Roksan Kandy MKIII Integrated Amplifiers

Roksan Kandy MKIII Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

115W x 2 into 8 ohms, 220W x 2 into 4 ohms, damping factor 110, 38dB gain, 5 line level inputs, moving magnet phono input, tape loop, headphone jack, remote control.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 07, 2017]
Chris
Audio Enthusiast

The first review I read gave this incredible amp one star , I can't even begin to figure out why.
Perhaps it was conducted out of phase of not plugged in.
My view in this amp I that it has an incredible detailed sound that exaggerates nothing and takes nothing away . If you feed it with a good recording it can't fail to make you smile.
It's a superb and beautifully built piece of audiophile equipment . I purchased mine from eBay for £300 and have not the slightest regret. These are fairly old now but you will love the sound, if you see one at a good price just buy it and fall in love again .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2017]
Leigh
AudioPhile

You know sometimes you buy an amp, and realise it really is NOT going to do the job?

Yeah... that was me. I had the Kandy III CD Player - and loved it. A great piece of kit. So when a Kandy III amp came up, I jumped at the chance. It arrived, I hooked it up to some Troels Gravesen TJL 3w speakers and...

Damn.

It is a far from fatigue-free listening experience.

Best described as a "nasty squeaky piece of crap" by a fellow sufferer. To get the best out of this amp, I'd match it with some laid-back speakers, Ruark for instance.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 20, 2015]
James Bond
Audio Enthusiast

This is a stunning product !! Power and finesse with a smooth overall presentation. For example my a bit weak Naim could not drive my pair of PMC DB1+. I was so disspointed with the result that I nearly was selling the speakers. Then a blind purchase: the Roksan Kandy Mk III. Wow !! The speakers are living. Soundstage and powerful sound without any harshness. I am now a PMC fan so you can imagine how good the amp must be. Did not try the phono section but a german review attests them an above average performance. Not surprising becaus Roksan achieved their breakthrough in the analog world with their turntables and phono pres.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2009]
bitfield
Audio Enthusiast

This amp is accurate, dynamic and very detailed without being bright. Power is available at any moment, the bass is tight, and the mid is pleasant. Sound stage is about laid back (but may be it is more the nature of my speakers). Didn't find anything better at this price level.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 24, 2009]
redd1
AudioPhile

I bought the K-1 MKIII about six months ago. On the used market for under $600 with the right equipment synergy you'd be hard pressed to beat the sound. With clean electric coming in and decent associated equipment this amp will not disappoint. It is fast, dynamic, with good prat, detail and extension on both ends. Late at night with good clean power this unit sounds very good. Only issue I have is the original remote didn't come with it and my Logitech Harmony doesn't always work. Does not affect the sound though. Does sound better being left on 24/7.

Strengths: Power, good finese, dynamics and top to bottom coherrency.

Weakness: Remote issues only on my unit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2005]
mikehammer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power per channel; sweet sounding with female vocals;

Weakness:

Can be quite harsh sounding with certain loud music

Bought the amp way back in 2003. After some long hours of break-in, the amp finally sound pleasant with sweetness especially in female vocals. It is a great entry level integrated amp. With its 120wpc, it can drive many a speakers. It is built to bi-amp especially with its own products too.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 19, 2005]
peterlow777
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Poweful, 120 watts per channel.

Weakness:

I didn't feel there was an emotional connection like listening to the Naim

I purchased the Roksan kandy MK3 amp April of 2004. It's got a nice sound, but i don't feel the amp is as good as it is made out to be in the British Hi-Fi magazines. I sold it last September when i purchased the Naim Nait 5i, which i totally enjoyed listening to, i just didn't feel the same emotional connection with the Roksan.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 19, 2004]
Gnollins
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Timing, power output, dynamics. Superb high frequencies. Exceptional value for money.

Weakness:

Running in period is extensive, so bear that in mind when auditioning from new.

Stunning power, control and impeccable timing. Very detialed delivery eclipses the similarly priced Cyrus 6 by quite a distance. With 120wpc @ 8 ohms doesn't have any problems filling a good sized room. Only weakness is rediculous running in period. Took at least 6 weeks of almost continuous usage to open up the midband.

Similar Products Used:

Cyrus 6, Roksan Caspian.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com