Creek Audio 4330 Integrated Amplifiers

4330

45 Watt Integrated Amp

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
David J   AudioPhile [May 08, 2008]
Strength:

Natural effortless sound. Very plain but beautiful sound.

Weakness:

Upper high and lower bass are cut-off. Imaging is dull. Not exciting and lively.

The sound has no sparkling high compared to most other amps. Resolution is quite good but not excellent. Bass is certainly weak. Despite of all of these, the sound is very relaxing and natural. I can listen to this amp for hours without getting tired or bored. Nothing is outstanding but sounds beautiful. Very weird amp indeed.

Similar Products Used: Bryston B60, Musical Fidelity A1, Musical Fidelity A2, Jolida 302B.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
stereonut 22   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2006]
Strength:

Detailed yet sweet sound.

Weakness:

Not experienced, but it may lack steam if used with very low efficiency speakers

This amp is really a gem for a budget system. My system comprised of Advent 1 speakers, which I bought them 1978 and they were refoamed this year, Sony CD/SACD changer (which I bought last year at $150). The system produce sound which is unbelievably detailed, warm, and most of all, such a wide sound stage. With the same system, I listened via Marantz 18 receiver, Fisher 500T receiver, Dynaco 70, and Cary SF-35. Each one has its own chartacteristic sound which are very good, but Creek out performed them with a big margin. The Cary amp which is one of the best EL84 amps is very close to Creek yet, it is somewhat soft at the top and vague in bass compared to Creek. Once in a while, I switch to one of this receivers or amps, only to appreciate the sound of Creek. Of course, if you spend many grands, you might be able to improve the sound, but the difference may be very minimal compared to what you spent. If you are pursuiing for pure perfect sound, if there is, you can spend as much as you can, if you can afford, but if you like to enjoy music, you can achieve it without exhorbitant spending. The Advent 1 speakers, you can get them with less than $100 in Ebay and if you are lucky you can get the original Advent speakers with classic look. Just make sure the cones are refoamed (you can buy a kit at ebay at around $20 and it is not difficult at all). The CD player is amazing. Wonder how they can make such good sound with such low price. I do not use fancy cables. I use Radio Shack speaker cables and audio cables. You can enjoy all kinds of music hours without any fatigue.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hagenation   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2006]
Strength:

rich layers of detail and endlessly listenable

Weakness:

doesn't like to be pushed hard; tough to get a solid connection on one of the jacks.

After my 100w Rotel RA 985 integrated went down with a bad relay (after eight solid years of use) I was totally depressed. I live for music. While I waited for my Rotel to come back from the shop I found a good deal on a Creek 4330r. I have B&W DM601s in my small apartment, so I don't go too loud. The Creek is a perfect fit. What a glorious sweet sound -- just pure music. It's not as powerful as my Rotel. Nor as quick on transients or as deep in the bass -- even the soundfield width is smaller. But there is something so right about the music. It's delicious. It's totally smooth and warm, every note inviting you in. And so I'm off to enjoy hours of listening nirvana.

Similar Products Used: Rotel, NAD, Pioneer, Sunfire, Adcom
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aroostookme   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 17, 2006]
Strength:

Price and purity

Weakness:

Not the little train that could, as many people indicate. Stay away from pairing it with inefficient speakers (and many audio speaker legends are just that). But in a fair fight this is one heck of a contestant.

I like this amp as much as any other reviewer here. I would add that it outdoes the Cambridge Audio integrate amps easily.

It also approaches, in sound, the substantially heavier and better built Music Hall Mambo. My Mambo is just a joy to look at and lift. Heavy and even the power cord is audiophile grade. But the Creek feels like an empty box and seems impossibly underweight and small to do what it does.

That may have something to do with why everyone finds this amp amazing. The sound and the lack of mass and audiophile feel to the product.

Here's what it it won't do for you. It won't power a set of Snell Type A's or a set of Kef Reference 3's, or the Dahlquist 10's, or AR 3A's, or similar low efficiency speakers that do sound fantastic with larger amps. Even with less perfect, but more powerful amps.

However, this Creek makes both my Proac 1sc's and my Proac 2.5's sing. If you consider the musicality and value in a Proac - Creek - Rega Planet system it boggles the mind you could have sound at this level for so little.

As for the Music Hall, it makes the larger speakers I listed here sing where the Creek falls down. But, if you are looking to add more power to the Creek all you have to do is choose the more recent model which has more than twice the 4330's output.

Similar Products Used: Music Hall Mambo, Cambridge Audio integrateds (several), Dynaco ST-70, Adcom amps (several), NAD C-270 & C-350 combo.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
BradNad   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 15, 2005]
Strength:

Neutral, perfect balance accross entire frequency range. High levels of detail and transparency. Clean, clear and smooth highs. Warm midrange with fine detail and clarity. Good bass, which is tight and defined. Brilliant musicality.

Weakness:

Not the best at driving larger, less efficient speakers. However, if you add the A43, and biamp, the set-up will drive just about anything.

