Sumiko Primare I30 Integrated Amplifiers

Sumiko Primare I30 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Like its award-winning predecessor, the A30.1, the I30 integrated amplifier has been created to answer emphatically two design challenges: purity in signal transfer and clean distortion-free amplification. For the I30, Primare has re-evaluated the A30.1, changing components where necessary to improve a class-leading design.

  • Output power: 2x100 W/8 , 2x180 W/4
  • Analog inputs: 2 XLR (L&R), 4 RCA (L&R)
  • Analog record output: 1 RCA (L&R)
  • Pre Out: 1 RCA (L&R)
  • Peak current: ±40 A
  • THD: <0,07%
  • Signal-to-noise, line: -100 dB
  • Frequency response: <10 Hz-100 kHz, -3 dB
  • Output impedance: 0.06
  • Power consumption: Stand by<25 W
  • Dimensions (WxDxH): 430x385x100 mm
  • Weight: 15,5 kg
  • Color option: Black, Titanium

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-7 of 7  
    [Aug 06, 2017]
    post vinyl freak
    AudioPhile

    I had the I32 (not the I30 !) for about a week, listening it for a couple of hours every day. Was very disappointed all in all. While the music had an attractive, well behaved flow, it could not avoid the impression of sounding somewhat artificial or clinical, being so much different from "real live" (for ex. live concerts). the good things of the I32 are: This will not upset you with nervous or aggressive listening, the music is full of details, it has high power capabilities and built is excellent. But given the rather unusual and unrealistic sound quality, the price is far too high.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Feb 16, 2011]
    Leonardo
    AudioPhile

    I think Primare i30 is the best amplifier in this range price.
    I´m sure that it works perfect with PROAC speakers.
    And great slow ecay is correct bass, tight but not wrong. Its exceptional clarity is fantastic and emotional, neutral and control at all kind of songs.
    It isn´t cheap but is great amplifier one.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 03, 2009]
    fricc
    Audio Enthusiast

    This is a fantastic Integrated Amplifier.

    I owned a very nice Krell KAV-300iL, which a few months ago started sounding strange (after six years of honorable service). I decided to send it for repair and asked Magnolia Hi-Fi (the store I purchased it from) to help me out with that. They have been very kind and while taking care of the Krell gave me a substitution amplifier, the Primare I30.

    I didn't know the Primare I30, and I didn't pay much attention to it at the beginning, I attributed the nice sound to the fact that my Krell started sounding bad because it was broken. The repair took longer than I thought (Krell and Magnolia messed up), so I got to keep the Primare I30 for about two months.

    The I30 has a very sweet voice, a solid and authoritative bass and exceptional clarity. Instruments stand out very clearly against a very deep sound stage and listening fatigue is virtually nil. It is amazing how much detail can be heard at low listening volumes, with this ampli you don't need to play loud to hear better...

    When the Krell came back I was very happy, it sounded great as I remembered it. But... I was really amazed to find out that the Primare sounds better. I was so surprised that I spent a couple of weeks comparing them side by side, switching around cables and listening to lots of music.

    The Primare and the Krell are both very solid in the lower part of the spectrum, the Primare sounds more involving drums and bass, the Krell's highs are very detailed and quite forward, not to the point of being bright though. The Primare's high frequencies are definitively less forward, but they're all there, and very detailed.

    But the real difference is in the voices and the mid highs. The Primare has an angel voice. I couldn't point out a real defect in the Krell, but I definitively preferred the sound of the Primare hands down.

    After two weeks of struggle I decided to keep the Primare and sold the Krell, and I'm very happy of my decision.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 01, 2008]
    bach1
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Lots of power, excellent performance throughout the frequency range (deep, controlled bass, natural and musical midrange, extended highs, plenty of "air"; beuatiful design and first-class workmanship

    Weakness:

    Expensive (at least by my standards). Very heavy - don't plan on moving it around much and watch out for your back when you do.

    I bought my Primare I30 in February 2008 as part of a new system that replaced my faithful but aging (and much cheaper) Linn Classik. I auditioned the I30 using the speakers I owned at the time, a pair of Aerial Acoustics 5B monitors. I always enjoyed the Aerials but thought them somewhat laid back. I was amazed by the difference the Primare I30 made - the speakers opened up so dramatically that - to borrow a cliche - the instruments and vocalists suddenly moved right into the room with me. Part of the difference is the Primare's higher power output - 100 watts per channel vs about 33 for the Linn. The rest of the difference seems to arise from a lower noise floor and amuch higher damping factor. The Primare I30 augmented the Aerial 5Bs' smoothness and detail with a degree of power, authority and control I had never heard before. The I30 offers smooth, extended highs, a beautifully detailed, musical and natural midrange and extremely musical and extended treble with superb transient response. It is also beautifully designed, solidly constructed and a pleasure to use. I auditioned it with a wide range of music (baroque and classical to jazz vocals and soft rock - just about everything except heavy metal and rap) and it sounded wonderful with all of it. Not cheap but an excellent value. I had to dig deep to pay for it but have no regrets.

