Naim Nait 5i Integrated Amplifiers

Naim Nait 5i Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Integrated amplifier to replace the Nait 5. Rated at 50wpc into 8 ohms, four line-level inputs (CD, Tuner, Tape, A/V), all four of which have RCA sockets and two of which (CD and Tuner) also offer the Naim 5-pin DIN connectors. Amp includes a remote, tape loop, and is fully integrable into a 5-channel surround system.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Nov 17, 2018]
spiked0g


Strength:

Incredible sound comes out of this wonderful device at a very good price; it's worth twice the price. I have it hooked to a pair of Martin Logan Motion 40s and they come alive with the Naim. Dont let the "low" watts fool you, you'll have plenty of power plus some to spare. If I ever replace this it will be with another Naim amp but I dont see myself parting with this ever. I'll always have a place for it in my home.

Weakness:

No weaknesses I can find at all.

Price Paid:
700
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2012
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2016]
Jarvis
AudioPhile

As close to perfection as it gets! This is a loud and proud amazing integrated that does everything exceptionally well. Only my Arcam Delta 290 sounds a little better than my Nait 5i and maybe my Quad 77, but that gets into personal taste territory. Better than any of my Audiolabs, Brystons ot Nads. Close to the good Roksans. If you see one buy it, it will take you to the top of integrateds no matter price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 12, 2015]
vios
Audio Enthusiast

anyone tried the combination NAIM nait 5i-2 + ELAC BS244 ?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 08, 2014]
gino
Audio Enthusiast

This is for the Nait i5 not the Nait i5 -2.. Excellent amp The sound is lot bigger than its watts. . Its a true all rounder with all music. very smooth and detail Look no further if you find one second hand

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 21, 2013]
Max
Audio Enthusiast

I can but give it 5 stars too.
I have owned a lot of Naim gear, in all-Naim systems (wall socket to loudspeakers), including some mid-level, relatively costly units. This one was bought new, as part exchange for speakers I didn't like; I had read great reviews about it so I was expecting a good return for my money, but I knew I was downgrading in comparison to other systems I have had.

Well, this amp is lovely and amazing. Has guts, subtlety, and definitely belies its spartan looks and features. It's exactly the integrated one should buy when on a relative budget and only criteria are good sound and musical evolvement.
If one has to find a few flaws, bass is not so deep and powerful as other amps', but imaging is great and it retains, in more modern ways, the classic, lively Naim voicing I was so fond of a few years ago.

A great little amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2011]
Kanishka
Audio Enthusiast

Without a doubt, this is "The Best" integrated amplifier at it's price range. I used NAD C372 prior to buy this, which stated Stereophile class B recommended component. With this new amp, the change I am having is 100000 miles apart. Everything is same in my system except the amp and the NAIM speaker cables it use. I am still wondering if Stereophile class B is sounding that inferior to this amp, then what class this amp should get. Because as per Stereophile explanation, sound of Class B and A does not differ much from each other.

This classic amp has few faces initially. Out of the box, it will sound wonderful, vibrant and anyone would love it. Then it goes to a dip with more darker, shrilly presentation but after considerable hours of continuous power-on (or rather burn in), it will relay loosen up and become something out of the world. It will start producing every noun of the music with precise timing, weight and depth. Just music, pure heart pounding music. Unlike typical NAIM products I've heard, I would say this new amp is an all rounder because it plays almost all the music genres with flying colors. I heard almost every high-end brand available to date but the presentation this little amp gives is only comparable to few of mega systems out there. And those I heard through source and speakers that in the same league. But this little one I am running through much inferior my Dali Evidence 470's with a usual house class source nevertheless it is giving a serious challenge to those top of the range systems in terms of the music presentation. It is all music nothing else comes out of this small wonder. With impeccable timing, it is producing music top to bottom with no compromise to the recorded material it plays. You will hear each and every detail recorded with almost life like and natural form.

