Plinius 8200 Integrated Amplifiers

Plinius 8200 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

The Plinius 8200 Integrated amplifier is our attempt to blend the performance of the SA series power amplifiers with the capabilities of the M series preamplifiers. Internally the 8200 incorporates a power amplifier based on the SA series circuit and a line level preamplifier based on the M16's line stage. In addition there is a phono preamplifier of unique design to satisfy vinyl lovers. For home theatre use there is an externally accessible processor loop with connectors on the rear panel.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Apr 05, 2020]
jeff89


Strength:

Detailed presentation that still preserves accurate and beautiful mids.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Nov 24, 2003]
Fred44
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The quality of sound and build. Bargin price.

Weakness:

Remote and odd location of mute button.

This is a review of the 8200 MKI, which I bought on sale as at the time Plinius had just released the MKII. The biggest thing I noticed was it takes a good month or more for the bass to fill in. As some of the other reviewers have mentioned it gets noticably better over that first couple of months. I have only listened to the MKII and the 9200 models in the shop and they were not run in so I can't really make any comparisons. However I have had a good listen to an old Plinius SA50 and by comparison it had a much weighter, smoother sound; although the soundstage seemed lower than my 8200. These amps are absolute bargins in New Zealand. The only downsides is the remote which only works from close quarters and is rather too mechanical in operation. Also the mute button on the amp would be better on the front.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2003]
pissillo
AudioPhile

Strength:

Honest presentation

Weakness:

A bit closed in. Lacks a certain magic.

I lived quite happily with the 8200 for about 6 months. I use it with Maggie 1.6s.There is really nothing this amp does wrong. It is an honest amp. I've had the pleasure of Rowland Concentra I and II, Classe CAP150, Rega Mira, and recently Continuum Unison. The phono stage is quite good. It controls the bass with a firm grip. It lacks the harmonic richness of the Concentras, but that may be an unfair comparison, given the price discrepancy. For me, it was more than adequate. Now I've upgraded to Coda's Stage amp and the changes are remarkable, not at all subtle. The depth and width of soundstage has improved. Detail and bass have improved. It moved me to upgrade to 3.6s. For the money and all that you get, the 8200 is very nice. I would be interested in hearing the MK II, which has much greater current capacity.

Similar Products Used:

Concentra I and II, Classe CAP 150, Continuum Unison, Rega Mira.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 13, 2002]
richardc
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very detail, smooth & rich sounding with greater ambiance and stage depth. This is one high end integrated that you find only in the higher end audio pre/power separates. Very value for the money!

Weakness:

Require thorough run in. Remote controller tends to be bulky & a hassle to change battery.

After several serious auditions, I decided to consider integrated amp. Yes, like many, I'm skeptical about Integrated & would only want a pre/power separates. But I reckoned that a good quality built pre/power separates tends to come from the higher end category; not really good value for the money, after all, it got to be good when you pay so much more. Then my perspective change when I audit the Plinius 8200. It's like having an expensive pre/power separates all-in-one. The standard of integrated has certainly improved & the 8200 is really a class higher than most amps (such as Krell, Masterclasse, Myryab, etc) I know. Once thoroughly run-in, I'm captivated by its open, clean & natural sound reproduction. Oh, that sweet sound reproduction really makes music ticks! When I played various classical tracks (such as Beethoven Symphonien Nos 5 & 7, Yundi Li Encores, etc.), every nuances remained & so revealing. The result is simply terrific! I play mostly jazz music vocal, especially female vocalist like Izzy, Laura Fygi, Diana Krall, Wang Hong Yin, etc. & ST4 units exhibited superb imaging, richness, details of this materials very well, or I should say again terrific! The mid-bass thickness & transparency are of very good quality where you only can find it in higher end of audio units. The sound quality is really warm & very "tube-like" which matches my 'bright' NHT very well. The 8200 seems to always able to play with most materials with greater authority, richer sounding & makes most recordings sound more realistic with greater sense of stage depth. I can't seems to stop playing my CDs now & all my previous CDs (old recordings) seems to have injected with new lease of life & all played with greater musicality.

Similar Products Used:

Arcam, Rotel, Sucgen, Perraux, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2002]
dochroch
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Detailed presentation that still preserves accurate and beautiful mids.

Weakness:

Bass, if anything (probably my powercord and lack of a dedicated circuit).

This review is for my Plinius 8200 Mk-II. Even though both the Mk-I and Mk-II are designated 8200 series, there are significant differences between these amps. This is my third Plinius! I've owned the 8150i and the 8200 Mk-I. Perhaps I spend upgrade money too easily, but I like the Plinius sound and the Mk-II is better than the Mk-I. As another audiophile friend says, the 8200Mk-II sounds like a supertweaked 8150. Where the 8150 has a lush mid-range sound without microdetail, and the 8200Mk-I has a superdetailed sound with out the lush mid-range, the 8200Mk-II seems to have both. The sound is more ravishing and astonishing than ever. I've also tried out the new 8200's phono section, and it's even better than the 8200Mk-I's. Incredible detail and holographic presentation. However, I will say that most people would be 95% happy with the 8150 or the 8200. If you can get either of these used at good prices, I'd jump at the chance. However, if your're a persnikety audiophile and only want the best for your ears, the 8200Mk-II is your baby. Note: This integrated amp needs honest speakers -- if you have faults either before or after the unit, you will hear them.

