Musical Fidelity Nu-Vista M3 Integrated Amplifiers

Nu-Vista M3

  • Power output: 250 watts per channel @ 8 ohms
  • Dual mono power amplifiers
  • Inputs: Five line plus MM phono
  • Full remote control

  • User Reviews (35)

    Showing 1-10 of 35  
    RobN   Casual Listener [Mar 19, 2008]
    Strength:

    Transparency
    Neither adds nor subtracts from the recording.
    Build quality

    Weakness:

    Personally I would prefer more understated looks & a smaller sized body

    I bought this partly on a whim as the various amps (Sugden A21a, Audiolab 8000s, Pioneer A400, Naim 5i) I already used didn't seem able to do full justice to the PMC FB1+ speakers I was using above medium volumes.

    This amp delivers; it has revealed details I had never before heard of instruments' timbral qualities, playing and studio techniques, placement in the mix, cymbal decay, dynamics, etc etc etc. It does this without losing the wholeness of the music .

    What has amazed me most is how this amp reveals variations in presentation and sound reflecting how the music being played has been recorded. It can rock out, be sensual; bombastic and all ponts between. However I have yet to hear it sounding shrill even on CDs where other amps sounded like they were sometimes struggling to resolve sometimes toppy sounds.

    I can understand that people looking for musical thrills may find the amp's lack of indiviual character a let down, though for me it enables me to hear something closer to what was originally recorded than other amps I have used which have tended to impose a character on recordings. In a word transparent.

    Finally it is very powerful, it has never sounded even slightly strained though as yet I have not needed to turn the volume control beyond 11 o-clock.

    Customer Service

    No experience of this

    Similar Products Used: I have only used substantially cheaper amps including: Cyrus One, Sugden A21a, Naim 5i, Pioneer A400, AR Cambridge A60, Onix OA21s; not really fair to compare the M3 with these as new it cost at least 3 times as much.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    kugs22   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2007]
    Strength:

    Soundstage, depth of field, midband and bass accuracy, details, vocal presence on good material, uncongested presentation of larger pieces.

    Weakness:

    The Fremer "Bubble" in the treble glossed any meaningful grit in leading transients of violin strings, acoustic guitar strings, saxaphone "growl"; drum "thwack" bass viol lead plucking, etc. The bass was well defined, but a bit slow and not quite as full as I'm used to in either tube or solid state amps. Lack of "jump factor" and lack of microdynamic modulation (perhaps caused by the treble problem) similar to Class D imperfections in the same area. Sensitive to cabling. Cheap remote.

    I have owned many amps over the years, but this one has me baffled. In auditioning at least five other amps in my present system, I heard pretty much what reviewers reported; I found them each engaging in their own way. Except this amp. I simply could not get enthused. It was way too laid back, uninspiring, and smooth. It was "mailed in perfection," the way some Class D amps sound (although it is not as transparent as a good Class D amp, which I also auditioned, so it doesn't even have that price/performance category nailed). Non-fatiguing? So is my radio! Transient attack was absolutely MIA in the mid to upper treble, leading to a boring, sterile sound without emotional engagement whatsoever, as good as the soundstage, etc. was.

    I sold it on Audiogon to a guy who immediately reported the same conclusions to me (without my input). Basically, pretty, but boring. He had the wherewithal to be able to try different cabling, and he is reporting good results. But for me, something at this price level should be more neutral, and shouldn't require huge investments in cabling. New jumpers and umbilicals for this amp will cost you about another grand. I suppose if it leads to audio nirvana, it isn't so bad - the fellow at Revelation Audio says his umbilicals will transform the amp, and he has a 30 day return policy. He also indicated my observations about the amp were, give or take, his own. As did Frank at Signal Cable. In the end, I decided not to take the leap.

    For this kind of money on the used market, you can buy a nice Melos 200 amp and Audible Illusions L1, or a Marsh 400 and Perreaux preamp (both of which combinations I've had before) and I'm sure there are others - and have, in my opinion, a much better result, both technically and emotionally. Frankly, I much prefer my blue collar NAD 372 to this thing, although, of course, it is not as refined. But it has pace, guts, tonal richness and good lead transients, and can make me dance or cry. The only thing the M3 made we want to do was turn on the TV.

    I am simply reporting what I heard in my system. I was surprised to hear similar comments after my purchase, as outlined above; I think Fremer was very gentle in his review of this amp. I wish those who love it all the best, but I would never recommend this amp to anyone unless they had a the money and time to buy and futz with cables. I have to say I was disappointed. I am not writing to trash others opinions of the amp. I am simply reporting what I heard in my system.

    Customer Service

    Not applicable

    Similar Products Used: See above, plus transcendant audio, atma-sphere, parasound, adcom, Onix, Red Wine Sig 30, others
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    alexanderferdinand   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2007]
    Strength:

    Authority

    Weakness:

    nothing

    In comparision to my former used AVM A2 it was the power and the richer details.
    Ad Power: its simply an experience, when you listen to a passage, where suddenly there is a little bit more power needed, its simply there.
    And although there is power, theres no lack in drawing the fine details.

    A bit about the rumours about the tubes: MF doesnt own them all. they are out of production, but there is lots of these 6CW4 around.

    Similar Products Used: Denon 1500 (years ago)
    AVM A2 Evolution (was replaced by the M3)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Alexander Romanoff   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2007]
    Strength:

    Your are simply in it. Stage is great. A voice (were the most ingeneers put them) is now really in the middle, nailed.

    Weakness:

    Simply stupid oversized speaker- terminals.