If you want a world class audio gear for a small budget, make sure that this amp be a part of that system. However, have patience for a while after you hook it up to judge it's sound. Highly recommend to use NAIM speaker cables to get the full potential of this nice little integrated. As well go with NAIM source if possible which will improve sound significantly than with other non-NAIM sources. This is usual with all the NAIM products and I witnessed it many times.

BTW don't get fooled with it's power rating. Anyone will get a pleasant surprise when play it for the first time loud. I am letting you know my experience by comparing it with earlier 150W NAD. NAIM presents power output in totally different way (not technically but the feeling) than every other product out there.

Last warning though, this amp will engage you with music than anything else and will become very addictive piece of equipment where you cannot left it without listening to it, at least few minutes a day even. No exception; I am very very serious about this warning.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 25, 2011]
nadman
Audio Enthusiast

This review is for the italic version 2. I replaced an Arcam integrated with the Naim Nait 5i-2 and wasn't really expecting too much difference. I was right except for two major areas. One, the music had more punch and was more dynamic. The first thing I noticed was the bass was stronger and tighter even though the power of the amp was less. Two, it sounded more "live" and less like an amplifier. Drum sections seemed like the drummers were in my living room and voices sounded natural and life-like. It still kept a lot of the good characteristics of the Arcam (detail, non fatiguing, not overly warm) but added what I felt I had been missing... dynamics and involvement in the music.

I've had quite a few integrated amps in the under $2000 but this one is definitely the best and a keeper. Now I understand why there are so many NAIM followers out there. My only gripe would be the lack of pre outs which I would expect at this price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 20, 2011]
mfm6
Audio Enthusiast

This is the 5i "italic" (i.e. version 2) that has the front panel iPod input. The amp has the distinctive and very pleasing Naim "PRatT", or pace, rhythm, and timing, which makes for a very lively and punchy sound. The music remains very natural sounding, but just seems to have more impact than I've heard with other amps. I listen to various genres including jazz, rock, and classical. I find the Nait is especially good at adding excitement (buy not in an unnatural manner) to older CDs and vinyl LPs and radio. For example, before this amp, I would never have listened to certain FM radio shows that featured older 40's big band recordings. I used to find they sounded like a low quanlity AM broadcast. Not so with the Nait, where this music somehow sounds sharper and with lots of clarity and, again, impact.

The sound was definitely improved by switching to Naim's speaker cable--a bigger effect than I've heard with other amps after switching cables. My speakers are rather inefficient at 85 db, and the Nait's 50 watts are plenty.

The remote control, which also controls my (Naim) tuner and CD player, is quite nice. I should like to point out that it has a nice features for fine control of volume: If you double click and hold the up or down volume button it now changes the volume at a much reduced rate. Also, if you give a quick one-time click, it makes just a very small incremental change in the volume.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 25, 2010]
bladerunner
AudioPhile

The best choice for the money. I m really happy with my amp&cd combo 5i and jamo d830 speakers. Sound is very transparent and detail, great timing and punch, amazing mids, Also, I was changed naim din cable for RCA acoustic zen matrix reference II. Soundstage is more wide, especially the impressive depth More than one year, always when I press the power, to experience something new, unique. The highest possible recommendation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2008]
deadsexy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The swagger, the groove, oh the humanity !

Weakness:

May not suite the princess who requires 3 watt amps to blow horns with.

I've been listening to this Nait5i for less than a day; does this disqualify my opinion? hell no, as I've owned a complete 5 series kit in the past, that I regretably sold only to venture through audio hell. Now I'm back; in love with Naim that is.
This Nait is the little engine that could: it's got clout, vigor, moxy, and just plain has a musical pulse that grooves with the music. The Nait takes my Harbeth 7's by the Kujones and makes them their bee-och-es. Quite impressive, considering the Beths' are 87 db sensitive, albeit an easy resistive load.
This int-amp is very impressive, and honest sounding . Very groovy!
Dead sexy tells no lies; believe it !

Similar Products Used:

Naim Nap 150112, Kora Explorer,Portal Panache, Consonance a120, Rogue Cronus. All within 2 years!.......i'd better try some brand loyalty!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com