A1000 had more drive in low frequencies without masking mids and highs. The A5 was quite even throughout the spectrum but occasionally lost focus on highs - strange but through. The Yamaha felt more relaxing and pleasing to the ears and yet it was opposite with A5. However they both performed well in all types of music and handled complex pieces with ease. The timing, dynamics, and clarity on both amps were Excellent - I could not separate them. My heart goes towards Yamaha because it had more civil and sensible approach.

Power and drive

The A5 (250 watts per channel) on paper seemed a lot more powerful than A1000(80 watts per channel) but this wasn’t the case in reality. I had this funny feeling that Yamaha only based this calculation on average rating but the huge one box solution had lot more muscle under that bonnet. My guess would be that A1000 was at least hitting in the peaks of around 160 watts per channel and wasn’t far behind the A5. I still felt that the bass was deeper, tighter and fuller on A1000 than the A5 but on the other hand the A5 had the extra drive which put A1000 to its limits. Nonetheless, the Yamaha had enough guts and reserve to even challenge the mighty A5 in the power department. The A5 carries the extra current and charge which beats the A1000 in this area but not by much.

Damping factor under test

A5 - better than 130
A1000 - better than 137

Technology

A5 is a pure audio amp that is based on dual mono technology. A clever design.
A1000 is overly engineered AV amp that performs quite well with both audio and AV.

Conclusion

Both amps performed well in their own rights. But however Yamaha A-1000 will never be recognised as a true audio amp as the product was purely designed for HC. The logo “AV” will put many audiophiles’ off and in no way would have this at the heart of the centre. For mass market this would be an ideal amp as this would cream many sub £1000 (audiophile standard) amps. On eBay this can be picked up for merely Rs5000. Highly recommended.

Equipments used:

Marantz CD94 mkII
Jamo oriel speakers
kimber speaker cables
Wireworld interconnects
Box standard power cable (A5) as A1000 is equipped with captive power lead.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com