NAD C352 Integrated Amplifiers

NAD C352 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

2 x 80W minimum continuous power into 8 ohms, 115W/185W/240W IHF dynamic power into 8/4/2 ohms respectively, headphone socket, high current Holmgren toroidal power transformer, relay input switching, 7 Line inputs including two tape in/outs, all discrete circuitry, short signal path from input to output, all sockets gold plated, Bass and Treble controls with Tone Defeat switch, main amp input and 2 preamp outputs, NAD Soft Clipping, IR input and output, full system remote control including stand-by/off, 12V trigger output, remote control, detachable power cord.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Feb 08, 2020]
suzziman45


Strength:

NAD C352 impresses with a clean construction and a solid build. So far no messups. Warm sound and a nice match to British High Db speakers

Weakness:

None so far as Value for money

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jul 31, 2013]
hammerh34d
Audio Enthusiast

I bought this unit second-hand in good condition, for approximately 300$. In my setup it drives Tannoys M2.5 on custom steel stands, sources are Pro-Ject Debut III equipped with blue Ortofon and PhonoBox, NAD CD 522, and iPod Classic/Touch via standard dock. I use DNM Reson as signal cable and Cable Talk CS 2.3 for speakers. I also use NAD as a source selector for my MF XCans via pre-out, currently driving Sennheisers HD 515.
I bought it "blind", relying on reviews and my general knowledge on NAD presentartion. I wanted an amp with a remote, nice stereo and dynamics, and large stage. I prefer detailed presentation, with precise but not necessarily large bass. I listen to diverse kinds of music, starting from early music, ending at extreme metal.
In my setup the sound is quite detailed, the stage is quite wide and presentation is engaging - especially at higher volume levels. It lacks a bit of precision though, which I blame both on speakers themselves and the room (positioning is not ideal). Both CD and turntable deliver well. As for iPods, they simply lack power, which is the reason I ordered Pure i20 for them and I hope for the best.
As a source selector, NAD delivers well. I am not quite able to notify the difference when driving my XCans directly from CD/turntable or via the amp, it is very convenient.
Overall, I am very pleased with the price/quality ratio for this buy. I think about replacing my Tannoys with Dynaudio, to achive more precision, but the time will show :)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2012]
Clemens
Casual Listener

This set is EXTREME value. it represents great sound in itself and it has an array of features to enhance the sound quality.
I purchased this 7 year old amp used for what amounts to approximately 200 us dollars, and it is most certainly well worth it. Provides a rich sound picture, more than enough power to drive my speakers (Dali Concept 2) and great opportunities to expand. Drives both vinyl and has ports for connecting a phono headset. the buttons are still crisp and has a nice feel. the design is somewhat anonymous, but it isnt ugly in any way.
Use the tone defeat switch and get a clean representation of any track, it still gives you the opportunity to define the treble and bass more to your liking without letting you distort the recordings.
This is my first real amp, and i already love it! for the price, you cannot find anything better - it is even cheaper NAD's intro-model right now and it packs so much more power and range. if in doubt - listen to it. this is quality through and through.
- clemens

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2007]
Nebojsa Nikolic
AudioPhile

Strength:

Dynamic, power, detailed sound and sound picture.

Weakness:

The remote control is ugly as a sin.

Being afraid that NAD C325BEE wouldn't be able to fulfill the very demanding old KEF 104ab, I decided to go for NAD C352. I must admit that after connecting the amp, paired with the NAD CD521BEE, I was a bit disappointed. It seemed that the mid range was overpowered (not extremely, but a bit overpowered). After couple of days things started to change. That mid range calmed down and took it's exact place in the sound picture where it should be. Now I hear that all the frequencies are divided and in the right place. I don't know if the story of amps that need "playing in" time is true, but for me it worked.
We all have to understand that many factors should be taken care of when we decide to review a product, such as: what speakers do we use when picking an amp, what kind of music do we prefer, what kind of equipment we had before (especially if that equipment was used for a longer period of time) etc. Naturally we must know that the strongest factor is the subjective opinion.
But to get back to the product itself. If you look at the power supply cable, you'll see that it is more serious than in most other products in this range. The input selector wasn't created on the switcher basis, which doesn't allow the dust to get in over the years. I must admit that the volume, bass, treble and balance knobs are not exactly the state of the art. They all look cheap and fragile. About the power of this particular model, I don't think that I have to waist too many words. 2x80W combined with signal to noise ratio >100dB, speaks for itself. The precision and detail of the sound is outstanding. You must hear it to believe it. Channel separation is very obvious. The bass is deep, clean and concrete. The mid range is not "drown" in the bass border line. It stands out in the way that it actually separates the low and high range by it's very existence. The high range is very well accented and nicely placed in the sound picture. Naturally, you can find better amps today, but the question is will those amps, payed ten times this one play ten times better? I think not. We all have to draw the line somewhere.
The conclusion is that this amp was not the product of the year for nothing.

