NAD 3020 Integrated Amplifiers

NAD 3020 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

20 Watt Integrated Amplifier (1978-1983)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 63  
[Nov 17, 2022]
ampva301


Strength:

I purchased my 3020A in 1980. It was really useful to me for many years. Then, somewhere along the way, I decided to upgrade to something much fancier. Because that unit is currently broken, I decided to connect the old NAD. | Lubbock Drywall Contractors

Weakness:

None as of now

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 27, 2022]
togolese273


Strength:

Then they sound very good, not great, but pretty impressive. I tried these out on 4 different stereos (Fisher 4060, Luxman R-113, Sansui Au-D7, and a Nikko NA -700ii. They sounded terrible on everything except the Nikko. But they really shine with that little guy! Sioux Falls Trailer Repair

Weakness:

None . .

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 22, 2020]
eastangliauk


Strength:

I bought one broken but just needed the switches cleaned and sounds really good now. The 3020i is a very good sounding amp I use kef q1 speakers these give very good treble and for more bass a 10 inch kef sub. amp has treble and bass knobs I don't like amps without these like some Marantzones.

Weakness:

only has one pair of speaker outs no A/B if needing more power you an preamp but the sound may change.

Price Paid:
15
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2020]
cheshkev


Strength:

Deservedly one of the hi-fi greats. This is one of the most musical amplifiers ever built. I've owned a few over the last 30 odd years - original 3020, a 3020i, an early 7020 receiver (essentially a 3020 + 4020 tuner) and now, a 3020A. The 3020A is the pick - slightly better treble than the early models, but retaining the lovely midrange and fruity bass registers - the 3020i, whilst more 'hi-fi', somehow didn't gel the same. Put it this way - I recently bought a pair of loudspeakers from an eBayer. He demo'd them on the end of a Naim Nait 5. The Naim was superbly articulate and clear, with an effervescent, bouncy sound. Nice, but could be tiring. The same speakers (old B&W DM-4s) on the end of a 3020A sound perfect - real heft in the lower registers, smooth, and just the right amount of sparkle in the treble (DM-4's are bright sounding speakers). The 3020 was, and is, a giant-killing gem. It just makes music enjoyable to listen to, without ever drawing attention to itself. Surely that's what good quality sound reproduction in the home is all about, irrespective of the age of the equipment?

Weakness:

Patchy build quality and finish - it was very much built down to a price. Later ones are better, but the earlier ones sound better, at least to my ears. All of them are warm sounding, with a slight rolloff particularly in the treble - this is most evident on the earliest examples. So take care with loudspeakers - warm-sounding speakers will result in a thick, overly dense sound. Values are creeping up - great if you're selling, less so if you're in the market for one. Good examples now cost more than they did new (my last 3020i cost me £79 new from Richer Sounds!), but still represent good value I think.

Price Paid:
£109
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1983
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 24, 2017]
Nigel
Audio Enthusiast

Anyone who like me has been into HI FI gear for 40 years or more will have learned a lot about individual products. I have had many, I have auditioned many, and yet until recently took only the word and mouth about the NAD 3020. I thought at last i would buy one and listen to it myself. One word describes the Nad 3020 and that is not is not nice to post so here is an acceptable one, AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! I like others cannot believe my ears. I have had valve equipment, high class high cost equipment (and still have) but boy oh boy what an amplifier. It does have a valve-like delivery smooth and very detailed indeed. The mid range frequencies could be a slight problem with some speakers that are super efficient, but that need not be a problem because you can adjust the treble frequencies. The bass goes a good way to Australia (down) and you can feel the softness in your body, it rolls out at you with authority but not boomy. This is one amplifier I should have taken more seriously some 30 years ago. It would have made a wonderful benchmark to judge others and not just budget ones either. I had heard it in shops but never in the comfort of home. This amp will stay with me for many years to come, I may at some point think of recapping but at the moment it is a case of leave well alone. Get one quick!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 07, 2017]
Ron
AudioPhile

Purchased as a student in 1980. Every time I take this amp out and shake out the cobwebs I find it still performs better than anything else I've purchased. And by performed I mean it is more pleasant to my ears.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2016]
Jo
Audio Enthusiast

Stunning! Buy one if this happen to see one for sale. Matches well with my b&w CM5 s2. The combo is jaw dropping. This is truly a giant killer. Got this for $300 very mint, with box and manual. Beats my rotel separates rc1550 rb1080 hands down. Exceptional amp. Buy one and be in audio nirvana. :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 19, 2016]
Jarvis
AudioPhile

This is the best sounding integrated amp available to mankind. Only weak point is its very limited power, but if it's power amp section was stronger the 3020 wouldn't sound that good. His majesty Sir BEE got it perfect with this one and established NAD overnight in a hifi scene dominated by the fantastic Sansui AU and Luxman L series.
NAD intentionally degraded sound quality litle by litle in the models that followed the original 3020 namely a,b,e,i,d, etc in order to offer the best in more expensive models.
The original 3020 and in particular the floor mounted transformer model is the absolute best sounding one, and most sought after and expensive of course.
This is a very special integrated amp, not "for the money" as many say, but for any money. I will not try and describe the sound, as many have done that very well over the years. I can only say how happy I am I managed to buy 6 of these amps while they were still offered for sale. All original floor mounted transformer ones. I have tried every model that followed and tested it extensively, nothing comes close to the real thing. Many will dissagre, but only because they are owners of a model with a letter after 3020, or with a rear plated mounted transformer...
If one comes in your way, fight for it. It is as an important piece as it gets. Fantastic sound, this amp does what you dream of...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2015]
rob
Audio Enthusiast

after listening to this gem 3020A i am convinced this is the best amp ever produced under $1000 back in the day , i bought this nad last week for $100 and is better than any marantz out there, i was floored when i heard mark knoffler s latest CD on this amp. No wonder its considered top 10 amps of all time Bass is full and deep , It delivers a full bodied sound , its natural and oh so rich and clear . good bye expensive gear and hello greatness.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 16, 2015]
George Melendez
Audio Enthusiast

What can I say but WOW!!! I've listened to some great and expensive gear in my days with all the trimmings you can think of but the NAD 3020 Integrated Amp is truly an exception to the rule. This little amp rocks the boat. My set-up was rather simple and humble, four 305 Bose speakers, a NAD tuner and a Panasonic turn table with Audio Technica pick-up, that's it. My friends with high end expensive gear went hay-wire & nuts when they would heard what was coming out of the speakers. I wish I still had this set-up. I purchased both the NAD amp & tuner for $450 in 1982 but it was stolen a few years later. If any of you guys know of anyone selling both the amp and or the tuner please contact me. Thanks and hope to hear some good news.

Thanks, George

email: melen001@hotmail.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 63  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com