Marantz PM-6010 OSE Integrated Amplifiers

Marantz PM-6010 OSE Integrated Amplifiers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Sep 22, 2017]
DavidClacton
Audio Enthusiast

I bought this amp in 2017
am using with kef carina 2 speakers.
the system has a very mellow sound.
its a fine amp for normal listening.
you hear much detail in electronic music such as dance.
there is no bass or treble setting on this amp.
a sub woofer would help a lot for more bass a kef kef psw 2010 has far more than enough.
I also use a yamaha ax 590 this is a much bigger amp and better for blasting out your tunes.
this is better for more powerful speakers such as my other mission 7004a speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 21, 2017]
Javier
AudioPhile

Este amplificador suena francamente bien. Desde el primer momento te atrapa emocionalmente.
Para mí existen dos tipos de amplificadores:1) los extremadamente correctos, en los cuales es muy difícil detectar errores, porque realmente están muy bien construidos y dan buenas mediciones de laboratorio. 2) Los que su musicalidad y capacidad de emocionar los hace distintos, pese a que no cumplan todos los estándares de laboratorio a raja tabla.
Bien, pues éste (que la verdad no sé como ha ido en el laboratorio, ni me interesa) realmente emociona. Y te hace repetir en la escucha de temas. Y deseas reproducir toda tu discografía en una tarde. Y si pones rock se te mueve solo el cuerpo. Y si pones clásica se te hace un nudo en la garganta.
Es limpio, ordenado y refleja la escena sonora con precisión.
Para su precio, un auténtico "highend killer".
Enhorabuena una vez más, Marantz.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2003]
Badger
Casual Listener

Strength:

Looks, sound,price.

Weakness:

Does not work well with all components..

I´ve had this amp for about 4 months, i´m quite pleased with it. It works fine with my cd-player (denon dcd-635) and my speakers Infinity delta40) I used to have Yamaha rxv-396.This amp is a lot better than my old one. Marantz did not work wery well with my old cd-changer(yamaha cdc-585)bass was missing, when i bought denon, bass was much better. I recommend this amp to person who has limited money capasity and who prefers good soud quality

Similar Products Used:

?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 04, 2003]
Matt vanderLugt
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very musical, plenty of detail, delivers the emotion of the music better than others at this price

Weakness:

lack of slam

This is a great amp for the price. It is probably not the most suitable amp for hard rock but for jazz/blues/classical/acoustic and just about anything else it is superb. It is detailed enough but won't bother with excessive amounts of information that so often detracts from the music. Be warned however, if you put this amp up against something like the Rotel RA02 or even the cheaper NAD320BEE in the shop, the latter two will sound more 'impressive' but I can guarantee that after extensive listening sessions (and perhaps breaking in) the Marantz wins on its very musical treatment of music. Of the three this one was the amp that drew me into the emotion of the music more. If you have the equivalent of AUD800 to spare, give it a try. I am using it with a Rega Planet CD player, ALR/Jordan Entry S speakers, Athena P2 sub and Kimber Kable 4VS spk cables and KK Hero interconnect. Love it!

Similar Products Used:

NAD320BEE, Rotel RA02

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 23, 2002]
Will Williams
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Transparency, control, nice treble. Build &looks.

Weakness:

Lack of attack for some types of music.

Iam well pleased with this amp, it has a nice relaxed sound with good control, transparency & is reasonably detailed. Build quality is good & it looks a real beast! but dont let it's appearence fool you as it's actually a bit of a sheep in a woolfs clothing. What could be a problem to some people is it's lack of slam which is most noticeable in some types of music such as rock & dance, so clubers & headbangers should look elsewhere! Me I'm a laid back 51 yr old into more mellow sounds, even so there are times when I could do with a bit more attack to some tracks of music that I play. I have heard it reccomended that it's best to partner Marantz equipment with smooth sounding speakers such as Tannoy, that is not the way for me, I had the 6010 partnered with a Marantz 6000ose CDP & Tannoy M2 speakers, the sound had bass & scale aplenty but too laidback & muddy sonding. I now use Mission 771e's, not much bass but a much more clear, detailed & lively sound with excellent imaging. All in all a very good amp from Marantz. 7

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 27, 2002]
Daniel Tomovich
Casual Listener

Strength:

Excellent value. Excellent Signal to Noise Ratio. Good build with adequate power to satisfy.

Weakness:

There are none compared to other amplifiers in the price range.