After using a Mike Creek designed Cambridge Audio A3i for around three years, when the time came to upgrade amplification, my choice was always going to be slightly biased. I had always enjoyed listening to Creek amps. It has been their ability to sound balanced across the entire frequency range, but at the same time allowing the listener get right to the heart of the music which orientated me towards the brand. They never fatigue and offer superb levels of detail and insight. When I first started using the 4330R Mk2, it drove a pair of B&W 303's. The front end was an Arcam CD72. It simply made the 303's sing. Listening was a pleasure. the 4330 just got on with it's job: making great music. When i eventually upgraded the 303's to the more costly B&W CDM 1 NT's, I found the 4330 a little out of steam. There was a lack of bass, drive and presence. It became quite obvious that this little amplifier prefered easier loads. Not giving up on this gem of an amp, I purchased the Creek A43 Mk2 Power Amplifier. This is a 50W/channel power amp with identical gain to the 4330. It is perfect for biamping with the 4330. I connected the 4330 to the Nautilus tweeters and the A43 to the bass drivers. I turned on and the drive, speed and bass was back! At the same time the trebble became sweeter and the midrange so, so clear! I was stunned. The passive front end in this amp allows your source to tell the complete story. It is important therefore to use low capcitance, short interconnects between CD player and amp for best results. It is also a good idea to buy the best CD player you can afford! (I am now using an Arcam FMJ CD23T). In short this little amplifier offers a transparent and balanced sound quality that few can match (at any price!). If you expect foundation breaking bass then you may well have come to the wrong place. This amp is all about balance and pure musicality. Very much a product for purists who crave for purity, clarity and refinement. However, do not get me wrong, this amp can party as well. Infact, it's dynamics are one of it's strong points. A great amp, from a designer who knows how to make great sounding products at affordable prices.

Similar Products Used: Arcam, Cyrus, Naim, Rotel, Nad, Cambridge Audio, Linn, Rega, Marantz etc etc...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aBe   AudioPhile [Jul 25, 2003]
Strength:

Timing, transparency, detail etc

Weakness:

For the money - U gotta be kidding!

Bought this little performer about year ago. The 4330R MKII has to be the best amplifier for so little money that I've bought or used. Transparent, detail and possess such a oh-so-right timing. Compared to the same price bracket gears - say Audiolab 8000, Arcam DiVA65 etc, the Creek beats em hands down...it even beat the Naim Nait 3. I could safely say that the 4330 has got 90% music and excitement of my other Naim Pre/Power.

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity A100, Audiolab 8000A, Naim Nait 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Leonardo barroso   AudioPhile [Jul 15, 2003]
Strength:

good power ( 50 W ) for my room and speakers B&W CDM1, and wonderful and true sound.

Weakness:

doesn't have a phono input, have to buy apart.

I've bought the CREEK 4330 SE, last year, in place of my 10 year-old NAD 304. Both are integrated-amp, but completely different. The CREEK, has a passive-preamp, that turns the pre/power concept upside down. It's just fantastic !!

Similar Products Used: nad 304
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
audionovice   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2003]
Strength:

-Deep Soundstage -Amazing Imageing -Warm, full, rich sound -Plenty 'o power (it drives my 6ohms, 88db/watt speakers flawlessly) -Works with all kinds of music -Will knock your socks off

Weakness:

-Needs a good CD player to match it. If you plan on using a mediocre CD player or a DVD player, forget it... you will not unlock this amps potential.

6 months ago I decided to try to build a stereo system that would suit my musical interests (Opera/Classical, Light/Alternative Rock). I have heard more amps and receivers than I care to admit, and in a variety of price ranges. I was looking for a music system that would grab me, and make me pay attention... Enter the Creek 4330 MK2. This integrated amp held me. I must say that this amp really suited my listening style, and I am on cloud 9. Some of the other amps were nice as well, but were not as musical. Of the below-listed products, I would only suggest the following, in order of their scores behind the Creek: Rotel RA-02, Arcam A65 Plus, Harman Kardon 3375 tied with NAD C350 for 4th. One note of caution, this amp must be used with a good CD player. I have it paired with the Creek 43MK2 Player. This amp will reflect the quality of the source, so be careful. If you can pair it right, then you will agree with evey word that I have said. I rate this product as perfect with respect to value, because for the price, the musicality is second to none. There are better products available for more money, however, so a four star overall is my vote.

Similar Products Used: Rotel RA-02, Arcam 65 Plus, NAD C350, Yamaha 596, Harman Kardon HK 3375, Denon 395, Denon AVR 1803, Marantz, Onkyo, Panasonic.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
audiomaster   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2003]
Strength:

It is very detailed yet smooth, this is certainly a high definition amp. You would hear wealth of detail thru this little amp. Very engaging sound, you will play cd after cd, one record after another and enjoy the sound and would not get listening fatigue.

Weakness:

There is no weakness in this amp of any kind.

This is indeed a great integrated amplifier. I am comparing this amp with sound of seperates, including Krell, Audio Research and Mcormack(I am not kidding), and I find it very very well balanced across the entire frequency range and very musical. It simply makes music, no coloration, no addition, no subtraction, no omission, just great music comes out of this little amplifier. I have the Mk II version with phono stage. The phono stage is, IMHO, is better then the Monolithic Sound's PS-1. I found Creek's built in phono stage faster, more refined and more three dimensional.

Similar Products Used: Linn seperates, Audio Research, Mcormack TLC/DNA 0.5, Non of these came even close to the musicality of Creek 4330R Mk II.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dsmk   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2003]
Strength:

Great musicality with only 40 watts. Because of the first 15 to 20 watts, the amp give very good clean power, so the detail of music come out, especially the high-mid range. Very good seperation of musical instruments but still maintain excellent blending especially listening to chamber music or mid-size orchestra works such as Mozart piano concertos. Low-mid range start to come through after the 6-month mark and keep improving, this is especially true for drums and cello. The bass is solid and maintain sharp definition without much distortion if you turn it up to the 1 or 2 o'clock position. This amp can win those amps that cost twice a much on numerous comparison.

Weakness:

The remote control only have volume and mute control and it cost about $200 (CDN). Creek could have design it better.

I have the Creek 4330R with the remote control. This amp is ideal for small room and bedroom setting. I put it in my bedroom with is about 100 sq ft. It takes about 4 to 6 months to work up the amp and it is getting better and better all the time. I hook it up with a pair of Monitor Audio speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com