Yamaha AX-570 Integrated Amplifiers

Yamaha AX-570 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

integrated amplifier

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Feb 10, 2019]
laki78


Strength:

Huge amount of power.Clean sound.Good amp for not much money.Nics desighn.Value for money.

Weakness:

Needs that volume go up to bring the dinamics of the music.

Price Paid:
80
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2003]
Dragan Lalic
Casual Listener

Strength:

Great with low impeadance speakers due to the great damping factor therefor a tight refined sound. great layout configuration of switches with no confusion if recording stuff. Heavy metal or techno and any other artificial complex arrangements appear best suited to this natural sound amp. in short doses can impress visitors. When converting Lps to CD via a PC the amp boost up the original to a point that could be considered re-mastered , great subsonic filter built in.

Weakness:

Not suited to tight/clean 8 ohm speakers as it due to the clinical damping factor will result in sterile sound that never quite satifies.

Great at the price range however the spec's result in my opinion in a sterile sound. The acrnoym of natural sound makes me laugh as the amp appears at its best when playing heavy metal or techno. The trouble is that it appears only to have two speeds soft and subdue at low to medium levels and flexes its dynamics at levels where the windows ceiling floor and walls vibrate to the point of defeating the low distortion specs of this device. Its abvious that between the two AMP stages that there is a serious amount of equalization/boosting and cutting. It therefore lacks intimancy with simpler presented music such as acoustic guitar or chamber music. With jazz i found it neutral the more complex the presentation the better it sounded. It was difficult to pick a good amp at hifi shops as i noted the cheap solutions were often presented at there worst ie a low current rotel amp auditioned with low Impeadance speakers even though the amp damping factor was low. Or a small amp with the most de-senative speakers in the store. In other words i could have paid a lot more and do a lot worse. I will use two different amps in different rooms to get the best of both worlds at a budget as its a world of trade offs below $10,000. The amp drives 2 pairs of original richter wizards 5 ohm with grace and refinement. To run it at its best, sound room principles should be applied to your room. The best amp i have used with LP's with a switch for cartridge types. I found that a Cd player with a higher than 92 db dynamic range would be best, noise ratio of the player in the case of this amp would be less important and probably a lower one in some instances may add some richness at low levels...?

Similar Products Used:

12 year old low current 70 watt into 6 ohms Sony Amp that i bought in Japan dont think the international sony distributors sold this one any where else. Didnt fully realise how good it is until i brought the Yamaha home the sony puts out bigger friendlier bass and is more dynamic great for screaming jazz or live music sense even driving 2 pairs of speakers. wanted to audition the high end sony entry amp but the resellers wouldnt bring one in to sample.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 13, 2003]
Dali 909
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very powerfull amp. I use de amp. with the Dali 909

Weakness:

for a year now, the input selector starts to fail. it cracks and sometimes the right speaker is not switched on.

Very nice amplifier. Especially the separat pre-amp possibility. I use that pre-amp to create surround sound with a second amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 03, 2003]
audio slave
AudioPhile

Strength:

power, detailed sound, A/B speaker, built in phono pre-amp, cost

Weakness:

selector nob, detail at low levels

Value for dollar, this amp is great. I originally bought it 7 years ago and am still using it to this day. It plays clearly and with great bass response, sometimes too much on efficient speakers. I've owned many speakers with this amp (Vega, Klipsch kg 5.5, Energy c-8, paradigm monitor 11's, even paradigm studio 100's!) but have never traded in this amp yet. I never had a problem with the quality of sound of the amp until i purchased the paradigm 100's, but common sense tells you a $500 amp does not match a $2400 pair of speakers. (i'm currently saving for the NAD T762)all in all, it's a good amp. I've abused the crap out of it at many parties, hardly dusted it and always play it loud and it still sounds great. The only draw back is the selector nob. After 4 years of use, it became clogged with dust and needed a cleaning worth $50 bucks - but that's normal wear and tear. The 'pure direct' button is very useful when using a pair of higher end speakers. It gives a flatter and more natural sound, and believe it or not, reveals a bit of imaging. Another good feature of the amp is the speaker A/B assignment. It allows you to play two PAIRS of speakers at the same time or independently. Most amps these days allow only A/B switching and won't allow two sets of main speakers to play at the same time. This amp would complement almost any speaker on the market worth >$1200. In all, the ax-570 is a cost effective amp, very solid, good sounding and still works perfectly till this day

Similar Products Used:

NAD, paradigm, Klipsch, Energy, Cambridge audio, Sony

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 11, 2003]
Musicist
AudioPhile

Strength:

Strong, muscular and neutral.

