Dared VP-845 Integrated Amplifiers

Dared VP-845 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Model: VP-845 INTEGRATED AMPLIFIER (SINGLE-END CLASS A) TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS: MAX OUTPUT POWER: 18Wx2 FREQUENCY RESPONSE: 20-20KHz (±1.5dB) DISTORTION: =1% SIGNAL TO NOISE RATIO: =84dB INPUT SENSITIVITY: 250mV INPUT IMPEDANCE: 100K ohm OUTPUT IMPEDANCE: 4 ohm/8 ohm SIZE: L500 x W260 x H330 MM WEIGHT: 34.0Kgs THE TUBE USED: 845x2,6SN7x2,12AX7x2

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Jun 08, 2020]
jackyj


Strength:

nice product to buy limo hire London

Weakness:

dont have any

OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 29, 2020]
aerton


Strength:

Very soft, musical amplifier, with great bass and balance across all frequencies. Great build. Solid copper top and huge heavy transformers... 82lbs weight... Inexpensive.

Weakness:

None that I know of... at 3 times the price...

Price Paid:
1700
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2009
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 2013]
keith devane
AudioPhile

I had a gut feeling about this amplifier and decided to take a risk and make a purchase.With the stock tubes the sound is very good, if a little edgy at the top end in my system.I replaced the output tubes with the top Psvane 845's, input and rectifier tubes with Rca and Sylvania brown base. This is now a beautiful sounding amp with very good bass control, superb mid and upper frequencies, great detail and most importantly conveys the emotion in the music.
The two speakers I have tried are the WLM La Scala and the Klipsch klf 20.
The sound is a bit more refined with the WLM ,although a bit reticent at times, I'm pretty sure this speaker prefers pushpull amplification. On to the Klipsch, and all I can say is the music came alive, conveying an effortless sweep of glorious sound, the volume rarely needing to go past 9.00.All in all, a great amp but boy is it heavy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 14, 2011]
Gabe C.
AudioPhile

I actually own the amp that received poor reviews from "Gab" on here. We happen to have the same first name. I purchased it on Ebay directly from him for a whopping $470.00 + $200 shipping from Montreal to Phoenix. I don't think I'll ever sell it, since it's the BEST deal in audio I've ever scored. He expressed the same issues regarding power/bass to me. But I already knew I wanted one of these after auditioning some back-loaded horn (Fostex/Audax drivers) on the first version of the VP-845 (only 22 watts), which I purchased. So, I lied in wait and for once, was patient...for 2 years. I love the combination of a SET amplifier with highly efficient speakers. No disrespect to the other Gabe, but if you are a potential buyer, I think you must discount his opinion because I think he was mating the wrong speakers to this amplifier. My system achieves bass frequencies down into the 30s. With any lower-power SET amplifier, I think you will find that you'll get the best results with efficient speakers, such as full-range single driver configurations, or even speakers like those in the Klipsch Heritage line. I've tried a pair of Klipsch and achieved amazing results, but I reverted back to my back-loaded horns. The VP-845 typically sells at a used price of $1200 - $1500, and at a price in that range, I'd go for it. Mine is the centerpiece of my system... all other pieces revolve around it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2008]
audiogonnut
AudioPhile

Strength:

Superb sound, extremely quiet, very reliable, price is low (when I bought it), beautiful to look at (the 2 845 tubes look like lanterns), Class A amplifer, can drive any speakers to reasonable level.

Weakness:

Heavy, the knobs can be better looking.

It has a sound very similiar to a top notch tube preamp/solid state amp combo. The bass is surprisingly taught not boomy. The mid bass is full and satisfying. The midrange is lush and clear. Treble is sweet. Sound staging is wide and deep.
Very quiet from the speakers. There is no hum from the big transformers. It is very reliable. There is no issue whatsoever. Make sure you hook up to the best sounding output tab for your speaker. I had a Jolida integrated amp and there is no comparison. This one is sound much more warmer and clearer.