Similar Products Used:

Other Plinius amps

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 10, 2002]
Sin KH
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power with refinement. Very good build quality. Came double boxed with a individual inspection certificate. Build with a lot of pride.

Weakness:

Perhaps not for absolute bass slam.

The Plinius replaced my NADC370. Both amps are very good but the Plinius has that much more refinement over the whole frequency band. The 8200 has enough power to drive my Dynaudio Audience 70 with both punch and refinement. With the Rega Planet 2000 feeding the signal, the system has a good balance of pace and rhythm without losing definition and the touch of vocal warmth and emotion. The 8200 needs to be kept on all the time to sound best. Really opened up the qualities of the dynaudios.

Similar Products Used:

Arcam Alphas, Rotels, NAD C370 (a very, very good amp at the price).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 10, 2002]
Charles
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Audiophile performance for an affordable price.

Weakness:

None for the money invested

Excellent value for the money, especially when one includes the phono stage at no charge. I replaced a Manley Stingray in my system with the 8200 expecting to give up warmth and air in the mids and highs. The 8200 created much more presence and immediacy to the music without sounding sterile. My Green Mountain Continuum 1.5 speakers really sing now.

Similar Products Used:

Manley Stingray Arcam Alpha 10 Edge M8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 08, 2002]
Charles
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality throughout for reasonable dollars

Weakness:

None for the price

I listen ensemble jazz, classical,some blues, acoustic,etc. through Green Mountain Continuum 1.5 three way floorstanders (rated 89db efficient). I had driven these speakers with both a Manley Stingray and Arcam Alpha 10, certainly less expensive options on a retail basis than the 8200. In this case the price is more than justified by the quantuum leap in listening pleasure. The soundstage much deeper and well defined, the instruments being played more separate and distinct within the soundstage. What most surprised me was the liquid warmth of the midrange compared to the tube driven Manley. The comments on adequate burn-in time are accurate. This unit needs at least 100 hours to show its stuff. Compared to other amps I''ve owned including the touted Krell killer Edge M8, this amp is the value champion.

Similar Products Used:

see review

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2001]
Andrew
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Effortless power, drives difficult loads

This is a review of the 8200p which is the same unit minus the preamp stage. This replaced a Rotel RB870BX power amp which I had run for around 8-9 years. The speakers I have are a very difficult load to drive, and the Rotel never quite got there, especially at lower volumes. They sounded thin and edgy, and became boomy at higher power levels. I finally gave up and was looking for alternative speakers when a salesman suggested that I look at the amp instead. That was the single best piece of advice that i have ever got, the difference with the Plinius is stunning in a word. I tried a pair of Musical Fidelity X-A 200's and an NAD 216 previously, but wasn't convinced and was still blaming the speakers. Now I have a system that delivers accurately from the source in a way that is totally involving at any listening level. My wife totally noticed this upgrade, much to my amazement, as she is normally a skeptic when it comes to audio expense. I am not a total fidelity nut, but have finally arrived where I want to be, with a system that delivers astonishing sound. I listen to classical, Jazz and Guns'n Roses, the Cure etc.
Components:
Plinius 8200p Power Amp
Pioneer "Ultimate Fidelity" C72 A/V Pre
Phillips 850 MKII CD
Pioneer 535DVD
Musical Fidelity X-10 Line Buffer
Mordaunt Short MS 3.5 Speakers
Van Den Hull D102MKIII Specials and Hybrid Interconnects
Wireworld Atlantis II


Similar Products Used:

Rotel NAD Musical Fidelity

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 15, 2002]
ben garland
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound,price, build

Weakness:

none

this review is on the plinius 8200 (not a upgrades 8150i but a new 8200) the unit looks like the 8150 .actually sounds like a 8150 but does it perform like the 8150 or is it better?it does cost more and yes it does have more watts but is it better? well i owned a 8150 and a 8200 i sold the 8200 a few months ago, it is a great amp ,and it performs flawlessly while i owned it the bass was like my 8150 (quiet a slam) the highs were excellent ,i would recommend the 8200 to anybody i found the performance way above the dollar spent ,but for some reason it did not have the same tonal response as the 8150. i was told that plinius did not use the same parts in the power supply as used in the 8150,if this is true then i guess that would explain the sound differences,but let me say no matter which amp you choose the 8150 or the 8200 you will be more than happy as both sounded great,and both have enough power to drive any speaker,and both beat the pants off the krell,and other integrated amps of the $3000-$4000 price range

Similar Products Used:

krell300i,mac6450,others

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com