Onkyo A-9911 Integrated Amplifiers

A-9911

Integra Integrated Amplifier - 90 Watts

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
TommyP   AudioPhile [Jan 17, 2011]

It's very bad, think so everybody could buy

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
TV123   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2007]
Strength:

Heavy.
Neutral/warm sound quality.
Balck color.
Well-built for Onkyo

W/ a quality player and speakers, this amp can pretend to be much higher quality.

Weakness:

Gold color is for fruits.
The volume dial is scratchy. All of the tone controls are bad.
It has some sort of volume leveling effect as you change th volume.
Onkyo is not my standard bearer for audio quality

It may not be a weakness, but the only people I know who have these are former salespeople. Does not make this a very high end status piece.

This unit is nice. It was a tad overpriced. The sound quality is very smooth that comes out of it. I think it is bettered by many stereo receivers today that are in the $4-500 range. Even many Home theater receivers do a better job.

Similar Products Used: Harman 3470
2 Channel Parasound setup
2 Channel Kreall integrated 300
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Mickboy Mickboy   AudioPhile [Feb 04, 2002]
Strength:

Power and Depth without any Harshness added to the sound. 7 audio inputs. Beautiful Volume knob.

Weakness:

Source switch, no Blue florescent power meters.....:-((

When I decided to buy this unit, it was 3 months after it was discontinued. As it was/is one of the last quality Stereo Integrated Amps I decided to try a search and lo and behold, I found a ''demo'' at a New Jersey stereo store for $800. Not the $399 bargain but I wanted the Gold colored one and that was hard to find at that time. I also, will, if it holds up, have this going to the grave with me. I cannot imagine ANY manufacture putting this kind of quality Stereo Amp on the market period. It''s all Bullsheet HomeTheater now anyway so this will maybe go down as one of the last great ones...Yamaha went down the tubes, Marantz''s design is bulky and ugly, Pioneer is a Joke compared to the 70''s gear they put out so I really don''t have much hope that anything better will come along. I did mate it with Infinity Overture 3 speakers and an Infinity sm120 powered subwoofer and I''ll make your lips melt with the sound that comes out of these things.......Heaven on earth...(or as close as you can come audiowise within a middleclass budget). Watch out for oxidation on the source selector knob though, they didnt gold plate the contacts and it does get the ''scratchy'' sound when changing sources......Stupid move on their part...they use a $300 volume potentiometer and dont even pay attention to the source selector circuit......Stupidity at its finest....and this on a $1200 unit??????

Similar Products Used: Infinity Overture 3 Mains Infinity Sm120 Powered Sub Pioneer PL-550 fully Manual Turntable Sony Ja-ES Minidisc Recorder Sony ES 3 head Cassette Deck
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Tony   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 1999]

The finish is excellent. Sound quality is wonderful, half of the original price, what else I can ask for? remote??

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Corey   Casual Listener [Sep 17, 2001]
Strength:

real clean and precise, mucho power

Weakness:

doesnt have preamp outs that adjust with the volume control

Onkyo Integra A-919
well first of all my amp is not the amp in the list but since there are similar prices ill put it here
specifications are as follows
120 + 120 watts at 8ohms 20-20,000hertz with a thd measured from cd in to speaker out of 0.0015
it originally retails for about 1600 US dollars.
My System:
onkyo A-919 integrated amp/preamp
denon dcm-370 cd player
kimber kable pbj interconnects
audioquest type 6 speaker wire
monster cable z1 speaker wire going to my sub
klipsch KSW-12 subwoofer
and last but not least:
JBL 4312b mkII control monitor speakers

well first of all, to most of the people out there this is a budget system....let me tell you..the US military doesnt pay that great. but let me also say for the price you wont find many systems keep up with clarity or spl levels.

total stereo price is about 2200 dollars

the amp teamed up with this setup is just so warm and open...and loud...it comes through crystal clear....and if you read the reviews on the jbl's US brethren you know they sound harsh with bad amps. but let me tell you there is no harshness.
but the amp does need good speakers..just messing around i hooked up my old pair of JBL HLS 810's....and they sounded way better than they did before but they still didnt sound right to me

i truly recommend this integrated amp/preamp

Similar Products Used: marantz, onkyo 504
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
salman   an Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 1999]

Purchased this unit about a year ago and this was a blind upgrade from yamaha ax-592. The $399 price tag on top of page is wrong, its SRP is $1200 and i got it for $1000. In no way i could audition this amp because there's almost no such opportunity here. I've just bought it guessing it would improve the sound though i did not know what improvement an amp could make to the sound as i was a begiiner. At first i did not realize its merits but after upgrading my speakers to KEF RDM2 monitors, they began to reveal. Up to now since that time i've had the opportunity to compare it with some amps from marantz, denon, nakamichi, rotel of similar prices and my opinion is the 9911 produces a smooth, dynamic, detailed yet free from harshness sound with authority on the low and high ends of the freq. range. It delivers 2*95 watts into 8 ohms which can be considered low for a 19.5 kg (~40 lbs) box. Combined with an Onkyo dx-7711 cd player and KEF monitors the overall sound is very sweet, may be a bit too warm tor some tastes . No fatigue ever. I see the visitors of this site are not much familiar with onkyo but they'd better be.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Sami   an Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 1999]

First, don't care comments from Salman. He is my friend and just a wacko. Onkyo A-9911 is good amp but not the most accurate sound in its class. I recommend try some Rotel Amplifiers. Salman does not hear any Rotel amp equal the price of Onkyo A-9911 yet. I have Rotel RB-951 power amp (380$) and its success close to Onkyo 9911. Infact, all Rotel products follow a tradition that sounds clean, clear, relaxed and honest at all frequncies. Not too warm, not too forward, not too smooth, not too laidback or too upfront. I think they are most transperent and accurate players and i highly recommend them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Thomas Kapitza   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2001]
Strength:

neutral performance, great build Quality

Weakness:

Speaker outputs dont fit with bananas

Before I bought this Amp, I had a Audiolab Pre/Power unit of the last Generation. A friend of mine has the 9711 Amplifier, and one day whe tried it in my System. I was quite astonished how the Audiolab Set handled the deep Bass and the Treble.
There was moch more with the Onkyo. Especially with Classical Music I could hear the Room "breathing". I sold my Audiolab Stuff and bought me the bigger 9911 and he did the Job even better than the 9711.
I think, I will keep this Amp till the End of his/or my Life.
My System now is:
Cabasse Iroise (wonderful Loudspeakers)
Onkyo 9911 Integrated Amp
Onkyo DX 9711 CD
Kenwood KT 6050 Tuner

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scott p   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2001]
Strength:

i love it!

Weakness:

some audio buffs don"t know how to hagle

i am holding the receit in my hand showing i paid 399 for a great deal,that is alli ever buy great equipment at great prices. i have had very good systems since 1972. like i said it was floor model and i purchased an extended warranty at a minimal fee, i know stereo equipment like the back of my hand along with onkyo.

Similar Products Used: pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scott p   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2000]
Strength:

the power,the clarity

Weakness:

no remote

I BOUGHT THe onkyo as a floor model for $399.00 a few years ago. I was surprised there was no remote but when i listened to it I knew i was going to buy it.The amp has ample power and crystal clear sound,I am still amazed of what i here when i play it.I also bought a Harmon Kardon pre amp (PT-2500) which I use to make the system remote control and also has a turner in it,they are both played with the direct swicthes on,to give less distortion.My CD player is also Onkyo,(DX-340),with a pair of DCM-DX-12 speakers,it's one ground shaking stereo.

Similar Products Used: pioneer SA9500II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com