Carver Audio CM-1090 Integrated Amplifiers

Carver Audio CM-1090 Integrated Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

100 Watts Integrated Amp - Magnetic Field Power Amp Sonic Holography (1990-1996)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Nov 13, 2016]
Bill M
Audio Enthusiast

These amps are really nice sounding. Mine has done a great job ever since I picked one up used in the early 90s.

I rated the amp a 4 only because it is made in China. For what these amps cost new and all the raves about Bob Carver I would never had bought a new one. Now would I consider any high priced China anything. Even Crown and many other once fine products are made cheaply in China and sold at very inflated prices. Ok, I will stop my anti-not made in the USA or Europe tirade.

The other reason this amp gets a 4 is the cheap power supply design. The original design used cheap under sized filter capacitors. The first thing I found when I started to use my amp was it would shut down on my Altec-Lansing 1204Bs I had on my main stereo. So I tried the amp on some Apogee ribbon speakers. Same thing when driven to any decent level. On the bench I found the poorly designed supply. I wanted to beef up the entire supply, but there is no room in the enclosure. I replaced a few of the small electrolytics with better tantilums, some of the cheaper coupling capacitors with a better grade and increased the power value of some of the resistors. Finally I added good computer grade electrolytics with a better capacitance and voltage rating. I then looked at waveforms for cross-over and THD distortion. Very well within specs. Looking at Fresponse I found the amp to exceed ratings and Pout (into 8 ohms/C) was flat over the range at better than 100W/channel with each channel being within a few tenths of a percent of each other. How do I remember this? I was searching on line for something and came across this site. I pulled my folder on the amp and decided to write a review. I kept notes.
I even used this amp as a back up on one of my jobs after I made the changes. It did quite good on a pair of A-T VOA A-7As. Plenty of loud clear audio.
BTW, none of the preselect styles fit me. I'm a broadcast and audio engineer with plenty of experience in FOA audio, pro sound, and system design and installation in many different venues. I've also done studios and other facilities though my career.
I still use this amp daily as it is on my home listening room stereo. I also have one in my studio along with other brands and some home made amplifiers and gear.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2014]
Szymon0887
AudioPhile

http://tablica.pl/oferta/sprzedam-carver-cm-1090-2-channel-amplifier-sprzet-sprawny-CID751-ID5x343.html

http://www.elektroda.pl/rtvforum/topic2791433.html

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2011]
Kevin Rubin
Audio Enthusiast

I bought my CM-1090 new in 1992 after my previous integrated amp died... My key requirement was that it had to sound good, with rich bass, at low volume, since I don't like loud noise at all. The CM-1090 excels at that, nothing I'd ever heard before or after sounded so good, clear and full at lower volume.

I used it to listen to a variety of music, from psychedelic rock to death metal to classic rock to Indian classical music to hardcore punk and a bit of western classical and lots of things, and everything sounds good on this.

I like that it has an analog knob, rather than digital increments, since at the volume I listen to music, the difference between one notch on digital increments can be the difference between "can't hear it" and "painfully loud". So this is perfect there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2006]
zipcode100
AudioPhile

Strength:

Design, Sound, Looks, Quality built.

Weakness:

None that I can see.

Got this integrated amp from an auction on ebay. This is one of many Carver "vintage" pieces I got from different sources. I must say it is my favorite so far. It is very well built. The design and layout of the various functions and buttons is simple but very adequate. The sound is impecable without any coloration or distortion. Absolutely no hum or hiss at any volume levels. Motorized volume knob and "direct CD" input that bybass the triple tone controls are a couple interesting features. There is also a B speaker setting that makes the second pair of speaker act as ambience sound. As far as looks are concerned, it is very elegant. With it's two analogue "old fashion" power meters combined to an overall modern look, the result is stunning. Rated conservatively at 100 watts per chanel into 8 ohms it should be more than enough power for most home applications.

Similar Products Used:

Bryston, Sony

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 23, 2006]
lenhoffcpa@yahoo.com
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, POWER, versatility, size (fits in my cabinet. Shallow compared to anything.