Weakness:

None at the price

A very good amp, performaing way above its price. Muscular, neutral, precise. It trades muscle for detail - anything ought to be sacrificed at this price point - but is good enough for organ an big symphonic works. Is about as good as the YBA intégré, four times its price.

Similar Products Used:

Nads, Arcams, Regas and Ybas.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2002]
Jason Noel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality, sound clarity and fullness, aesthetics (arguably).

Weakness:

None that I can find.

My AX-570 sounds great. I have all Yamaha components (I know, I know, what kind of an audio enthusiast does that, right?) and at the time were top-of-the line without getting separate pre-amp and amplifier. The sound from the AX-570 to me is classic Yamaha. Very clean, very smooth, but capable of being loud enough to hurt. The quality of the AX-570 is tremendous. Is has a large input transformer and big capacitors, big enough to slightly dim the lights while they charge upon power up. All the knobs and buttons are of a good quality and it has nice LED's to light the front panel. Volume control works very nicely, but I also had the dirty-contact input selector problem after not using the amp for a year or so. Have not cleaned it yet, but if I wiggle it around a little I can find a clean spot. I'll have to figure that one out another day. Hopefully this amp will last me for a long time, but, if it doesn't, I'd be more than glad to look at the current integrated amp, the AX-596. It probably is just as good if not better.

Similar Products Used:

RX-495

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 22, 2002]
Chris Reusch
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very powerfull and direct sound in the higher levels. Low distorsion and noise.

Weakness:

Sound is not very dynamic when the volume is low, but you can compensate that with loudness!

Very good amp, I had no serious problems! Only the standart problem with the input- selector. I opened the housing and cleaned the contacts, not easy to get it out! Very natural sound because of source direct.

Similar Products Used:

Denon, Bang & Olufson

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 30, 2001]
HP Kohl
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power, PreOut/MainIn

Weakness:

Contact problems

I´ve had pleasure using this amp for years now. Developing loudspeakers makes power necessary, as the impedance of some speakers may be low. The AX570 solved my clipping (yes!) problems I had with an older NAD Amp. The sound was good with higher levels. Clearness could be better at lower levels. After 3-4 years of usage, the contacts of the input selector started to make problems. Unfortunately, it´s not easy to clean them as the switch can´t be accessed easily. However, I´ve managed it so far with contact spray.

Similar Products Used:

Other Yamaha´s, Rotel, Grundig, NAD

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 24, 2001]
fghfh ztuztuztz
Casual Listener

jjjjjjöoiugtdryx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2001]
Christoph Hoetzel
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power, Accuracy

Weakness:

This series of amps (X70) sometimes has problems with the Input Selector, two friends of mine have a 570 and 1070 - even though, this does not apply to mine.

Up to now, I can not report anything bad about this amp. It is quite powerful, but still can get even smallest details out of every kind of music.

I am using this amp together with a pair of ASW-speakers, which have a rather low impedance (4 ohm) and quite low output, as they are shelf-speakers. With these speakers, the Amp really comes out of the dark - it drives them to what I did not expect them to be able to do. Powerful but accurate, no clipping at all (in fact, it might be clipping - but I did not try, as it was much too loud for my ear earlier.

Something general: NEVER underestimate the importance of good cables, both the signal cables as well as the speaker cables. If you do not believe it, give it a try, get some good quality cables - you will never return them. The difference is really astonishing - even people who do not care about HiFi at all do hear the difference, which is sometimes bigger (but still cheaper) than buying more expensive equipment.

I bought this amp for 250,- DM (I do study in the Netherlands, but originally come from Germany). For this price (and even for more), this Amp is really very good value for money.

I would have rated this Amp 5 stars normally, but I have listened to McIntosh amps before - so, no choice ;-( (I would call myself Audiophile if only I had the money).

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Receiver

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com