Unison Research SR 1 Integrated Amplifiers

SR 1

Output power: 80 watts per channel Output impedance: 8 Ohm Bandwidth: 2 Hz-70 kHz at -1 dB

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
prmaik   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2010]

I decide to downgrade my system and crisis was not the reason.
I thought that 24000euro(real prices) 15000euro purchase is a BIG ammount to stay at home.
So first I sell my turntable.
12000EURO.Replaced by a Lenco L75.1/100 of the price 101% of the sound quality!!!Modified ofcource.
Then amplifier and preamplifier:
9000EURO.
PEPLACED BY UNISON RESEARCH SR1.(750)EURO
1/15 OF THE PRICE 200% OF THE SOUND QUALITY.
SPEAKERS STAY FOR THE MOMMENT.
THIS LITTLE AMP IS SOMETHING ELSE!!!
Soundstage mid's high's and low frequencies its hard to explain how good they are.
I thought to sell and make a simble system for a while and go again for the big money system after a while but I will stay here for a long time.
And as phono stage I use one from a PioneerA400 throu rec out!!!!!
Imagine a good one how it will sound from this combo.
My previous combos just to see:
PRE with phono:
Audible Illusion m3 John Curl gold
McIntosh 2300
Doge8
PRE AND PHONO STAGES
Sunilda :DISAPOINT
Counterpoint SA-9: THE BEST EVER
Manley Steelhead:OVERATED
Jasmine:VERY GOOD
PASS ALEPH L
EAR 834:NEEDS MODS TO PLAY
POWER AMPLIFIERS:
Pass Aleph 5
McCormack DNA1
McIntosh MC402
Coda System 100:among the best
Krell 250
BAT VK60

TURNTABLES:
Michell Gyro
VPI TNT HRX

For the first time after 20 years I really don't care to stay at the gold point.
I only listen to music.
What else to look for?
A!
Sonus Faber Cremona speakers
Thank you for your time to read
all this

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil   AudioPhile [Apr 26, 2010]

This is an incredible integrated. The style is beautiful but even better is the sound. Clean clear and powerful with the ability to switch preamp tubes to tailor your sound to your preference. I use Brimar tubes for a full warm tube sound. Sounds like 150w tube amps driving my speakers (87db/w/m). Soundstage and images are rock solid and oh so precise. The SR1 is able to reveal every detail and nuance of the recording. And effortlessly, musically, and hypnotically, Sounds great on a variety of music too, from AC/DC to Miles Davis, Tchaikovsky to Neil Young. THIS BABY DOES IT ALL!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sebastian   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2007]
Strength:

Deep and detailed bass, warm mids , Tube like sound , Well build . Can modify the sound with changing the preamp tubes

Weakness:

Remote Control is not top notch quality

I have bought this amplifier from a local hifi shop . This is very well built amplifier with wood and metal . and is nice looking . Speaker terminals and interconnect terminals are gold . The sound is very warm . There is a deep and detailed bass . The mids and vocals are near perfect . High's are not exaggerated but treble is very clear . I recommend this amplifier with a good quality speaker

Similar Products Used: Classe , ARCAM , Bryston
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
audio hiper   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2006]
Strength:

Nice amp.
Nice sound.
Remote.
U can change sound by change tube 12au7

Weakness:

No Phono

I always change the system all the times until I met this amp.
It's very sweet clearly sound amp I ever heard before.
Deep bass but not boomy.
Clearly and Natural mid sound.
Not thin sound for Hi freq. like u can touch it.

Deep and wide soundstage.
I love it.

Similar Products Used: Audio Analogue Puccini
Creek 4330
Jolida 302A

SR1 beats all of them.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joeavid   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Detail,bass,wide soundstage and flexabilitybto change the sound with various tube types.

Weakness:

none so far.

Bought this unit after having downgraded my entire ARC / Vandersteen seperates system.I could not belleve the improvement in detail,soundstage ,bass (mated with Opera speakers)Great looks,build quality is top notch and the sound is just mind blowing for a $2,000 intergrated unit.

