Marantz PM-7000 Integrated Amplifiers

Marantz PM-7000 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

95 watts per channel power output into 8 ohms. Seven source inputs including moving magnet (MM) phono input. Learning remote control.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 56  
[Jun 20, 2016]
ASSOUN Pierre
AudioPhile


J'ai votre Ampli PM-7000 depuis 16 ans et je voudrais vous demander
si je pourrais utiliser deux enceintes sans fils en plus de mes deux enceintes classiques.

Je tiens à vous dire que depuis 16 ans votre PM-7000 fonctionne à merveille !

MERCI POUR VOTRE REPONSE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2011]
Henrik Taagaard
Casual Listener

Just a lovely sound. Very rich and warm sound; but it also is quite neutral. Some cd¨s sound not good, others fantastic. It feels like we are sitting in a big room, and the music and sounds are alive around us. For dvd sound it is also very good, with a lot of background details.
We love this beautifull Marantz Amplifier.!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2009]
mark
Audio Enthusiast

lets just forget about DTS amps aw we all know this is a good old stereo amp nothing more nothing less for sound you can't do better for the price

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 02, 2007]
leezard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Nice component lay out
Heavy build quality
Simple functions no gadgets to get in the way

Weakness:

Speaker Binding post could be better

While those few reviews rate this amplifier as terrible, I have to disagree. Give this amp the credit it deserves by providing a good signal and speakers. With a good signal in place sit back and enjoy, this is a very musical amp not just something that goes boom boom boom. Again this amp will show the short coming in your system, crap in crap out, music in music out. I think this amp stands up very well to it's ancestors of the late 60's and 70's.

While so many companies want you to listen to the make believe world of Home Theater ( I don't know what a Plane Crash sounds like do you?) but I do know how a String Bass and a Saxophone should sound and this amp brings out the music not just imagined sound.

Thank you Marantz for giving us a quality device for playing music that doesn't cost a arm and a leg.

Similar Products Used:

Marantz 2270
Marantz CD 5001
Sony CD 555ES
Pioneer SX 1250
Pioneer Elite
Yamaha CA 1020
Audio Nirvana

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2004]
bryolg
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Solid build, clear dynamic sound, plenty of power.

Weakness:

Maybe speaker connectors, but definitely no weakness in sound/operation.

This review is for the PM7200. I purchased the PM72000 about a couple months ago on-line from Music Direct. I am confused by anyone saying this amp produces anything but great sound? Maybe their compnonents don't match up well with the PM7200? My system: Listening Room: 14' x 17', carpeted Amp: Marantz PM7200 CD Player: Marantz CC4300 Speakers: Tower IIs Speaker Wire: Monster Navajo, bi-wired/bi-amped I found new life in all my music, especially the CDs I had to dust off! I found impressive clarity not just in high, mid and low sounds, but in distinct, mulitple levels of high, mid and low sounds! The PM7200 is solid, of high quality build (except the speaker connectors), with plenty of power, and clear, dynamic sound at the lowest and highest (reasonable) volumes. I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better amp at this price. I have to admit that I have a hard time differentiating between Class A and AB sound quality. I don't know if this is because my ear is not experienced enough, or maybe it's simply because the AB mode is superb! Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used:

Sony Panasonic Fisher Pioneer JVC Onkyo JBL Bose

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2004]
stewartchiang
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear Vocal.

Weakness:

Sounds too flat/thin, some details seems to be missing in the midrange.

This amp sounds too thin/flat and it seems to be some details are missing from the midrange. It's not the right amp for music genre like Dance, Rock, R&B and pop. It's acceptable only when playing piano, classical and jazz music.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 22, 2004]
arnout
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

warmth depth natural sound, detailed without sounding mechanical deep bass colourfull gentle refined

Weakness:

