Denon PMA-920 Integrated Amplifiers

PMA-920

Class A 115 Watt Integrated Amplifier (1988-1991)

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
daz   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2017]

My PMS 920 has been laying dormant for 15 or more years. I fried a pair of Wharfdale 100W shelf speakers with it. Cost almost as much as their purchase price to get them restored. No longer have them but have been thinking of getting it and my Nakamichi OMS-2 CD player assessed for resurrection with new speakers. Yeah, the OMS-2 has only a 16 bit processor but a more current player will be relatively cheap and it's the amp at the heart of the sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fox5411   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 14, 2006]
Strength:

A real work-horse!

This amp was not considered high-end when I bought it 20 years ago. After three days of ownership my house was hit by a lightning strike. The amp was totally fried! The retailer however took the time to completely rebuild it. It has lasted now for twenty years and is still a great amp although the left channel just stopped working this week.

It certainly beats out any other stereo component I've ever purchased!

Now if I can just get that left channel fixed................

Customer Service

Because retailer was still offering personal service I was treated like a King!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
burque   Casual Listener [Sep 11, 2003]
Strength:

Great out of the gate

Weakness:

Doesn't finish the race

I ran this amp with a pair of Polk 11T's. It absolutely kicked butt for a good solid 5 years. 3/4 volume was shack shakin'. But 5 years of that abuse took it's toll and it started to drop off in volume. Not sure why. It finally fizzled after 10 years.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
mikael   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 09, 2003]
Strength:

it is capable of driving any speakers there is... i got 500 W speakers and i almost blow out the windows on half yolume

Weakness:

none

great. mine´s over 15 years and still going strong.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Young Kim   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2002]
Strength:

Clean sound. Strength in sound, coming from the high driving capability.

Weakness:

Tone control is not that effective. Black body was OK when I bought it, but now... looks ugly.

I have used this machine for more than 10 years mainly with Infinity Kappa 7 speakers. In my opinion, it sounds very good considering the price. Classical music is really wonderful. For many years, I looked for another similar-priced machine, but with better sound. But I failed and decided to keep it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 2000]
Strength:

Good, clean sound. Quality build with smooth operation.
Hi-end features include pre-out/main-in loop and CD-direct.
pre-out/main-in loop.

I've bought this amp five years ago and have been very satisified. When auditioning other other amps in this price range, I thought many were colored, especially in the low-end. This amp produces a good, clean sound. My speakers are mid-class (Class C Sterophile recommended components), but they sound very good with this amp. People expect to see much bigger speakers when they hear the sound. The pre-out/main-in loop provides flexibilty for going to separates in the future. Highly recommended in this price range.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Robo   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2000]
Strength:

Plenty of clean power. Lovely warm sound.

Weakness:

Typical looking 80s/90s black box. Speaker terminals too close to AC cord. Lacks a remote.

Please note 1991 model (not '95). Bought used via eBay and am VERY pleased. Used in conjunction w/a pair of Snell D (great speakers!). Lovely warm sound--much more enjoyable than well-reviewed Marantz PM57. I use it in CD Direct mode (by passing all tone controls) w/various CD players (Sony 7ES changer/Denon 1420) and always produces a musical, toe-tapping feeling.

Built quality is very solid. Power transformers are massive-has five internal fuses-which speaks about it power.

Used for $250-$200 u can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used: HK660, Marantz PM57, NAD 3240
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 1999]

I bought this integrated amp in 1991. It has inputs for tape loop, CD, tuner, phono, and 2 aux. It also functions in normal, CD direct, and subsonic filter modes. The preamp can be separated from the amp section by removing two jumpers, effectively turning the unit into separates.This amp has a clean, dynamic, and pleasing sound. The phono section offers both MM and MC loadings, and sounds very quiet (I have only used the MM section). The front panel controls are of a touch button type, with motorized switching between inputs. Knobs function smoothly, too. No extraneous sounds are noticed during operation of the controls.
I can highly recommend this component as a mid-priced amplification product.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com