Classe CAP-100 Integrated Amplifiers

CAP-100

100 watts

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
LesB   AudioPhile [Apr 24, 2004]
Strength:

Wide soundstage, midrange neutrality, sense of depth, bass punch

Weakness:

20 second delay on startup A little deep for some cabinets

I can't help but weigh in after having read the reviews. When I bought my CAP100 several years ago, I auditioned many amplifiers in my home for seeming weeks at a time. After trying all of the usual suspects available at the time (Krell, B&K, Audio Research, etc.) I found that I liked the CAP100 the best. I ordered one and Classe sent a CAP151, thinking I would like their new, more powerful, more expensive model better. After several days of listening to the CAP100 beside the CAP151, I concluded that the CAP151 was a step backwards. In spite of its higher power rating, it had far less punch in the deep bass. Otherwise it was similar to the CAP100. I was using Cambridge Audio R50's (made in England) and Infinity Preludes for my auditioning, so I wasn't taxing the power of the CAP100. I certainly didn't see any difference in power between the CAP151 and the CAP100 in spite of the added 50w of the CAP151. To end the story, I paid full price for the store's demo unit rather than having to settle for the CAP151.

Similar Products Used: Krell, Audio Research, NAD, Adcom, B&K
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
ryder   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 15, 2004]
Strength:

Typical Classe sound, warm airy and bloomy

Weakness:

Bass (only if compared with other amps costing twice or more)

This integrated amp is a very good introduction to the entry high-end market. Although this amp may be already a classic, it is an extremely capable performer and the best bang for the buck (if you can afford one). This was my last integrated amp before I upgraded to separate boxes of pre-power. At certain times I regret selling and wanted the thing back for a 2nd system in my bedroom. This amp has great transparency and plenty of power in reserve don't let the 100W power rating fool you. Dynamics are as good as you can get the the top end detail was splendid with a warm but airy sound. Soundstage was rather bloomy though some may think it's coloured. A minor caveat is the bottom end which lacked the very deep bass notes but this was when comparing the CAP-100 to something like the Aragon 8008BB or Krell KAV-300i. In comparison with other amps in its price range no other amps come close to its pedigree. I've tried the CAP-101 and frankly speaking there isn't any difference between the 2, and the CAP-151 is just slightly better in terms of overall dynamics but you have to strain your ear to hear the difference. If you don't need the power, the CAP-100 is a worthy consideration. Highly recommended and if you can spot one in the used market don't hesitate and go get it!

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity A3cr, Naim Nait 5, Krell KAV-300i, Plinius SA-100 MK3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
GJ77   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2003]
Strength:

Power, midbass slam, quick transients, high end extension, warm midrange, good rythmn and pace, great resolution. You can buy this amp used possibly for the same price of the 101. For less than $1000 you cannot find any new amp that will give you this sound quality.

Weakness:

The remote is not as good as the 101's remote. The remote only has Volume and mute. Plus the remote is clunky and ugly compared with the newer 101 and 151.

I have the CAP101 with Sonus Faber Concertino Speakers and a PSB sub. I had the Audio Analogue Puccini Remote Amp - highly rated in just about every major Magazine. Needed a little more drive and slam for the 85db low sensitivity original concertinos. So I got the CAP 101. The Cap 101 is a newer version of the highly rated Cap 80. Much more slam and about the same warmth, much more bigger and powerful sounding with better resolution. With the slightly soft sounding concertino, I felt the combo was slightly missing some high end extension. I had emailed the Classe Manager on the Classe Website and he had told me he actually preferred the 100 over the 101. So I sold the 101 and found a 100. The 100 is about 9 pounds heavier and has 14 capacitors instead of the 8 in the 101. This means more power reserve. The RCA's are higher quality too. The sound? same warm powerful sound, plus, greater high end extension! Cymbals are beautifully airy and even greater transparency. More details can be heard than ever before.

Similar Products Used: Audio Analogue Puccini Remote, Classe Cap 101, Harman Kardon Top of the line Receiver.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
greggieg   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 15, 2003]
Strength:

Transparency, timbre, refinement, etc.

Weakness:

Too picky!

All of what has already been said, and nothing less.

