Neuhaus Laboratories T-2 Integrated Amplifiers

T-2

Vacuum Tube based Push Pull 2 channel integrated amplifier. Amp has built in DAC with USB and Optical (SPDIF/Toslink) inputs and 3 analog RCA inputs. Amp can be plugged in directly to a PC/MAC plug and play. Play audio songs in a true tube amp fashion, bring like to flat digital music.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Sam Theaker   AudioPhile [Apr 01, 2017]

I would caution those who might want to add this amp to their mix. There is no way to contact the company, he/she/they do not respond to emails. Not at all! I gave up after a dozen attempts over a few months; I simply wanted to purchase a set of tubes (just for backup in case one went on the fritz). On the plus side, I used the amp for over two years, liked the sound, and it was trouble-free. Then, when connecting different speakers, which I do often, something came undone inside, I could not tighten the nut, and it was off to a friend's to have it fixed. I was told, THIS IS NOT A TUBE AMP. The tubes are for show and are simply for the preamp. The amp itself is solid state. How about that? Live and learn. The problem with my connection was a plastic nut inside had broken. Good luck finding the right one; the fix was to glue it back together and treat it gingerly. In summation, this is a perfect case of buyer beware. Technical support from the manufacturer is nonexistent, as are any parts that might be needed. As long as it works, you'll have an aesthetically pleasing, nice sounding, simple to use amp that converts computer files to analog, no need for a DAC, and you can hook up a turntable (you'll need a little pre-amp gizmo if your table does not have a pre-amp built in to get the necessary signal to the cartridge), and a tape player. If it needs repair, you could face problems since parts may be singular to this amp. The tubes are Chinese, one of the three types I was fortunate to find someone knowledgable who knew what the correct substitute would be. Hope this helps.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
K Bennett   Casual Listener [Aug 24, 2016]

Has anyone had contact with this company recently? I've had the T-1 amplifier for a few years, and it's been fabulous until it suddenly stopped working several weeks ago, out of the blue, for no apparent reason. I emailed the company via its only contact option (the contact page and form on its website), but have not received a response. No phone number or other means of contact is provided on the Neuhaus Laboratories website. Neuhaus, if you happen to read this, please respond to my second email, inquiring (again) how I can fix my no completely inoperative amplifier. Thank you.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Craig   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 2016]

This is a killer product; bang for your buck best one on the market. I've had zero issues with it and it sounds fabulous with both digital and vinyl music.

I'm actually buying another for my store to power/ listen to music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ken   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2013]

Bought a T-1 amp. It sounds great, however there was a problem with my unit. Contacted customer support and got the runaround. Now they just stopped returning my emails. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY! They do not support their product.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Roger Inglis   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 17, 2012]

Bought T2 several years ago. Recently added a CD transport via the toslink port.
Turned out the toslink port has intermittent issues.
Contacted owner and was informed replacement board would be sent.
Then remote volume control failed to increase volume.
So, I contacted Neuhaus again.
Guess I pissed off the owner and now he won't respond to my emails and toslink replacement board has NOT arrived as promised.
The volume control was just jammed and a few twists freed it up.
The amp is great, when working. The costumer service couldn't be worse.
The passive aggressive behavior is unacceptable.
I would recommend that those considering this company's products look else were!
Producing a good amp is a good start, but standing behind it is how a company earns a good name. Guess they don't want to earn a good rep!
May I suggest a name changes? Mud comes to mind.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
VirtualSound   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2011]

Purchased my T-2 about 6 months ago and have been very happy with the amp. I have it set-up with Silverline bookshelf speakers that I got from Neuhaus' website also. The combination of being able to stream music via Apple Airport Express and still get great tube sound is awesome. Mids and highs really sing and I get decent lower end despite usually bookshelf speakers. Feed the amp with some quality music files and pumps out a full, warm sound with great detail.

Also, just to comment on customer service. I broke one of the preamp tube's prongs when replacing it after cleaning and Neuhaus sent me a new one within a few days at no cost. It was a pleasant surprise to have my amp back up and running so quickly and I really appreciated the great customer care.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2010]

This is my humble review of the Neuhaus T-2 Integrated Amp.

The Good:

1. Solid selection of inputs including USB and optical.

2. Reasonable price for what you get.

3. Solid enthusiast sound quality - not a hardcore audiophile product.

4. Overall design, small footprint

5. Good instruction manual with pictures.


The Bad:

1. My unit has an LED light upfront that goes on and off at will.

2. My unit makes various popping and high pitch sounds randonmly. I have tested in on multiple sources, multiple input, with/without clean power, via various RCA/Optical cables, etc. This is a quality issue that cant be forgivin on my particular unit. As I said, the unit sounds good when it works.

3. Although the design looks great, it seems like its a copy of the PrimaLuna DiaLogue. The two look almost identical.

4. The remote only offers volume control and is very cleaply made.

5. Terrible headphone output specs...terrible.

Overall, the unit has promise but it seems that the t-2 may suffer from intermittant quality issues. I like the sound when it works but there is no garantee it will. This is a good choice for powering solid speakers and ties well to a computer via USB.

I dont know if I would by this again given the quality issues but without those issues, it is worth a look.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
jimmy page   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 20, 2009]

Love this amp. I have a Rega Turntable and Dynavecter cartridge hooked up to his amp with a Rega phono preamp and this thing sounds fantastic. I originally bought this amp to hook up with my Apple macbook and listen to my digital music. It sounds great to. But there is nothing like vinyl. This amp gives me what I want great sound from records and great sounds from my thousand itunes songs. Using Definitive STS speakers purchased from the same web site. Sound great with built in powered subs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tubeman   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 14, 2009]

Purchased this new Integrated Push Pull Tube amp to hook up with my Apple MacBook so I can play my audio files directly in to my speakers. This amp is awesome. I just attach the USB to the computer and amp it play all my songs from ITunes with no software to load, true plug and play for PC or Mac. What really blows me away is the sound I get from my speakers. My digital files now have a depth and warmth I have no heard since album turntable days.

Using Definitive STS and ADS L470 speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com