Similar Products Used: Cary 30 sli intergrated,ARC ca-50 intergrated.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mountainbound   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2002]

I have owned a fair number of components in my search for an audio system that will free me from the search for yet another piece of equipment, and I must tell you that this is a winner. The trick, however, is to mate it with the right equipment. I've heard the various admonishments to match equipment carefully, but until the Unison SR-1, I didn't really get it. I'll spare you the failed combinations and Frankenstein's -- the SR-1 and Soliloquy 6.2's were wonderful together. Unfortunately, I had already sold the Soliloqy's (and not yet delivered them) after being convinced that the speakers were the problem. I had tried various Rogue amp/preamp cominations, Conrad Johnson (solid state), and some Rotel pieces and been left wanting. Too many cables and power accesseries to mention... A Sony XA777-SE CD player and still no magic. The Unison SR-1 (with a good assortment of complimentary equipment) was profoundly better than any other combination of amp/preamp. Not subtle, not just a little, but profound. The lower octives were incredible, while the presence of the human voice and music was astounding. Admittedly, there is better equipment out there. However, you should make a point to here this piece with speakers that are sensitive and designed for this type of power. You will be pleased. A brief experiment with B&W's did not work out. I'm still looking for the Soliloquy magic and will let you know when it hits. The next contenders are Reference 3A De Capo's and Vienna Accoustic Mozart or Bethoven's. This is a great piece of equipment if your speakers will match it. Happy hunting....

Similar Products Used: Conrad Johnson, Rogue, Rotel
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2002]
Strength:

Transprency, imaging, grip, fluidness, rhythmic snap, looks, feel, build quality.

Weakness:

Yeah right!

Being one who's listening preferences lean towards rock and other beat heavy recordings I never thought I would mome into valve electronics. I have heard much about the "liquidity" of tubes, but I have also heard that tube can be a bit soft and restrained. Enter the Unison Research SR1. Being a hybrid amplifier it has the delicacy and transparancy of tubes with the rhymic attack that solid state allows. I was completely blown away upon my first listen to the SR1. Its soundstage depth and imagery were amazing. The tonal balance was spot on, which is nice as there are no tone controls on the unit. Every album in my collection that I have listen to since my purchase of the SR1 has taken on a whole new life. The music is simply truer to life and that is the only thing that matters when listening to the music that we love.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mr Jadis   AudioPhile [Feb 15, 2002]
Strength:

Smooth-musical sounding with excellent detail, transparent,tube like -warm

Weakness:

None that I can tell. Perhaps better bottom end weight and speed but that''s not fair to ask of an 80wpc integrated.

I''ve been invloved with audio for 15 yrs+ and not real big on writing reviews on equipment but felt it necessary to share my comments with others on this fine piece of audio gear. In the last few years have gone down the road of the integrated amp. as so many others have as well.( Both tube and solid state)These are some of the other units I''ve had the pleasure of owning, Musical Fidelity A300, Classe CAP 151, Creek 5350SE,Roksan, CJ CAV50,& the Audiomat Arpege. As you can tell a good variety and all excelled at one thing or another. Now for the Unison Research SR1. To begin with the cosmetics are first rate and is actually a conversation piece when visitors come over. The design being a hybrid is also unique and I''ve always liked the concept of a "hybrid" or attemting to get the best of both tube and solid state technology. Unfortunately in my experience, most hybrid pieces tend to be lacking in one area or another. Well, not the Unison SR1. From the first 15 minutes of listening I was impressed with how the tonality of this unit sounded "so right".It had a nice balance from top to bottom and richness. The midrange was on the warm side with excellent detail,pace and rythm. Top end was open, airy, transparent and never thin or bright. The bottom end was respectable, well for 80wpc, full sounding with good extention. I found myslef getting away from analyzing it to just enjoying it. At the $2k price point, this unit is a great value, extremely muisical as I believe that one would have to spend a considerable amount more $ to better the sonics of this unit. As a side note, the Unison also has a very nice protection system that consists of small LED lights to signify the status of the unit.

Similar Products Used: Listed above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marina Francheti   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2001]
Strength:

Clarity, transparency, power, looks, detail, middrange

Weakness:

None really.

I never thought I would go down the valve route, solid state, that was me.

My relegated amp was a Sim Audio Moon i5, which actually cost me twice as much as the SR-1. To be honest I do not know how they do it. I have found new detail in my music. I am a big Morcheeba fan and her CD's sound incredible through this amp. My speakers are Final electrostatic 0.4's and the transparency of the whole thing is just amazing.

I am lucky to own a Kuzma turntable and this is where the SR1 excels itself. Great bass, middrange and highs.

What else can i say - buy one!!

I'll never have solid state again.

Similar Products Used: Pathos Twin Towers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com