Customer Service

don't know because I never need it.

Similar Products Used:

Jolida integrated amp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2008]
Gab
AudioPhile

Strength:

- sound stage is uncompromised with the 845 tube, many other modification to the amp are possible,

- Bass is well defined - midrange easy to listen , highs too are pleasent

Weakness:

Dared could refine a lot their product, also putting 4 845 tubes would bring this amp to top levels...

Tough its a SET , the bass start to become incredible, i like the 845 tubes !!!

This is my second review, after midifying the circuit...

Sound is no longer cardboard sounding
Sound is no longer pipe sounding

Details of the music are more present, but not the micro.

Bass is good down to 100 hertz compaired to 200 hertz before...

Speaker control is 'soft', this amp is very easy on drivers, they are very controled , they never boom but at the same time its very punchy sounding, no problem for techno / electronic music :)

Similar Products Used:

jolida, audio research

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2008]
Gab
AudioPhile

Strength:

The amp is good in 3d sound, and very detailed,
Less sound distortion than most transistor amps.
Vocals are nearly perfect.

Weakness:

No bass.. That kills the amp. All my other hifi amps have killing bass. An organ sounds like an organ, DRUMS realy kick ass in my solid state.
-

First, this is a brief review, and my first. I tested on these settings , please note that ill do more testing and moding the amp or sell it to someone who doenst want bass...
- Saba 12inches (for bass) in oppen baffles 3 m high and 1.5 meter wide,
-Whd, medium - small.
-telefunken (best telefunken ever).

I used sony cd players, blu ray, mps players, and the legendary x707esd

no equalization was made.

Similar Products Used:

its my first tube amp.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 23, 2007]
AudioPhileExpert101
AudioPhile

Strength:

-Great Price
-Powerful enough to drive most any speaker regardless or their sensitivity rating
-Fantastic Exotic Styling
-Just plain awesome sounding
-Super Super Super Quiet
-Very well built and designed

Weakness:

-Tubes get HOT!! Don't kid yourself, 845 tubes are bright and get around 600 degrees F. You won't need a heater in that room during Winter! :)
-Blue LED power light started flickering. Not a big deal, but it can get annoying. Easy fix anyway. Whats the point of a power on LED anyway? The tubes glow very bright to begin with.
-On/Off Switch stuck in the on position. I never used the On/Off switch because I turn everything on with a power conditioner so I'm guessing the heat over time got to the switch. The surface of the amp would get around 180 degree's at times! Inexpensive switch anyway and it ended up fixing itself (came unstuck). After I ordered a new one of course. Still worth every penny.
-Lame Manual with few details.

Well, where shall I begin. When I was looking for a good powerful single ended tube amplifier for my somewhat inefficient 90db speakers I stumbled across this monster. The looks just blew me away, but I wasn't after looks so I started researching. I wondered if it sounded as good as it looked. I read some various reviews and decided that I didn't feel like gambling away $1600 for a new one off eBay. Of course I was still in the market for a nice single ended tube amplifier, then one popped up on Audiogon used for $1000. I figured what the hell. I bought it and when it arrived I was even more impressed with it's looks and build quality in person. I immediately got everything hooked up and started warming up the Chinese tubes. After it was all warmed up I gave it a shot. WOW!!! I was blown away with it's attention to detail. All the instruments were clearly separated and sounded so smooth and realistic. The best part was how incredibly quiet the amp was. Actually it was quieter than most solid state equipment I have. Simply stunning! Of course it didn't end there. I started changing tubes and power cables within a week. I went through many power cables and the differences were minor. Of course the tube changes were far from minor sounding. I ended up with Telefunkin 12AX7's and Tung Sol 6SN7 GTB's (VT-231 USA Made). I never got a chance to change the big 845's, but I hear putting metal plate 845's in does something magical. I must say, it took hundreds of dollars in tubes to find a tube combination that bested the factory Chinese tubes. Overall I don't think anybody would be disappointed with this amplifier. Even if bought new for $1600 it's a steal compared to others. I personally love 845 tubes feel you will too!