Similar Products Used: Aragon amp with Bryston pre. No integrateds.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2003]
Strength:

Everything sounds so real and good. Has that boogie factor to it

Weakness:

Cosmetics!! (Mine is the old model with the black front panel) The newer range cap-101 and 151 sound and look as good

Although a very old model, this amp is absolutely stunning! A huge step up from my previous Arcam 10 integrated. Associated equipment are b&w cdm1se, arcam 8cd, Nordost super flatline gold speaker cables, Nordost Solar Wind i/c. Will be getting Nordost Blue Heaven cabling next week..........can't stop upgrading after getting hold of this classe! Please partner the classe with quality equipment and expect an entry-level to high-end sound. The price paid was in Singapore dollars.

Similar Products Used: Arcam 10, ECI-3, MF A3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
whatjd   AudioPhile [Nov 12, 2002]
Strength:

Build quality, musical from top to bottom..but extremely lovely in the vocal range.

Weakness:

No longer made.

I have owned two Cap-100. The first was in 1997 to 1999. I made the mistake of selling it....and now have another....Why? Well, there are some components and speakers that become classics. Usually this is because of performance beyond the ordinary in their catagory...and that is what the Cap-100 is, and integrated that is just a bit beyond the norm. Products like the large Advent, the CJ-ART pre-amp, etc. just become classics, and I feel the Cap-100 is in that league. I have used this unit with Magnepan 1.6, 3.6 and 20, also with Thiel 1.5 and 6 and the Classe handled them all with a musical ease. If I had to sum up the sonic signature of this integrated....it would be musical, it just sounds right, and it does the pace-timing thing to a degree far beyond it's price!

Similar Products Used: Magnum 208, Classe Cap-80, CJ-ART, Classe CA-400, Sim I-5, Sony 707(the FET Unit), various Adcom, CJ-12a, and too many others to list(not enough characters allowed).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Corrod Owen   Audiophile [Oct 04, 2001]
Strength:

Very powerful, wonderful midrange, tight bass and airy highs

Weakness:

Power doesn't doubles when Impedance halves, slight treble roll off

Came across this unit at a 2nd hand shop, so decided to give it a listen. What a relevation!!!! The sound is absolutely wonder. It does everything right and can do every sort of music I throw at it. be it Rock, pop, jazz, new age...all no problem.


Built quality is first rate and the feel of the AMP is great. Very well put together, very nicely designed.

I have heard the newer Classe and all of them don't sound as good as this (mostly likely it is becos the designer of this amp has left Classe). No wonder this unti jump straight up into the highly rated Stereophile Class A recommneded list. If you happen to come across one, dun wait, go take a listen, you will be surprized!!

Similar Products Used: McCommack DNA 0.5, Roksan Caspian, Denon POA-S1, Exposre integrated, Densen DM10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Gates   Audiophile [Jan 22, 2000]
Strength:

Great sonics and build-quality.

Weakness:

None

I used to have all separates (preamp, amps, dac, transport) but a little over a year ago I downsized to just three components, a Classe CAP100, CDP-1 and Basis 1400 turntable (I guess I was attempting to simplify my life). I find that the Classe electronics and the ProAc Studio 250 speakers I am using are a perfect match. It is important to use good bi-wired speaker cables and interconnect; I'm using all Purist Audio Design. This system gives me one of the best sounds I have ever had since becoming an audiophile in the early 70s.

Similar Products Used: Rowland Concentra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2001]
Strength:

Soundstage is magnificent!!! Neutral and unassuming sound
Build quality

Weakness:

30 second warmup before turning on....I'm impatient

Nice unobtrusive integrated amp that sounds neither overwhelming nor aggressive. I agree with David's review (see Below) in that this amp really is a sonic treat. Only separates sound smoother, and Classe has never really been able to match its sound and qualities with its newer models. The Accuphase and Krell integrated amps sound either too unexciting or too agressive, respectively, in comparison. Don't get me wrong, they are both still damn good amps, but this one is just a bit better in terms of presentation. This is a classic!!!

System:
Classe CAP100
Proac Response 2s
Electrocompanient ECM1 CD Player
Rotel 990 HDCD CD Player
MIT 4 BiWire Cables
Cardas Gold Cross interconnects

Similar Products Used: Accuphase 206, Krell 300i, Classe 5/Musical Design 140 Separates
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 13, 2001]

I just bought a CAP-101 not 100. But, I had to put in my two cents. Many of you have written the CAP-101 is a lesser version of the 100. That is So far for thr Truth!!!I called up Classe before I bought the 101. And was told right from the horses mouth That The two were almost the same . Except for a few small changes. So, Stop slamming the 101 as a lesser version of the 100. They are one in the same!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com