Similar Products Used:

Cambridge A340, Denon PMA 500AE, Marantz PM7001

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 03, 2007]
zeljko
AudioPhile

Strength:

Warm, fat bass, mid`s are here, you can feel it, treble is fine! Great stereo reproduction! Don`t forget: this is a budget system!

Weakness:

phono in, a-b speakers, but forget it!

I bought this amp to replaced my old nadc320 bee, and pair them with wharfedale diamond 9.3
c320 is a good amp too, but it`s a little underpowered for this speakers, because they have sensitivity 88db. I was in doubt what to change: amp or speakers.
I choose to keep my diamonds, and it was a right decision!
Yesterday I connect them with my new nad c352, and wow!!!
Fat, extended bass, fantastic, realistic midrange, and very fine treble!
Warm sound and great stereo reproduction!
And what is more important, my diamond`s are not the same speakers now!
Now I must listen to all my cd`s again!
If you are looking for a perfect match, try this: nad c352+wharfedale diamond 9.3+nad c521bee+nad c422

Similar Products Used:

nad c320bee, yamaha ax396, denon pma 700

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2006]
Marcos Cezar
AudioPhile

Strength:

natural sound . Great detail sound.

Weakness:

no buy in Brazil. I need imported.

I need integrated amplifier what providence me sound flat much natural. I have surprise when loud this equipment. very nice surprise.

Similar Products Used:

Nad C521 BEE and JM Lab speaker

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 20, 2006]
Carl Reid
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good Price.... Good Audio Quality and Power relative to price....

Weakness:

See points 1 and 2 in the Summary above.....

Honestly, this is a difficult product for me to review..... I've owned a NAD C352 for almost 2 years and have finally upgraded to Rotel seperates (which I absolutely love).....

For the price I think NAD delivers good audio quality and an overall decent performance..... but Unfortunately from what I've experienced with the two NAD products I own (this Amp and the C521Bee CD Player) they suffer from at least 2 real issues:

1) They are Ugly and look cheap (which is not necessarily a major concern to everyone)....

2) They seem to always suffer from some type of really annoying electrical problems..... My Amp has the crappiest volume control via remote ever (it basically switches from low voliume to too high with just one touch of the volume button)... it also showed some issues when I started hooking up all my HT components to it and tried to switch audio signals..... My CD player takes a ridiculously long time to read a ot of my CDs and can't read many of them.... my old cheap Technics CD player had no such difficulties.... I recently returned to the store where I bought the NADs to check for speakers and was told that they no longer sell the NAD AV Receiver line becuase of problems with Video Switching....

My overall assement is that NAD does create good products but I believe that they cut too many corners in order to try and cram as much 'quality sound' in for the minimal cost..... which can lead to glaring and frustrating flaws in what would otherwise be amazing equipment (for the price)....

So, my advice is to thoroughly tryout any NAD product you're considering buying and ensure that you can live with any potential shortcomings before purchasing one.....

Similar Products Used:

Techniics Receiver, Rotel Amp & Pre-amp....

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 02, 2006]
Chris999
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The soft, natural, precise sound. The pre-out is good for bi-amping or subwoofer.

Weakness:

The sound is too much gentle. The bass is not solid, no enough drive for modern styles. The sound is not impressive.

I have been using C352 during 1 month. I have NAD C320BEE too and now can compare them. C352 is rated as 80W per channel, but it does not seem so powerful in comparison with C320BEE (50wx2). The NAD C352 has a soft presentation of music, everything sounds natural and precise. C352 gives a little more detailed sound than C320BEE, but C320BEE has more weight on bass and sounds definetely better, dynamic, involving, with more colours. The strange thing is these two ampifiers are almost the same inside, but the sound is different... For some styles of music maybe C352 is preferable, but for me C320BEE is better, because i like a lively sound with plenty of bass and good drive. Now i am waiting for C325BEE, it must be as good as C320BEE and even maybe better. Everything Nad does has a high guality, but everybody gets what he likes!

Similar Products Used:

Harman/kardon HK630, Harman/kardon HK670, Yamaha AX496, NAD C320BEE

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 01, 2006]
ruiseixas
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound dynamics

Weakness:

You need a pre-amp to get the full strength of this amp.
Try connecting you sound card at low audio volume output on the MAIN IN to see the difference. ATENCION, CONNECT AT LOW OUTPUT AUDIO VOLUME LEVEL.

Good device if you leave the pre-amp...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 01, 2006]
Rui Seixas Monteiro
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound dynamics

Weakness:

You need a pre-amp to get the full strength of this amp.
Try connecting you sound card at low audio volume output on the MAIN IN to see the difference. ATENCION, CONNECT AT LOW AUDIO VOLUME LEVEL.


Good if you consider only The amp and leave the pre-amp...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com