This was a great choice for me. I used this amp in a medium room and it had no problems making my speakers perform (B&W 602 S2). Unfortunately, I upgraded this to an amplifier I could not afford, and as a result I had to sell all my audio equipment to pay off a debt. Had I kept this amp I would have been better off. I found out that to buy an amp from the same company with twice the power output (95 watts RMS 8ohms) did not result in double the sound pressure of 50 watts RMS (8ohms). I did not know at the time that the power required was exponential to sound pressure. I would recommended this amp for those who are on a budget and are happy enough with the power output of 50 watts RMS (8ohms). In terms of quality there should be no problems. It was very good. It has a high Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR) of 99dB. Some more expensive amps don't have a SNR this good. The rated total harmonic distortion is very low too 0.008 %. SNR ratio is a good guauge of the quality. Higher SNR means lower distortion (I had no idea about SNR before hand). Amps with a very high SNR usually have a correspondingly high price. This amp is an exception. The marantz PM17 has a SNR of 112dB, but at 3 times the price. The marantz amp I upgraded to for double the price (PM8000) had a lower SNR ratio of 89dB. But in this case I was paying extra for the power. So, with amps with more power, you are probably paying for the extra wattage output and not the extra quality. Look at the SNR. This amp is worth considering before buying a more expensive amplifier. It is up to you what you value the most. Take a listen and compare a few amps. I am probably not the person to give advice as I prefer the marantz brand and have less experience with other brands. However, if you buy a good marantz product I think that there will be no need to upgrade to another amplifier, because they do make some of the best 2 channel amps in the price range. When I can afford it I will strongly consider buying the PM6010OSE again. I would only buy the PM17 if I have the excess cash.

Similar Products Used:

marantz PM8000 integrated amplifier. (this is not in the US)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2002]
Andrew Keast
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good looks, build tight un imposing sound.

Weakness:

Too cheap, may put some people off.

Great, samshin, super.....I am using the Marantz in a studio set up. I am running my Roland VM3100 Pro Mixing desk straight into the marantz, then into a pair of Soundcraft Absolute Zeros(speakers) The sound is clear,solid and is just what I need to produce and mix progressive dance tracks. I am using Cable talk, speaker cable and interconnects, which I have always used. I dont play CD''s through the Marantz but I am convinced it will perform well. I have returned to the Hi Fi route as my "studio" amp by Phonic caused me nothing but problems. Any studio users, try the 6010 it cuts the mustard.

Similar Products Used:

loads ( more expensive that is )

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2001]
Kenny Tai
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

transparency is astounding for this price. Focus and soundstaging impressive.

Weakness:

vocal bit edgy and bright. Needs care matching component.

Careful matching is important. The Marantx is a bit bright sounding but if matched with the correct component then its wonderful. Edgyness of the vocal is unaviodable, no matter what components I match it with. Porbably that;s what one get for that price. Anyone with a recoomendation pls mail me k thanks :)

Oh yes..this fella has got wonderful transparency, very very detailed for this price, so get a really up to standard source to utilise full potential.

Similar Products Used:

marantz pm17, Pioneer A400, Musical Fidelity B1, cYRUS 3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 23, 2002]
Peter Shuttleworth
Audiophile

Strength:

The Marantz PM6010OSE that I purchased has a soft open sound with clear bass and excellent timing from the treble and mid range. Also includes an excellent multi-function remote whichis able to control other connected Marantz products. The Maranzt produces a very clear open sound and a bargain for the £160 (UKP) I paid for it.

Weakness:

With my old Technics SLPG-490 CD player the sound was a little bright and whilst this was excellent with Classical Music, it lacked the proper bass depth I like for my dance music collection. However, I upgraded the CD player to a Marantz CC-3000 and the bass is now taught and the timing is excellent. Make sure you match components carefully for the best sound.

My old Cambridge Audio A4 amp was good value for money at the time, but I was annoyed at the lack of a remote and the slight buzzing the amp made when there was no CD being played and the Cambrige was still on.

However, I am happy to say that the Marantz PM6010OSE that I purchased to replace the Cambridge Audio has blown the A4 out of the water. First of all because it has an excellent remote and the styling of the very sturdily constructed Amp is excellent. Secondly, as I mentioned earlir, the sound quality is surperb at the price.

If you are a fan of the Marantz sound then buy this Amp now. It is excellent value for money.

Similar Products Used:

Cambridge Audio A4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2001]
Jim Smith
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Looks, Build, Sound

Weakness:

Nothing of note

I have only been using the amp for a week now but already it has opened up considerably. Sound is very smooth with good crisp treble that dosen`t tire. Vocals and mid range are open and transparent. Bass is good and taught without being overblown. You tend to get the feeling that this is the way the music is supposed to sound with the absence of any tone controls or loudness button. I am currently using a Tecnics SLPG490a CD which isn`t bringing out the best in the amp (due for replacment very soon) but it still produces the goods very well

Similar Products Used:

Many

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com