    Customer Service

    The sales staff at Audio Connection were excellent. They were very knowledgable and professional, and they spent a great deal of tiime helping me audition various combinations of equipment, andswering my questions, and helping me find exactly the right system for my taste and budget.

    Similar Products Used:

    None - I owned various receivers and a Lin Classik before this. However, I auditioned various Arcam amplifiers, the Unison Unico, a couple of Pathos hybrid amps, Rega Mira, Rega Brio, Naim Nait 5i, Bryston B60 and several others.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [May 13, 2008]
    nikosidis
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Pure balanced circiut. Dual mono construction.
    Very clean sounding.
    Powerfull.
    Very nice build.
    Forgiving on most recordings.

    Weakness:

    Its no weakness. If you like the sound, and match your speakers, it's hard ot better it.

    The component that have stayed with me, and I have build my system on is the Primare universal player DVD30. I have tried a lot of ampelifiers, and speakes with that player, and must say that it all worked well.
    After lots of testing and reading, I had to try Primare I30. And guess what it's what I been looking for.
    Of cause theese two componentes match perfect, in it's own way. You can say that what you get when you select player, and amp from the same manufacturer is kind of what is their home sound.
    That said, of cause you can find your own match with different manufacturers, but it makes the job a little more difficult.

    Primare I30 is a amp.. that might not impress at first listen, but this beast realy grows on you. Its like primare dont make any hocus pocus with their products. Expept for the top end, that is a little on the warm side. It's so many hi-fi companys that try to impress in some way, but nutralness is the one that will last!!
    Before this amp I had a tube amp from copland. And yes it's things with that amp that I miss, but on the whole I30 is a much more complete listen.

    To say something about the sound, I would put the distrotion free sound first.
    This is what I call transparency. This amp is dead quiet. It plays so clean, it's a joy to hear. This amp is also a champion to produce a perfect center, and a very deep soundstage. I heard amps produce bigger sound, but this is kind of mather of taste. The bass is very good, and powerfull. You can find amps to the price that can better the bass performance a little, but not much. The middle range is very smoth, just like velvet. Voices is so natural that it's hard to do it better. Treble is also very good. But as said before its a little warm in the high freq..This can make it a little harder to heard the difference in the highest guitar strings (b and e string). Guitar string sounds very thick, with lots of attack. This is also a matter of taste. This makes this amp..very enjoyable to listen to. That is the reason most recordings sound so nice.

    If you like the sound of this amp. If will pay a lot to better it.
    It's not for everyone. But I think you will make a mistake not to listen to it, if you are in for something in this pricerange.

    My setup is source: Primare DVD30, Amp: Primare I30, Speakers: Proac recponce D25, Sub..REL stadium III

    Similar Products Used:

    Primare I21, Takt SDAI2175, Xindak XA6950, AVI, Coda, Denon, Sony, NAD, Yamaha, Copland and many more ;)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 14, 2006]
    michaelparin@hotmail.com
    AudioPhile

    Strength:

    Beautiful appearance, and design-understated elegance
    Incredible Clarity, sound staging, separation, and bass presentation

    Weakness:

    Cheap remote control, although this is'nt a real issue as I happily paid the asking price for the sound, not the look of the RC

    I have had the I30 for approx 2 weeks now. Wow! what a sound ! The I30 replaces a low end Marantz 50 w integrated-No competition obviously, but it now sounds like all my CD's have been converted to SACD format! The clarity is stunning, the sound stage positively HUGE and Deep and the amp has a rock solid grip on the Bass. I did audition a Musical Fidelity A5 Amp and was left feeling UNDERwhelmed by the sound it produced. The Primare was the clear winner by a mile. The only thing which has taken a while to get used to,is that nothing much happens sonically below 40-45 on the volume display (0-79),but crank it up to 50, and a huge smile just appears on my face as I am swallowed by a sound so stunning, it makes me want to give up my job, just so I can listen 24/7!!!
    Source: Denon 2910 DVD player
    Speakers : VAF DC7 Floorstanders

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 26, 2005]
    hi5
    Audio Enthusiast

    Strength:

    as above

    This is a brief info on my experience with I30: Vocal is very sweet instrument separation is very good details are excellent Transparency and control of low end note very well. Was comparing with my Krell KSA 80B and Sonic frontiers SFL-1. Krell has more bass slam, that's it. The rest goes to I30.

    Similar Products Used:

    Krell KSA 80B & SFL-1 McCormack DNA 0.5 & 1 John Shearne Phase 2 ref TD124MKii / SME 3012 / DL103r Dynaudio 50MKII

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-7 of 7  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com