Similar Products Used:

Too Many to List.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 24, 2007]
underwood
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Realistic soundstage, depth of room, stunning dynamics, excellent midrange.

Weakness:

Heavy (you won’t just place it around in your house too often - neither would your wife), runs hot, build quality could be slightly improved (edges, knobs) - not to talk about the design.

I first got in contact with Dared when I bought their small SET MP-7 (btw: it was the first amp in SET-technology that played in my rooms). A real bargain, maybe not the most dynamic one but very euphonic. I loved it from the first tunes it played
So, after changing my loudspeakers from Tannoy DMT-12s to (Bo Hannson’s) excellent Rauna Chaconnes (concrete! 80 lbs/ea, C37-treated), I’d liked to have a little more power.
I switched to the VP-845, which does not really fulfill my aesthetic concepts (it’s different to other amps, but I wouldn’t award its design).
There are definitely other virtues, that make me still keeping this heavy, hot running SET with its deadly-dangerous high voltage tubes.
It sounds like hell & heaven together (or, if you, like: xmas & easter). I never before had the impression of being part of the reproduction - beautiful soundstage (I know, concrete loudspeaker do emphasize this sensation), voices of true clarity and emotions, fullbodied small jazz-combos, silky strings, beefy saxes, banging basses – or I listen to (e.g.) Fritz Reiner’s Mahler Symphony No. 4: My room turns into a concert hall. There’s just more air, more space, more information than with every other amp I used before.
And also: At night, I don’t need to turn on the lights…
I’m absolutely happy with it - but, if I had the opportunity to design it, would definitely not look like it actually does.
Give this amp enough time to break-in, it’s worth it. I had the amp checked by a technician, a 845-specialist (he owns a VP-845, too. But fitted with KR-tubes), to be sure that all setting are correct. They were.
And of course, tube rolling makes a lot of sense. I tried the Shuguang 845B - and switched back to ones, that came with the amp. They were just a little more quiet and the sonic differences were too marginal (maybe I should try ear rolling?). But I changed input and drive stage to JJ E83CC resp. to RCA VT-231 JAN - did you ever taste dark chocolate and single malt? That’s how it sounds – compared to milk chocolate and blended scotch.

Customer Service

very good: swiss dealer was very helpful - I had the opportunity to listen in my own rooms and with my own sources

Similar Products Used:

Accuphase E-306
Accuphase E-210
Audiomat Solfège
DNM-Reson
Holfi Integra
and lots more...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2006]
tubeman
AudioPhile

Strength:

Huge bang for the buck. I'm into an 845 SET for way under what I would expect to pay. Every bit as good as amps costing much much more. Looks and build quality are first rate. Dead quiet, no hum at all.

Weakness:

No remote control.

I purchased this amp a little more than two weeks ago and have about 100 hours on it. I have to fully agree with eagertrader's review. I am hearing layers and parts that were previously buried in the mix. Tons of detail. This amp is very linear and has that classic SET sound, the midrange is astonishingly real. As eagertrader put it..spooky. I could not have said it better, as the midrange sounds lit up from within. The soundstage presentation is huge, very three-dimensional, and precise. As with eagertrader, the soundstage was much flatter and the highs were too brite out of the box. I thought it sounded very solid state and I too, was concerned. After 100 hours all that has changed. The highs have mellowed out, in focus, and the amp has really opened up. The music presentation comes to the listener in a most organic and natural way, almost seeming to float to you with instruments popping up all over the room. Very pleasing. Transients are very fast yet the amp has weight and authority. It does a great job of walking that fine line between micro details, without sounding thin, and fullness, without sounding flabby. Very dynamic, very full, yet very detailed. After 100 hours the amp is still burning in and opening up. I will post a follow up when I pass two hundred hours.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com