in comparison with rivals: less accurate less dynamic

This review is about the Marantz pm 7200 Having a budget to spend about $500 up to 600, you cannot go wrong: any brand will do just fine. The differences in sound are marginal. You will soon get used to the sound and end up liking it a lot. In 90% of shortcomings of sound (bad recording etc.) the tone control will be sufficient. My advice: buy the best looking amp. Having said that I wouldn't follow that advice (although I'm dead right), because I want to listen and find out for myself. So I did. I compared 3 Amps: Marantz PM 7200 $499 (played in AB, not in class A) NAD c352 $599 Rotel RA-02 $599 I conected them on my Marantz cd 5000 cd-player (I wrote a terrible review about this player on this site) and Dynaudio audience 52 speakers. I used the sound of a Sony headphones, plugged in the cd 5000's phones-socket, as an inaccurate reference to adjust my perception of Marantz cd 5000's sound: clean, delicate (easy to distort), good stereo image tight but lean bass, at times too bright and remarkable (for the money) depth. As expected: the differences were small. With most cd's the differences were very little, with few cd's the differences were more obvious. And with some there weren't any differences at all, at least I couldn't hear them. So pay in mind that the sound differences I've written down are a bit exaggerated . The Rotel RA-02 came the closest to the headphones sound, although the sound was even cleaner, faster and tighter, but unfortunately also brighter. The bas sounded equally lean but faster and punchier. The NAD sounded bigger, more dynamic and confident; the delicate cd 5000 sound transformed into a more stable sound, even at high volumes. The Rotel sounded strained, nervous and distortedat high volumes, but obviously the cd 5000 is to blame for this. The NAD also has a bigger and stronger bass which suits the cd 5000's lean bass. The low midds are a bit dark coloured, so you can call the NAD a warm performer. Still the sound is more open and detailed than Rotel's, sometimes a bit clinical which is a strange contradiction to warm character this amp also has. The Marantz PM 7200 surprised me completely by getting rid of the roughness and brightness of the cd 5000. It sounded not as tight, fast and precise as the Rotel, nor does it have the dynamics and the powerfull bass the NAD has, but the music flows with more eas. The delicacy of the cd 5000 remains without distorting at high volumes. I mentioned that the NAD is a warm performer, well the Marantz is even warmer without colouring the midds and that puzzled me; it looks like the Marantz brings out the warmth of the recording itself. The sound is almost as detailed as NAD's, but to my ears more natural (to other ears perhaps too smooth). There is no real winner here (as already said in the beginning: the differences are small), but the Marantz is definitely the best match with my cd-player (and the cheapest too!) The Rotel obviously needs a better source and appears to be the most neutral, precise, fast and punchie amp. The NAD will be liked by a majority of listeners for its speed, strong bass, superb dynamics and detailed sound, probaply this amp will outshine the Marantz when a better source is used. The Marantz is the most forgiving and gentle amp, but also the most natural and warm sounding. At times this amp is a bit excentric: the colours and tones this amp produces are from a different league (not better, but very special): so sweet, refined and warm. I didn't use the class A mode in this comparison, later I found out that there isn't any difference in sound between class A and AB... maybe I heard a slightly warmer sound through heaphones. This amp runs very warm, so it needs some space, but there isn't anything to worry about. A slight buzz is noticable when you're near the amp. You can hear the buzz also through headphones in the left channel when both speaker buttons are switched OFF, running the amp in AB. This buzz dissappears when one or both speakerbuttons are switched on. (so when you use only use one pair of spakers, you can switch OFF speaker button one and switch ON speaker button two.) Or you can listen in class A and this buzz will not appear at all. This buzz is not what you'll expect from a $499 amp, but it doesn't really bother me. I love this amp for its sound, power and good looks too.

Similar Products Used:

as said in review: Rotel RA-02 NAD c352

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2004]
bkbonham
AudioPhile

Strength:

fullness of sound warmth of bass and midrange

Weakness:

takes several weeks of steady operation to sound at it's best runs very warm

After reading all the reviews, I narrowed my source for a new integrated down to the PM7000, NAD, CREEK, and ARCAM. After listening to them all I really was impressed with the fullness of the PM7000's sound. After listening for several weeks it began to open up and really sound musical. I can't believe some reviewers here have questioned it's build quality. This unit is a tank and puts out heaps of sound for the dollar. It weighs approx 10 pounds more than my older Denon amp. The smoothness of the controls are first rate, especially considering the price point.

Similar Products Used:

denon, pioneer, nad

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2004]
Kurt28
AudioPhile

Strength:

Fabulous vocals and imaging.

Weakness:

Tight bass (weakness)?

This Amp is a killer. The sound is wide and dynamic. Was using a SR5200 for stereo listening but decided to switch to an amp and see what the difference can be and..oh what a difference! Vocals are especially more clearer and present and everything else is clean and sparkling. Bass is much tighter compared to using a subwoofer. On some materials especially pop and dance music you'll here the deep bass but none of the excess you'd would here if hooked up to a sub. I think i found the meaning of pure music bliss. Of course you got to have at least decent or better equipment, i have a Marantz DR6000 using as a player with 12 gauge speaker cables and Audioquest interconnects.

Similar Products Used:

sr5200

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 24, 2003]
Yarvis
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price, decent sound, very clean look.

Weakness:

Made in China!!!!!!! Not a big fan of that, but it seems everything is now a days. Speaker connections feel a bit on the cheap plasticky side.

I also have to agree with another reviewer here. The PM 7000 is a very fine amp for a very good price. Is it a McIntosh, Creek, or VTL? No,of course not but those amps cost more than 3 times the price or better. While I was researching, I never thought of giving Marantz a listen. In fact I was looking at Parasound. What actually changed my mind was that Parasound was discontinuing some pieces from the classic line. The Halo line was readily available, but also more money. I was trying to build a mid to high end 2 channel stereo for my living room inexpensively. The dealer I am dealing with (Woodbridge) is without a doubt one of the most responsive dealers I have come across. Very helpful and easy going, not pushy or stuffy. Anyway back to the amp. It is a bit lifeless out of the box, but with proper break in, it really is a nice sounding amp. When I bought it and some new Kef Q7's, all I did overnight was play pink noise through it and them. What a great sound! I can only imagine with some more break in time how the amp and speakers will sound. I play a little of everything and so far the amp and speakers sound pretty nice. I have to give this amp a good review. It does everything well for the MONEY. It is fairly musical (with proper break in), is free of a thousand useless and confusing buttons and looks pretty nice in my home.

Similar Products Used:

NAD, Yamaha.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com