Weakness:

None

I was looking for an amp with umph but with a clear colorless sound. My limited budget steered me to an integrated amp design and therefore the field started to narrow. When I found this Carver, I remembered that the Carver name often means something.
I got my wish. The amp has now been with me through 3 pairs of speakers (presently Pinnacle Classic Gold Towers) and 2 CD players. It is a flat but sweet sound reproducer.
It has a CD direct pre-amp to amp stage or it allows you to go thrrough the preamp and adjust bass-midranfe-and treble controls. THrough both types of transport it allows the famous Carver holography imagining to be switched on or off. There are times I choose the image staging and times I don't, largely depending on the stage of the actual recording.
Put another way, this amp is loads of fun to enjoy with its sweetness, smoothness and serious POWER. For the money, you better know how to build your own.

Similar Products Used:

Rotel 1070

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 16, 2003]
Alex Agui Sanc
AudioPhile

Strength:

Flexibility, Technology (for the holographic math. process) Power, design, (including the VU,s).

Weakness:

none

I bought this integrated amplifier in 1993, in a Hi-Fi store brand new, I used it with a pair of big,s JBL 11 series. For some reasons I change those speakers and the CM1090 in 1995 for a QUAD amp+pre and CArver,s ALIII, sounds very well but different. Now 8 years later in the month of May, my fiend is returning the CM1090 to me, for the same price i sold it. This amp was very well received and the first thing i made was connect it to my Carver,s and after 8 years a smile returns to my face, Nothing sound like this couple, I never had the opportunuity to heard them together before, and it,s really amazing. I spend large amounts of time hearing music, the best i can, and it,s really impressive. The price is a bargain for the quality of sound. Should be a classic like the bulbs Mac of the 70,s

Similar Products Used:

Not exactly similar because i heard pre + amp,s like Hafler, FORTE, Threshold, QUAD, also Carver,s Silver 7.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2002]
Joe Cameron
AudioPhile

Strength:

nice bass, excellent midrange, power to run most speakers, great looks, easy to use, sonic holography is super.

Weakness:

Haven't found any

Purchased my Carver CM1090 new through a friend who owned a music business back in 92 or 93. I can't begin to tell you how much enjoyment it has been for me. From the moment I brought it home, unplugged my old Kenwood receiver, and hooked the cm1090 up to my Klipsch & JBL'S. It is the best sounding stereo I have ever heard, and everyone that has listened to it says the same.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 24, 2002]
Troy Rhodebeck
AudioPhile

Strength:

Power abundance (different form of amplification from others I've owned), still great looks after all these years!

Weakness:

Does run hot, so keep it well ventilated. Could stand to be slightly warmer sounding.

I purchased the CM-1090 new in 1992 after much research, and have never regretted going with Carver for a second. It has performed great for over 10 years. Adequate power, great looks, and trouble free performance. Currently powers PSB's teamed with a large powered Yamaha Sub on A, and a pair of Klipsch floorstanding towers on B. If old Carver was still around I would replace with another. Alas, I need to get a Home theater receiver so my CM-1090 is for sale to a good home.

Similar Products Used:

Soundcraftman professional amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 31, 2002]
fourfox
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Versitility, clean sound, nice look.

Weakness:

Gets pretty hot when cranked!

I have owned the Carver CM1090 integrated Amp for about 7 years now and can't say enough good about it. I has preformed flawlesly. It is rated at 100wpc but seems to peak above this. Before I bought the Carver C1000A I had the CM1090 running my front L&R Polk floor standing speakers via the A channel and via the B channel it was pushing enough power to run two 250wpc klipch bookshelf's and a Polk 250wpc center wired in for mono, and still sounded great! I know this might sound a little "mad scientist" to some of you, but my point is that this unit is highly versitile and will preform superbly for years. I am now useing it as a amplifier to power my front channel speakers. It has kicked ass for years and I expect it to continue to kick ass for the forseeable future. If you can find one of these on ebay, buy it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 02, 2002]
StevenC
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great looks and good sound

Weakness:

mm section lacking in the deep bass

This is a great looking integrated amp with a sound that matches. Visually, there are two VU power meters that gives it a nice retro look. The 100 watt/ch amplifier is typical Carver''s. Sweet sounding with lush mids and good bass. Add to it a nice MM phono section which is good in details but not excellent in the deepest bass. The holography is a nice feature, best used with the headphone, however you need exact sitting location to get the most out of it. So in short a versatile, pretty looking and sounding unit from Bob Carver (back when he owned the company....now that he is back, hopefully he''ll redeem some of his name from a company that tarnished it when he was ousted.)

Similar Products Used:

Rega and Creek integrateds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com