Sumiko Primare A20 Integrated Amplifiers

Sumiko Primare A20 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Dual-Mono Integrated Amplifier - 70w x2 Channels in 8 Ohms - Full Function System Remote

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Sep 18, 2017]
Sean
Audio Enthusiast

This is the best integrated amplifier for the money. Sound stage is great. All the functions works perfect. I also have used I20 but this one is far better than that.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2011]
Micthetic
AudioPhile

There are some pieces of kit that , when auditioned, don't need to be analized, disected or judged, they are just right.The Primare A20 falls firmly into that category.Effortless musicality allied to tremendous resolving power and bass slam ( where appropriate) make this all you need in an amplifier.
When you first install this amp you will be amazed at the detail retrieval, that 'strings you could pluck' sound. You can build a wonderful system with this amplifier at its heart.
Be warned, listening to this amp is like going from dial up to broadband...there is no going back!
For a detailed review read the last review on here, its pretty much spot on.Remember, if you're into vinyl you'll need to allow for a nice phono pre amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2010]
josephjohn
Audio Enthusiast

This is a wonderful amplifier which does almost everything well with excellent build, sound and value.
It produce a smooth, natural,musical and enjoyable sound. I also advice you don`t put that device on cd players or under, just place it very well and alone. The amp is quite heavy and it has 3 feet, not four like others.
It is probably built better than Krell.
When i bought that amplifier before i tried the Cambridge audio azur 540a, Audio Analogue Puccini, Densen Beat, Rotel, Naim Nait 5, Sugden but the Primare A20 was really better.
I use it with a Nad c521bee, sony stsdb900 , Monitor Audio B2, cyrus biwire speaker cable, Van Den Hull The name and Kimber as interconnects.

Strengths:
Smooth, natural,musical and pleasant sound.
Nice top end.
Good timing.
strong dynamics.
That amplifier plays very well bass notes.
It give you music music with hapiness
Sound more strong than 70watts sugests.

Weaknesses:
None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2004]
tkyong1
Audio Enthusiast

This is the follow-up and also a clarification on certain misleading information in my previous posting. 1. The Purchase Price shown in my last post is after the Trade-in (old Marantz Amp) price. 2. The Actual Purchase Price I paid for the I20 is USD1,090 (using exchange rate 1 : 4 Malaysia Currency). I usually round-up the currency for convenience purposes. Sorry if anyone is mislead and any inconvenience caused by me. Please read my latest reviews on I20 in the newly created Folder named "I20". Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 07, 2004]
Bartas
Audio Enthusiast

I just bought the Primare A20 used, and noticed an improvement on overall musical presentation of my system.Strong secure bass, and detailed highs and mids, without fatigue. Im not sure i have the MKII version, but if someone can tell the exterior diferences between the 2, please email me at pedrobart@hotmail.com .Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 12, 2004]
tkyong1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Look amazing, classy no one near her in this region. Sound : big, open, natural and very refine.

Weakness:

none.

Just bought the Primare I20 (trade-in my budget Marantz PM4200) after listening to stuff like Exposure 2010, NAD 372, Holfi 8s, Marantz PM17 SA. I prefer the I20 which is a more refine then NAD 372 n Exposure 2010. At the same time more muscular than the Marantz PM 17SA. When demo, the dealer use the I20 to drive a pair of ProAc REsponse 2.5 - amazing sound. the PM17SA can't really drive the ProAc, struggeing sound constrain. The Primare is a step further than those. Still running-in the I20, eventhought my other stuffs are still budget gear, i am going to build a good sistem around the amp from time to time. The next to chop will be the speaker. Excellent Amp, go buy it guys. My set-up : Marantz CD4000 + Primare I20 + Mordaunt-short 902 + Monitor Interconnect + QED cooper cable.

Similar Products Used:

Marantz PM17 SA NAD 352 + 372. Exposure 2010. Holfi 8s. Some Chinese made Valve Amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 15, 2004]
bart van eesbeeck
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound , sound , sound gorgeous casework I hate buttons, so does Primare

Weakness:

Only 4 line inputs. The smaller A10 has 6. No "pause"-button on the remote

Review for A20MkIII(later the name changed into I20). I got a 20% discount because the make was new in the shop. After the running-in , it became obvious that this was a very special amp. It rocks even more than the NAD C370(really!) It has a very three-dimensional sound , which I didn't have with my previous amps. I play everything between Miles Davis and the Boredoms and it sounds great. The remote is okay for me and works even with my CD-player, except for the absent "pause"-button. The only real problem is the lack of inputs : this is something you know of course when you buy the amp.

Similar Products Used:

NAD C370 - very good , but lacks the refinement of the A20 Arcam A75 (not Plus) : didn't like it at all Marantz PM66KI : excellent for its price ! Yamaha AX400 : very good in its time at its price, but it wouldn't be fair to compare it with the A20 My other stuff : Ah! NjoeTjoeb 4000 Cd-player + Tjoupsampler (see my review on that one) Denon TU1500RD tuner(aery underestimated ) Project RPM6 Turntable + Grado Prestige Gold cartridge (looks good, sounds great) Sonus Faber Concerto Speakers ( Creek OBH8/OBH2 Phone stage Cables : Wireworld Equinox III and Oasis III , Monster M550i (duh !) , Qed Qnect 1 NAD T512 DVD-player : you will be surprized what this does in a stereo-setup

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2003]
Olli
Casual Listener

Strength:

Everything...

Weakness:

...except the remote. The original remote sucks.

This is my first integrated amplifier. I use it with Marantz CD67 and Amphion Argon2 speakers. The sound is superb and accurate. I was going to buy Marantz 7000/7200, but luckily I noticed an ad where some old, rich guy was selling this amplifier for 525e. A little web browsing and I bought the amplifier without hearing it. I've no regrets! I think I made a very good deal and this definitely is in a totaly different league than Marantz 7000/7200...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 02, 2003]
al3x
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Amazing build quality Simple layout Clean sound

Weakness:

Remote (minor)Timing not quite as good as the naim nait 5

Bought this to replace Cambridge Pre and power amps. Staggering improvement in channel separation and definition especially at lower volumes. listened to a naim nait 5 which sounded slightly more exiting than this Primare but found myself pushing it to get decent volume levels (although it does sound more than the 30W rated). No such problem with the primare, it seems to have plenty of power in reserve (70W)and has good snap and kick in the bass with my PMC tb2s. I am yet to here any signs of it straining at all. BTW this is the A20 MKIII model which I believe is identical to the current I20.

Similar Products Used:

Cambridge C500+2P500s Naim nait 5 Primare A20 MKIII PMC TB2s Rega Planet 2000 IXOS gamma interconnects

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2003]
Pete
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Build quality, powerful, fantastic sound quality

Weakness:

remote doesnt live up to the build quality of the amp, only 4 inputs could limit some potential buyers

First impressions of the A20mkII was very good. The build quality is stunning and this is compounded by the sheer weight of the amp. Auditioned the nait 5 and the A85 along with the primare. It was a close call between the nait 5 and the primare but overall the primare offered more impact to me. Current system consists of Arcam Alpha plus (next for the chop), A20mkII, B&W cdm1se's with qed cables. The A20 was a massive leap forward compared to my old amp (arcam alpha 5+)the bass extension is wonderful and the sound is more exciting than before. The A20mk2 should be auditioned - you will be impressed.

Similar Products Used:

naim nait 5, arcam A85

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com