    Sure, it`s the first week with this item I ought second- hand.
    It showed the AVM A2, what music is.
    Simply the souverenity overall, the possibility to play "Superbass" by Ray Brown AND to hear the violent kicks was new.
    Sure, the AVM is good for its price.
    So the Musical Fidelity is better.

    A little hint for all might be customers in future: The Tubes 6CW4 is still available and not so exclusive, Mr. Michelson wants us to tell.
    But no worry, the originals still working, and for my good sleep, 2 sets of 4 pieces are on their way to my private stock.

    I´m listening Ellington, Patricia Barber, Mingus, etc etc etc

    Customer Service

    None

    Similar Products Used: AVM A2
    Denon 1500
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Placidguy   AudioPhile [Sep 27, 2006]
    Strength:

    Power and Poise

    Weakness:

    The supplyed cables

    This is a big amp with a big soud. At first I was quite dissapointed with the sound considering the price. Untill i replaced the amp jumpers with Kimber Cristal Ag, the 5 pole PSU cable with RevelationAudioLabs cable and replaced the 3 pole PSU cables with Russ Andrews Reference power cords.
    Now the M3 sounds fantastic, so smooth and sublime in the mid range, the bass is deep tunfull and very powerfull. Also the sterio image is much more presice and so wide it almost wraps around the room. The ambient delicasy in the trebble is so sweet now that It now truly sounds like the high end amp that it should do.

    Similar Products Used: Myryad mcd 600 cd player
    Linn Keilidh speakers
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    KWTan   AudioPhile [Jun 30, 2006]
    Strength:

    Control, Musicality

    Weakness:

    The oversized speaker connectors

    This is a great piece of equipment and after owning it for 4 years, it is still the main amplier I listen to. It combines the bests of high power solid state amps with musical ease of tube amps. I am using it with the ATC SCM20s and the sound is superb. Control is effortless. Dynamics is superb and yet, there is no hint of harshness commonly associated with high power amplifiers.

    I have yet to find another amplifer with similar performance. The Mcintosh MC2000 comes close, but I find myself switching on the M3 more than the MC2000.....

    Similar Products Used: Mcintosh, Conrad Johnson
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    kris   AudioPhile [Apr 14, 2005]
    Strength:

    The whole music spectrum. Lows and highs Unlimited power.

    Weakness:

    None

    I have been using this integrated for about 3 years now and I have tried to replace it over the years with other products and it still in my system. It is in my system still because it just sound amazing every time I sit down and listen to it. It just plays music the way it is mint to be played. The 250x2 is the very underrated because I have never got this to clip or shutdown. It has so much current my hard to drive speaker just wake up the more volume I give. The high's are the best I have ever heard and the midst are so sweet and the lows are deep with weight. I just wish that I would of bought the MF 3d CD player with it. I demo the Tri-vista to replace my M3 and I thought the Tri-vista sounded to thin and bright to me so I returned the TRi-vista and kept the M3. Musical Fidelity did there home work on this one. I see them going used for under $3000 and what a bargin!

    Similar Products Used: Pass labs BAT Cary Marantz
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    canoa70   AudioPhile [Mar 30, 2003]
    Strength:

    Everything thing and a bit more

    Weakness:

    Nada, nothing at all

    Well, this is my first review ever so i don't know where to start, but here goes. My system: - Speakers (Jm-lab Electra 936) - Qed Genesis (speaker cable) - CD Marantz CD12 and Rotel 1070 The one thing i must say is that it sounds as good as i've heard any other system that's a lot more expensive, great detail, power, soundstage. It's truly amazing can't recommend it enough, of course the Marantz CD12 also helps a lot since is one of the best cd players ever made (don't you all agree?), i hope this helps someone out there thinkin twice in buying one, don't hesitate go for it, there are people that consider the Nuvista the best integrater amp ever made.

    Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon AVR8500 (still in use) Audio Lab 8000P and 8000C
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Ray   AudioPhile [Dec 08, 2002]
    Strength:

    As per above

    Weakness:

    As per most reviews, while its bass is deep and strong, I agree that it doesn't have the n'th degree of grip on bass that Bryston and monster Krells and Theta's have. But then the first brand seems too bright and mechanical through the rest of the frequency range and the latter two are just much more expensive. Cheap remote. Stupid oversized speaker cable terminals.

    One year into ownership and I still love this amp. Clean, detailed, transparent, excellent soundstaging and control over instrument placement in the soundstage. Huge, effortless power. When auditioning it I prefered it to Bryston, Bel Canto, and even some Levinson. Fantastic value for the money.

    Similar Products Used: Upgraded from Copland amps. Using: Sonus Faber Amati Homage Arcam Alpha 9 Harmonic Tech Pro-Silway II IC Analysis Plus Solo-crystal Oval 8 speaker
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    ropeboy88   AudioPhile [Oct 13, 2002]
    Strength:

    superb sound, just keeps astonishing me with the open effortlessness with which it seems to produce the music

    Weakness:

    a bit on the big side! I am now needing to buy new supports.

    What an incredible component. The M3 has elevated the performance of my system more than any other upgrade that I have ever made. It really is that simple. I have only ever heard one system as good and that was a money no object affair at a hi fi dealers in london (which I suspest on retrospect was playing SACD anyhow). Before the installation of this amp I had been considering new 'speakers but now the sound that I am getting really cannot justify spending such large sums (I would be suprised to get an appropriate increase in sound quality for anything like reasonable money). The only thorn in my side is that my dealer has a nu vista 3D CD player and if it is anywhere near as impressive as the amp then I had best start saving again! Dare I audition it in my system? Fantastic.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 35  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com